We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home from Home (5th-12thMay)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our 6th time at this hotel, the 2nd this year. It is in a perfect location in PDLC. The hotel is always spotless and we had emailed Gemma before our stay to request our favourite room 1604. This is a junior suite with Teide view, it is slightly more expensive but well worth it. room is huge with a massive balcony. From the 16th floor you can see all over the town to Punta Brava. The food is excellent, we go half board but have never worn our "tags" and this has not been a problem. My partner carries them in his pocket. The hotel is well sound proofed and you never hear anyone when you are in the room. Puerto is a lovely Tspanish town, there are lots of bars and restaurants but still manages to retain its spanish charm. Our 3 favourite bars are "Ca Mario" in Calle Hoya which is the next road over from Mcdonalds. The owner is very friendly and the food and drink excellent and very cheap. We also like "la Namera" which is 0pposite Bel Air, the tallest building in Puerto. They do great sangria. Our third i Bellamar which is up the steps to La Paz, you can see the steps from the hotel. It has fantastic views and cocktails. We have done all the excursions from here. The best are Loro Parque, Freebird vip and Masca trip, also Santa Cruz and Tagana. We had a very hot week but the weather in Puerto tends to be more cloudy. It is greener and much prettier than the south. Thanks to all the staff for another great stay..

Room Tip: the higher floor the better. corner rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank puertodelacruz2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guests,

It is a pleasure to hear you have yet again spent a lovely holiday with us. We take real pride in our repeating guests, and we are happy to have been able to offer you your favorite room.

We will be happy to see you with us for a 7th time, and will give you a warm welcome.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Principe San Felipe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here from 7th to 4th May. The biggest negative I have is the compulsory wearing of wristbands to denote whether you are a half board or all inclusive guest. On arrival the receptionist went through the usual welcome information then asked for our wrists and 'tagged' us with ugly blue wristbands. Ladies, if you plan on getting dressed nicely for dinner with maybe a pretty bracelet, don't bother because you will be advised that you have to wear either a bright red or blue wristband. I risked being reprimanded and snapped my wristband off on the 2nd day, my hubby wore his all week. I urge the hotel to find an alternative way of differentiating between all inclusive and half board guests.
To add insult to injury we were charged for 2 items we had not ordered on our checking out bill. You can either pay in cash for drinks (we were half board) or charge them to your bill where you give the waiter your room number and sign a receipt to confirm what you have ordered. On check out our bill had items totalling approx 20 euros that we had not ordered. The receipts were found and neither had been signed. This is a flawed system, open to error and although the items were removed from our bill it is not something that should happen, I had read a previous review where the same had happened so we were careful to check what we had been charged for.
Other negatives for us were, the air conditioning, it wasn't very effective, I am sure it sometimes blew out warm air !! One other thing for me was the bathroom, I found it to be dated with a shower over a full bath and dark too. I stayed in the beatriz atlantis last Sept and the bathroom was far superior with huge shower trays. I understand that perhaps some guests at the san felipe may prefer baths and this is perhaps why the showers have been fitted over them.
The safe has to be hired which i don't agree with, lots of hotels seem to charge these days for things that should really come a part of what we pay for.
On to the positives of this hotel, it is very, very clean throughout. The pool area and garden is immaculately maintained. I even saw someone polishing the hand rails for the pool steps ! The pool area is very nice with a section for children and a large pool that has a shallow side connected to a deeper section. Towels can be hired for 10 euros per person, the fee is returnable when you return your towels. You can change your towels as often as needed by taking them to be exchanged for clean ones.
The rooms are spacious and are kept very clean. The balconies are nice with a table and couple of chairs. The beds are very comfortable with what feel like memory foam mattresses, our pillows were a bit flat though. Our room overlooked the pool with a view of Teide.
The location of the hotel is good with a level walk into town.
We didn't eat in the a la carte restaurant which costs an extra 18 euros per person (for half board guests), the buffet restaurant was fine. The food was o.k., nothing outstanding but reasonable with a fairly good choice every night. Breakfasts were good, excellent porridge on the buffet every day and good quality bacon. Good coffee as standard and you can ask for tea if preferred.
There was a diverse range of guests staying in the hotel while we were there, elderly guests, young families (it was nice to see young children and babies), young couples etc..... Nationalities were Spanish, English, German and French.
The evening entertainment was ok but nothing good enough to keep you in the hotel all evening (unless you are all inclusive and want to make the most of what you have paid for at the bar).
Overall I would describe the hotel as efficiently run, clean, with a good location. In my opinion It isn't anything exceptionally and I was a bit disappointed after reading some of the glowing reviews of it, perhaps I expected too much ! I wasn't left with 'a must return to this hotel' feeling although it is perfectly adequate, it just lacked that 'x factor' for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granville45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay, and that you have appreciated the well kept the pool and garden areas and the cleanliness and the location.
We have taken note of the inconvenienes you suffered at check out with your bill, and we offer you our apoligies. We work hard to avoid those mistakes and when they do happen it is our policy to inmediatly correct them.

Your opinion about the wristband we have send on to the general management, for your feedback is important to us and will help us to improve our services.

We will be pleased if you give us another chance, and will give you a warm welcome in the Bahia Principe San Felipe.

kindest regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading reviews from other "Trip advisor" contributors - All comments seemed to be accurate. However, as nice as the food was, I didn't think it was up to par as some descriptions would lead you to believe. Although varied, it did seem a little samey after a while.
Th e hotel in general was homely, clean and comfortable and the pool area quiet and like a little oasis. There was some noise from a nearby shopping centre car park, and from the road, but that didn't in anyway detract from the peacefullness of the pool area.
One downside for me personally was, that even though we had booked Half Board, we still had to wear a wrist band (blue for half board - red for all incusive)
Great views from all of the rooms from what I understand. We had a 6th floor view of the sea and bay area.... however, strange as it may seem the sea was very loud!! Even during the night when you would think the sea would be calm, the waves seemed to be almost crashing, but that said, it did lull me to sleep - however, some people may have difficulty with the noise. Even the road, was very quiet in the evening, and only minor traffic in the early part of the morning.
Hotel staff friendly and seemed very helpful, we had a problem with our balcony door on 2 occasions and within a couple of hours, the problem was solved each time.

All in all this hotel was very nice, and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review about your recent stay at the Bahia Principe San Felipe. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed the quiet of the gardens and pool area, and of course the waves from the Atlantic ocean.

We would like to thank you fr recomending the Hotel and we hope we may receive you as our guest again in the Bahia Principe.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have just returned from only our 4th visit to the magnificent Bahia Principe/San Felipe. Once again a fautless 2 weeks and highly recommended. Because of the pounds gained on ones girth due to the superb food and drink( we only managed two breakfasts) we can't wait for the next visit.The Lunch and Dinner are outstanding with such a varied choice as to please every ones palate. You may wonder why 89 times to Puerto De La Cruz, mainly because of the friendliness of Hotel staff in the Hotels that we have experienced. The Bahia is without exception outstanding and after only 4 visits we regret we did not try this Hotel earlier in our lives. I must praise in no particular order Gemma a real gem and please ask for her, if you ever have a problem, she will sought it out immediately. Luca at Reception is also brilliant.
Richard from New York is priceless in the Kitchen, then we come to the superb and helpfull Bar staff who are outstanding in their jobs Bergonia, Juama,Laly, Patrick and Jose. I really would appreciate any questions or help required by any person requiring information on Peurto as we love it. The fact that this Hotel is ranked 5th is a total joke it is easily 2nd to the Botanico(5*).Unfortunately no more room to elaborate further!!!

Room Tip: My wife and I prefer the sea view as the crashing waves are so relaxing and send us to sleep, you ca...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GruffsGran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to hear you have spend yet another lovely in your beloved Puerto de la Cruz and that you chose to spend it with us in the Bahia Principe San Felipe for the 4th time.

We have passed on your kind words to the staff, specially to ones you mention, for such positive feedback is always a great motivation for all.

We are pleased we were able to give you a wonderfull holiday and hopefully you will visit us for the 5th time and we will give you a warm welcome.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Returned to the San Felipe for another GREAT stay. Before we arrived I sent an email to request the same room as we had last time and no surprise we were given it when we got there. ALL the staff from reception/restaurant/bar and cleaning staff could not be better and are a credit to the hotel. Both the manager and his assistant constantly check on the dining room to ensure the buffet is up to standard. Good choice of food and you will always find something you like. One complaint is the toaster in the morning...requires replacing please. The televisions are a bit out of date and could do with updating but having said that you don't go on holiday to watch TV.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a good size and both sides of the hotel offer superb views. If you prefer the sun...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janrobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this kind review.
We consider our repeating guests a real credit to the hotel, and we pay special atention to their feedback.

We all take real pride to hear you have had another great holiday with us, and will be pleased to recieve you again as our guest.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel just before the start of May and 'the Season'; prices very reasonable at this point, though rising thereafter. Weather like the nicest sort of English spring; mostly 'shirt-sleeve order', blue skies, the occasional cloudy morning, not roasting. Really very pleasant unless you are there for sun-basting and the lounger round the pool.The location is splendid, on the edge of the bay, a view clear out to America on the seaward side, the faint sound of the rollers throughout the night; this might deter seekers for utter quiet, but I found it very restful.
Hotel is the usual concrete tower, but very nicely appointed inside, with a good range of public rooms, bedrooms well-appointed and of a decent size, excellent large balconies. Only the television was a bit elderly and not connected until one tracked down the hidden ariel lead and connected it.Everything is kept spotlessly clean, good plumbing; our roomy bathroom had a shower with a seat and a bath with a shower,also grab rails, so disabled customers are well catered for.
A major benefit was the fact that the hotel occupies a double or even treble footprint of land, and even after fitting in a swimming pool complex and two a-la-carte restaurant buildings, there is room for delightful, mature gardens where you can sit in the shade of trees in the morning and relax.
The main buffet restaurant was very good indeed; I have rarely come upon such a wide range of dishes; at Breakfast there is no breakfast style, from full English, to light continental, German meat and cheese through fresh fruit in considerable variety to a humble bowl of cornflakes, or even porridge, that is not catered for. The evening meal always provided a similar range of choices, lots of joints of meat and cooked dishes, massive displays of salad and fruit, all very good.
The beds are decent, the staff generally very friendly and nice. Evening entertainment tends towards the 'rubber-chicken -circuit' style - a singer, a chap with an accordian and so forth, but the hotel tries hard to provide things ( tennis, darts/billiards, etc.) for those who want to stay close to the hotel. The pools were not our interest, but they seemed superior to those of other local hotels and catered for both adults and children in terms of depths. Lots of sun loungers if that's your thing; I've no doubt that sun-lounger wars go on later in the season, but they were very available when we were there.The guests are, mostly, older people, but there is a good leavening of families with younger children, who were well behaved. A quiet hotel, but not an old-folks home.
Minor grumbles? Front desk a bit brisk and dismissive, the pillows rather hard, the charge for the use of the safe rather mean. But they are minor, and I would be happy to stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have splendid views; at the front, of the sea, but a bit of wave/wind noise; at th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank for taking the time to write this review and share your experience with us.
We are pleased to hear that the hotel lived up to your expectations, and we greatly value your detailed discription.
However we are sorry to hear the you found the frontdesk a bit brisk and dismissive, and we have passed your comment on the person responsible, for is is our wish to keep improving our services.

It would be a pleasure to receive you again as our guest in Bahia Principe,

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our very first holiday in Tenerife. We are dellighted that we chose Puerto de la Cruz and particularly delighted that we chose the San Felipe hotel. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. It is well-designed and stylish. The staff are very friendlly, smartly dressed and highly professional, The quality and choice of food and drinks provided is exceptionally good. The gardens are an oasis of green with lovely pools and lots of places to sit, sunbathe and relax with a drink.

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens gives lovely views to Mount Teide and are generally quieter especially above...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank June167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Bahia Principe San Felipe with all tripadvisor users.

We are glad to know that you the Hotel, the professional staff and of course the quality and choice of food that we offer.

We are pleased you have spent a lovely holiday with us and we hope to see you again in the future in Bahia Principe.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
798 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avenida de Colon, 22. Puerto de la Cruz - Tenerife. Espana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $125 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (no additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing