We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel is a real 4 Star Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

That Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel is a real 4 Star Standard and we did liked our 2 Nights there pretty much. Top friendly Service at the Reception and at the Breakfast Service. The employess did speak good english and was very customerfriendly. Interiour was nice decorated and we felt very cosy there. We can recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachtravellerDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review about you short stay with us.
We are pleased we have been able to offer you top service, and we thank you for recommending us.

Hopefully we will receive you again as our guest in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Tenerife.

kindest regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just a couple of things that I wish I knew before I arrived on the island. From the airport in the South to the hotel in the north will take a minimum of an hour by coach so be prepared for the journey. Also, if you book with Thomas Cook you will not see an actual human holiday rep if staying up north as they have a 'connected service' which means you are given a bit paper with a few instructions and telephone numbers and e-mail address and then left to your own devices.
On arrival to the hotel I was really pleased at how clean it was and it directly faces the beach and you can hear the water which is really relaxing. We booked in and were told we were on floor 17 but when entering the elevator noticed it only went up to floor 16. A member of staff took us up to floor 16 and then we were taken through a set of fire doors and then up two small flights of stairs (complete with cases) to a small floor with three rooms and basically it looked like an adapted attic. The room was clean and basic but the view of Mount Tiede was amazing. There was no kettle or coffee making facilities and the mini bar would cost you 16 euros to use. The TV had only 3 English speaking channels, all of which were news, and there was no air conditioning... not the sea view room with a balcony that we had booked.
There are over 260 rooms with only 22 parking spaces which meant I had no-where to park my hire car and I was told I could not reserve a parking space but one might become available by Thursday...not much use as the car went back on Wednesday! Also, the evening entertainment is poor and I saw reviews of a falconry display and a snake show which I was really looking forward to but the birds didn't appear to show (or I was in the wrong place) and the snake show was a couple with 3 snakes which you couldn't take photos of because they would take them then charge you for them.
HOWEVER.....so far seems all negative but the positives really outweigh them.
The hotel is clean, lovely gardens, staff are fantastic and the pools were so inviting. As for the food, well...there is so much choice it's amazing. There is something for everyone and the restaurant staff are so efficient and friendly I was very impressed. The honey rum is also worth a try as very tasty (just watch though as any drinks bought after 11pm will have to be paid for as all inclusive seems to stop then). The little gift shop is basic but it's great for newspapers, bottled water etc.
We also booked an excursion with the hotel and it was booked efficiently and the tour guide and driver were a credit to their company as were excellent value and very professional.
I read reviews which said some staff were rude but didn't see any of this.
There is even a machine which will weigh your case (costs 1 euro per case) to avoid getting caught out being charged excess so was well worth paying.
Also, we had left a bit of mess in the room and didn't want room service for a few days but the cleaners were so concerned that they asked guest relations to approach us to see if everything was ok. I felt this was a lovely gesture which made me feel were more than just a room to clean.
On the whole the food, drink, location, ambiance, staff and pools make this hotel a fantastic place to stay and would very much like to visit again in the future. Thanks for a lovely time

Room Tip: Rooms higher up get better views and appear to be bothered by noise less
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zanna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this extent review about you recent stay with us. We are glad you have had a lovely stay, that you have appreciated the food, drink, the location, the pool and specially our staff.

We would love to receive you again as our guest, and we will give you a warm welcome.

kindest regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just spent a week at the San Felipe with my husband and 2 teenagers. We all had a fab holiday stay at the San Felipe. All the staff at all levels were very nice, the food choice was so good there was always something else to choose if you did not like some things. The pool area and gardens were all kept lovely. The only thing we were a bit disappointed with was the fact that the children were not allowed to play with a ring or ball etc in the main pool. I understand this when the aqua gym is on but not when it is quiet as they got bored with just swimming. We stayed in 2 rooms with a sea view which was nice and cool. Yes the evening entertainment was a bit dull for a young family but we liked to go for a walk in the evenings anyway. We would be more than happy to stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: Sea view is cooler, garden view is sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Jeanette,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience in Bahia Principe San Felipe.

We are pleased you have enjoyed our food choice and the pool and garden area, and we would like to welcome you again in the future.

kindest regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, spa hotels in Tenerife

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Its my opinion,based in an excellent service. I have really enjoyed this hollidays. Fantastic food,nice persons and a quiet place,properly to family hollidays. Swimming pools were amazing,with hot water.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us.
With pleasure we read we have been able to live up to your expectations, and gladly we would like to welcome you again in Bahia Principe San Felipe.

kindest regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Tenerife.

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned after 6night break and need to do this review to emphasise to others what a terrific hotel this is. The hotel is very professionally and efficiently run with every single member of staff carrying out their daily routines of duty with precision and care. Also they do this with smiles on their faces at all times, however tired they must be feeling, as it is busy work indeed. The levels of cleanliness are second to none, even leaves from the trees are swept away several times a day. Gardens are immaculate and a joy to walk around, just beautiful. View from our 12th floor room from the balcony was amazing. It overlooked the pool with stunning views of Mt Tiede, often showing the mist falling and rising over the peak. We did have to change our room as the one allocated to us was not exactly as we had booked. This was done with no fuss at all. We just had to wait until an alternative was vacant. The room was roomy with everything we needed and the air conditioning was good. Evening entertainment suited us down to the ground as it could be quite low key on some nights and on others it was much more 'show like'. We saw 3 dancing girls, showing elegance and acrobatic type skills within their dance, very good. We also saw a falconry display which was really amazing as the duo involved tricks with the birds that got the children involved without any trace of fear, given that one of the birds was huge. I think the highlight of the entertainment we saw was a magician. His tricks well worthy of being seen on any tv show. Thoroughly entertaining! Now for the biggest accolade that we can give and that is for the standard and quality of the food. The selection at every meal time was outstanding. It ranged from veal, rabbit, duck, steak, chicken, fish of all description, plenty of seafood and even caviar. Spoilt for choice ever time. There really is something for everyones taste, always presented beautifully and dishes being refreshed as soon as any were empty. This really is a superb restaurant and waiters/waitresses always being so very attentive without being intrusive so you can enjoy the your meal. Quality hotel that we cannot recommend highly enough. Well done to every single member of staff for making this such a truly wonderful holiday for us. Thankyou.

Room Tip: The higher the floor level will give the best views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Janet,

We would like to thank you for sharing your holiday experience at the Bahia Principe San Felipe with all tripadvisor-users.
It fills us with joy to read that you have had such a wonderfull stay with us, that you have enjoyed the choise of disheswe offer at our Buffet-restaurant, that the entertainment was to your liking and specially that our team has been able to deal without fuss with any isues.

We hope we will receive you again as our guest in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

kindest regards,

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great family break to the San Felipe in July 2013. On arrival we were met with very hospitable and welcoming reception staff who dealt with us in a very efficient, effective and courteous manner, and, despite us arriving later in the evening (approx 22:00hrs) the kitchen had put together some salads for each of us to tide us over until breakfast. The reception area was also very clean and tastefully decorated.

Our adjoining rooms were on the first floor with poolside views as requested. These were very clean and perfect for our needs, complete with air-conditioning, TV and minibar. One of the balcony doors would not close but on identifying this to reception, it was repaired very quickly indeed.

We chose the all inclusive package and the quality and variety of food was fantastic and even the egg and chips brigade were catered for!!! With the exception of one stroppy manager the waiting staff were excellent and tried their very best to meet our every request! Kids were easily satisfied with the choices on offer and the salads and other selections kept the bigger kids very delighted too.

The hotel offered a full sports activity schedule and again this was very varied and had lots for everyone to do. To Raquel who headed up this team - many many thanks you were the icing on the cake! xx Entertainment at night was not to out taste but many families with younger children (especially Spanish families) enjoyed it!

All in all we all enjoyed our trip to the San Felipe and would recommend for a hotel based summer break.

Room Tip: All rooms come with either sea or pool views - I'm very nosy so I opted for the pool view! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blanebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

With great pleasure we receive your feedback of your recent stay at the Bahia Principe San Felipe. We are glad you have enjoyed our All Inclusive package and that we have been able to meet your requests.

We always do our very best to give our guests the best holiday, and with delight we read that with you we have succeded and we thank you for your recomendation.

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Tenerife.

kindest regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed here for 3 nights due to requesting a move to the south. Nothing to do with the Hotel except absolutely no entertainment. Weather was awful raining and cold. families with long faces due to no animation team. Also if book with Thomas cook no rep either so have to fend for yourself. Food on a plus side and hotel was lovely. Staff are great but really very boring hotel-no atmosphere just a bit vanilla!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion of Hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe with all trip-advisor users. We always try to give all our guests the best holidays, and we regret that our entertainment did not live up to your expectations.
We are glad to read you have enjoyed the food offered in our restaurant and that our staff has been able to make your stay memorable.

With great pleasure we would like to welcome you again in Bahia Principe San Felipe or in our Hotel on the southside of the island Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort, this time to surpass your expectations.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,724 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
836 reviews
22.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Costa Atlantis
Sol Costa Atlantis
#10 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avenida de Colon, 22. Puerto de la Cruz - Tenerife. Espana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $120 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (no additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing