We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Glorious Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned after 6night break and need to do this review to emphasise to others what a terrific hotel this is. The hotel is very professionally and efficiently run with every single member of staff carrying out their daily routines of duty with precision and care. Also they do this with smiles on their faces at all times, however tired they must be feeling, as it is busy work indeed. The levels of cleanliness are second to none, even leaves from the trees are swept away several times a day. Gardens are immaculate and a joy to walk around, just beautiful. View from our 12th floor room from the balcony was amazing. It overlooked the pool with stunning views of Mt Tiede, often showing the mist falling and rising over the peak. We did have to change our room as the one allocated to us was not exactly as we had booked. This was done with no fuss at all. We just had to wait until an alternative was vacant. The room was roomy with everything we needed and the air conditioning was good. Evening entertainment suited us down to the ground as it could be quite low key on some nights and on others it was much more 'show like'. We saw 3 dancing girls, showing elegance and acrobatic type skills within their dance, very good. We also saw a falconry display which was really amazing as the duo involved tricks with the birds that got the children involved without any trace of fear, given that one of the birds was huge. I think the highlight of the entertainment we saw was a magician. His tricks well worthy of being seen on any tv show. Thoroughly entertaining! Now for the biggest accolade that we can give and that is for the standard and quality of the food. The selection at every meal time was outstanding. It ranged from veal, rabbit, duck, steak, chicken, fish of all description, plenty of seafood and even caviar. Spoilt for choice ever time. There really is something for everyones taste, always presented beautifully and dishes being refreshed as soon as any were empty. This really is a superb restaurant and waiters/waitresses always being so very attentive without being intrusive so you can enjoy the your meal. Quality hotel that we cannot recommend highly enough. Well done to every single member of staff for making this such a truly wonderful holiday for us. Thankyou.

Room Tip: The higher the floor level will give the best views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Janet,

We would like to thank you for sharing your holiday experience at the Bahia Principe San Felipe with all tripadvisor-users.
It fills us with joy to read that you have had such a wonderfull stay with us, that you have enjoyed the choise of disheswe offer at our Buffet-restaurant, that the entertainment was to your liking and specially that our team has been able to deal without fuss with any isues.

We hope we will receive you again as our guest in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

kindest regards,

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great family break to the San Felipe in July 2013. On arrival we were met with very hospitable and welcoming reception staff who dealt with us in a very efficient, effective and courteous manner, and, despite us arriving later in the evening (approx 22:00hrs) the kitchen had put together some salads for each of us to tide us over until breakfast. The reception area was also very clean and tastefully decorated.

Our adjoining rooms were on the first floor with poolside views as requested. These were very clean and perfect for our needs, complete with air-conditioning, TV and minibar. One of the balcony doors would not close but on identifying this to reception, it was repaired very quickly indeed.

We chose the all inclusive package and the quality and variety of food was fantastic and even the egg and chips brigade were catered for!!! With the exception of one stroppy manager the waiting staff were excellent and tried their very best to meet our every request! Kids were easily satisfied with the choices on offer and the salads and other selections kept the bigger kids very delighted too.

The hotel offered a full sports activity schedule and again this was very varied and had lots for everyone to do. To Raquel who headed up this team - many many thanks you were the icing on the cake! xx Entertainment at night was not to out taste but many families with younger children (especially Spanish families) enjoyed it!

All in all we all enjoyed our trip to the San Felipe and would recommend for a hotel based summer break.

Room Tip: All rooms come with either sea or pool views - I'm very nosy so I opted for the pool view! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blanebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

With great pleasure we receive your feedback of your recent stay at the Bahia Principe San Felipe. We are glad you have enjoyed our All Inclusive package and that we have been able to meet your requests.

We always do our very best to give our guests the best holiday, and with delight we read that with you we have succeded and we thank you for your recomendation.

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Tenerife.

kindest regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed here for 3 nights due to requesting a move to the south. Nothing to do with the Hotel except absolutely no entertainment. Weather was awful raining and cold. families with long faces due to no animation team. Also if book with Thomas cook no rep either so have to fend for yourself. Food on a plus side and hotel was lovely. Staff are great but really very boring hotel-no atmosphere just a bit vanilla!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion of Hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe with all trip-advisor users. We always try to give all our guests the best holidays, and we regret that our entertainment did not live up to your expectations.
We are glad to read you have enjoyed the food offered in our restaurant and that our staff has been able to make your stay memorable.

With great pleasure we would like to welcome you again in Bahia Principe San Felipe or in our Hotel on the southside of the island Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort, this time to surpass your expectations.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel. My wife and I and three teenage children recently enjoyed a week's summer holiday there, all inclusive, with adjoining rooms.

The beachfront location is a particular strength, particularly in terms of the view from the seafront facing rooms. The staff are particularly friendly and helpful which we found a big bonus. Reception staff deal with issues swiftly and effectively. Management are approachable and available if a problem cannot be solved at Reception.

The pool area is well laid out, offering something for everybody. The pool is clean and well maintained. The gardens are attractive, being mature and well tended to. The pool and entertainment staff are friendly and very competent. Activities are genuinely good fun and well organised. The sun loungers are a frustration, being prone to losing their back adjustment when you sit on them. The pool bar and snack cafe is clean and run by cheerful friendly staff.

The Hotel's dining experience is very good though clearly not aspiring to five star in its ingenuity. The homely quality of the food and the excellent service from the restaurant staff, the vast majority of whom offer friendly, polite service with a smile, are the main strengths of this hotel's catering. All inclusive drinks were notably very good being notable brands - (San Miguel, Coca Cola, Sprite) and table wine is very drinkable.

The hotel decor is dated and in need of a refresh, with some aspects getting tired. This gives a poor first impression when arriving for the first time.

The rooms are well apportioned clean and serviceable, if slightly dated. The bed mattresses were particularly comfortable; more so than in many Five Star hotels. Air conditioning is weak, though string fans were available on request. Bathrooms, though kept clean and serviceable by the maids, are in need of upgrading with some tiling showing signs of wear and water ingress. Water pressure and temperature was good and consistent. Shower operation is fiddly and design is dated (bath with a ineffective splash screen).

Evening entertainment was generally good and well managed, offering family friendly fun.

Overall we were very happy with our week at the Sans Felipe which offered us great value at just over £600 per person at the height of the August season (booked last minute with Thomas Cook). The Value rating depends entirely on the price and time of year. For the same money per head that we paid last minute in August, we would definitely return to this hotel on the same basis. We met another family who had paid £800 which we felt would not have offered value for money. We normally go Five Star but for the price we paid, Four Star in this case proved to be a good value for money alternative).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZiskayHWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extent review of your recent stay with us.
With great pleasure we read that our team has been able to make your stay memorable and that you and your family have enjoyed your holidays with us.

With great joy we would receive you again as our guests in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts,

kindest regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We came to San Felipe, expectant, after Sharm last year and we were not disappointed. Whole site was clean, pools were good, buffet restaurant was varied, staff were excellent, pool lifeguard was attentive and even the whistle-blowing during aqua-aerobics was catchy!! Thankyou to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APN45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your sharing you holiday experience. It is a pleasure to read the Hotel and it´s team has been able to live up to your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future.

best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Tenerife

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Be CAUTIOUS about the weather. This hotel is in the north of Tenerife therefore VERY DIFFERENT from the south. Example on the SAME day it was ..raining in the north, 30• splitting the flags in the south. If you want cool windy weather this hotel is lovely & food beautiful. Location good in respect that its a near walk to main restaurants/shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairebear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for writing this review of Bahia Principe San Felipe.
We are pleased to hear you found this a lovely hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure to receive you again as our guest with us or in the Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort on the south side of the island.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Arrived eventually after a long hold up waiting for our bags at the airport which made us miss our transfer shuttle. Got to hotel three and half hours later. Arrived to be told that our Junior Suite would not be ready until the next day and we would have to go into a double. OK with no fuss we changed the next afternoon and was more than happy with the room especially with a free safe thrown in for our inconvenience.
A bottle of bubbly was also a nice touch with a welcoming letter from the team.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but were disappointed with the lack of decent beaches especially as we are spoilt coming from Guernsey in the Channel Islands. We hired a car which was reasonably priced but struggled with poor road signage especially when off the motorway. Laro Park was worth a visit but it was very busy and too crowded for our liking. Cable car at top of El Tiede mountain was available as long as you were willing to wait 2 hours plus to access it. Shopping and bars etc were good generally with friendly and not pushy people.
Climate was excellent however we found Tenerife commercialised (especially in the South) and dirty. Please ban the inconsiderate smokers who drop their butts everywhere. This was more noticeable on the beaches as the sand is jet black. Half day trip on a catamaran was great but would be expensive for a family.

THE HOTEL
Accommodation - Great
Cleanliness - Great
Staff - accommodating, friendly and very helpful
Pool Areas - Great
Italian and Med restaurants - OK but lacked atmosphere
Main restaurant - Very good
Entertainment and animation - OK
Food - Very good (see below)
Drinks - Very good

CONSTRUCTIVE COMMENTS
Overall very good food and choices however the following needs to be addressed-
The temperature of some of the foods were suspect. Food deemed to be served hot should never be allowed to drop below 63 degrees centigrade. Many hot food items were at temperatures below 63 degrees.
All cold food should be kept in a temperature range above 0 and below 5 degrees. Many foods were not cold and consequently could cause food poisoning. I noticed that the hotel was displaying a HACCP certificate which is a food safety management system however not once did I notice any temperature checks via probes being carried out.
A far more serious observation was the placing of raw meats on to cook using hands, then touching cooked foods and crockery/glasses without washing hands. This is cross contamination and could cause serious issues.
The food in the pool area was highly suspect where temperatures of the food were not kept at the correct levels and where pigeons were flying and eating the food off tables and near the food service area with very little policing by the staff.
Overall basic hygiene by all staff in the food areas was good. All customers coming in to any of the restaurants should not be allowed to enter unless they gel their hands and this should be policed by the staff.

The hotel has a dress code which is not policed properly. If you make a rule then enforce it. This did happen in the Italian and Med restaurant but a blind eye was turned in the main restaurant.
These are areas which could easily be addressed but were not.
Don't let this put you off as the hotel is very good. I know the hotel monitors feedback and I'm sure will address these issues as if they don't this could be very problematic for them.

Steve Bacon
Programme Manager for Hospitality and Catering
Guernsey College of Further Education
Channel Islands












  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Stevebacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Bacon:

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we have taken good notice of your comments about the hotel.

In regards to your comments, we would like to inform that Bahia Principe chain works with an external company called Cristal Americas, world leader in the implementation of effective systems for environmental, health and safety related risk management and it is member of the Check Safety First Group; which on a frequent basis audits our hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures.

Besides we have already passed all your constructive comments to the General Manager and Cheff for further evaluation.

We would like the welcome you again.

Best regards

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,724 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
836 reviews
22.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Costa Atlantis
Sol Costa Atlantis
#10 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avenida de Colon, 22. Puerto de la Cruz - Tenerife. Espana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $120 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (no additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing