We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This was our fourth trip to Puerto de la Cruz, but our first time at the San Felipe. The San Felipe is a very good hotel in a central area of town. It is within easy walking distance to shops, bars restaurants and the Lido. It is located on the ocean front, overlooking the small 'surfers' beach. The Martianez Shopping Centre is immediately behind the hotel.

Rooms at the front of the hotel get an unrestricted ocean view whilst those at the rear get the pool area, the Orotova Valley and Teide (if it's not too cloudy). We were at the back (13th floor) and had also had a partial ocean view to the right side.

The rooms are a bit small, but the bedroom areas have been redcorated recently. The bathrooms are still a bit tired looking, though. The balcony area is spacious and enclosed-so it's very private with no distrubances from noisy or nosy neighbours.

There are two pool areas-one specifically for children. The pools are well maintained and there are daily activities. The beach/pool towel system is a bit odd and complex though. You pay a refundable €10.00 per person deposit at reception and recieve a voucher. You give this voucher to the pool staff who keep it throughout your stay. You then collect the voucher at the end of your stay and get your money back from reception. It seems a bit long winded for a towel!

Food is buffet style and there two additional restaurants on site. We didn't use them but we heard very good reports about them. The buffet food qaulity varies according to the chef on duty. Generally, the female chefs did a better job than the males! We stayed half-board but there is in all-inclusive option for about €25 pp per day.

Guests also have access to 3 x half-hour sessions in the spa pool. This is really nice and well worth a visit. Other facilites-jacuzzi, sauna and massage- incur a fee.

Overall, the hotel is convenient, clean and well maintained. The spa is great and all the hotel staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.

We would definitely go back to the San Felipe and recommend it for couples and older guests.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steely707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

we visited the San Felipe last Easter (2008) for 10 days and I just wanted to say that it is one of the best hotel that we have ever stayed in. I like my luxuries and it certainly accomodated for them! The food was amazing, something for everyone. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and the hotel as a whole was spotlessly clean! beautiful garden with bananas tree.
Thanks for all the reviews! They've certainly assured me that the hotel has certainly not dropped its standards!!
The hotel has ping pong and tennis court which the children really enjoyed.
we actually went for a boat trip to see the whale and dolphin for a day. It was the best experience of my life. I really recommend it.
you cannot get wrong with this hotel. Great value for money too!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

After a long winter my friend and I decided we needed a relaxing week in the sun.We wanted to go somewhere where we were guaranteed better weather than the the UK.We wanted to fly from Exeter and we wanted a hotel that offered an all-inclusive option.Neither of us had been to Tenerife before and we were pleasantly surprised to discover how nice Puerto de la Cruz was.
We could find no fault with the hotel, our room was spotlessly clean and we even had the mini bar stocked with beer and soft drinks.
The food in the restaurant was very good and there was an amazing choice. I can't think of anything that wasn't available. For just a few pounds more it really does pay to go 'all-inclusive' we could eat and drink from dawn to dusk and beyond and all for free!
The staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful.
The only 'moan' and it is a small one is that the sun loungers around the pool were placed very close together and, of course, the age old problem of people 'reserving' loungers even though there is a notice asking them not to. We used to watch towels being put out before it was even light, the earliest was 6.15am! That in itself was bad enough but when those loungers were still unoccupied 5 hours later it was a bit much! I have stayed in hotels where towels were removed on unoccupied sun beds after 30mins ,it's a shame this procedure couldn't be adopted at this hotel.
I would certainly recommend the San Felipe to anyone and would happily go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExmoorAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

stayed in this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary.....the food was impeccable! Never have stayed in hotel where they serve you champagne for breakfast. the standard of cleanliness was very high. The staff go out of their way to make your stay superb. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We will certainly be making a second visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekers92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I visited the San Felipe last Easter (2008) and am all booked up and already packed for Easter this year (2009). I just wanted to say that it is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. I like my luxuries and it certainly accomodated for them! The food was amazing, something for everyone. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and the hotel as a whole was spotlessly clean! I am SO looking forward to going ina couple of weeks! Thanks for all the reviews! They've certainly assured me that the hotel has certainly not dropped its standards!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

TRULY 4 *, Can heartily recommend - and am fussy!!!!
pay extra for corner suite + high floor = super views; plenty of space; huge balcony;
food excellent, plenty and great variety
speciality restaurants are 5* plus= superb presentation, quality and quantity
STAFF: absolutely fantastic, watiers in bar and restaurnats are just superb!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tildakovach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My previous reviews refer to this hotel. My wife and I have just returned from another 11 days stay, and have just booked for another 11 days in September. We find the hotel satisfies our needs and requirements. We find it excellent value for money. The restaurant provides a large variety of food and is extremely clean an well run. The gardens and pool area are well maintained.
I do not think the hotel would be for teenagers or young people, although there were a couple of very young children there during our stay.
There appears to be little or no hotel entertainment although we have never been interested in this and it is not an important item on our list of requirements. I can only continue to recommend this hotel. For more detailed information, please read my previous reviews.
I did notice that the miserable woman who fries eggs in the morning, has once more returned and has not changed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackpool traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avenida de Colon, 22. Puerto de la Cruz - Tenerife. Espana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $123 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (no additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing