We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at the San Felipe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay the beginning of December at the San Felipe, lived up to expectations again. Very friendly helpful staff, lovely clean room, good food and plenty of choice. Stayed in a room in the annexe overlooking the pool on the ground floor with large balcony.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Popcorn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice comment regarding your lat stay here at Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel. It is a pleasure to recieve you here one more time. Thank you again for your nice words and please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General Assistant Manager at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed there for 1 week end November had a few wet and stormy days but the hotel more than made up for that.The food is very good we only used the buffet as it was so good did not try the other restaurant which i have been told is very good. We had a suite with 2 large terraces one overlooking the lovely garden the other the sea it was windy for 2 days so we had some wonderful photo opportunities. the staff are very friendly and the rooms are very clean. My partners parents have also stayed there and as with us rate it as a very good hotel for the price. The location at the edge of town could not be better will def stay there again we met some lovely people and one couple has stayed there 40 times if that is not good recommendation I don't know what is.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chubbytreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay last november here at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe. We trully appreciate it. We had a terrible weather those days and we appreciate that you notice how hard all our staff work to make everything success.

We would like to thank you for the nice comments regarding the food and the cleanliness of the hotel. We hope to welcome you and your parents one more time here at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe.

Thank you again and kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Once again San Felipe did not disappoint , even though we had an "Orange Alert" while there ! But that provided some lovely angry photos ; and the wind never did get that bad , it was the rain that over did it this time !

Unfortunately my OH had the dreaded "N" bug 14 days into the holiday , but I must convey my thanks to the 2 room senoritas Jose Maria and Noa for their kindness ....

Just a few little niggles that Gemma and the management sorted quickly ...Many Thanks ....

The food was good , and some days excellent ...The roast beef very very good , but I only noticed it served once in 3 weeks ; For myself I love the canarian dishes , the Rabbit and the Goat , both very good , and also a mention for the very good Duck with oange sauce ...

A bit of a mixed holiday this time but still enjoyable and good ....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Sylla,

Thank you so much on more time for your nice comment regarding your stay with us here at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe! It was a pleasure, like always. I had the choice to talk with you about the "bad niggles" and that is why, we always encourage our guests to talk to us or to write in Tripadvisor, because their comments always help us to do the things better.

We trully appreciate your words and we hope to welcome you one more time here in Bahía Principe San Felipe.

Kindest regards,
Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a very ok hotel, but maybe not worth all 4 stars it has. These days you would expect something extra from a hotel with 4 stars.
Location is good, a bit off the center but not too long way. Rooms are smallish but everything is clean and tidy. The staff is surprisingly friendy (for spaniards) and everything more or less functions ok. First few days the cooling did not work and it was over +30. Also the air con was very loud. The hotel and the rooms are basic, could be anywhere in the world, nothing spanish/ canarian nor luxorius there.
The buffet is better than average, really big one, lots to choose from.
Big disapointment was the wifi, it costs 25eur/week (!!!) and functions really badly - and only in your room (not even on the balcony)! Slow connection breaking all the time, needs to re-log-in with the code almost everytime.
The pool area is too small, the sun beds are like inch from each other. Not so relaxing having old fat man lying half on your lap... The sun goes behind the mountains at around 4, so no sun bathing after the siesta.
The spa is expensive - other 4-star hotel with spa usually offer it for free.

Room Tip: You can read the same tips from every review. The nice news is that if you ask for a certain kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liisafromfinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your recent stay here with us at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe. We apologize for the details that she has not enyojed such as the prices fro the internet and the Spa. We like to read our guest comments in order to be everyday a little bit better.

On the other hand, instead, we are so happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay thanks to our staff, and that you find them really nice.

As part of the managment team we always work hard in order to satisfy our guest needs, to succeed their expectations and to go beyond them. We are happy to read that our staff succeed in that with you. That is trully important for us.

We hope to welcome you one more time here at Bahía Principe San Felipe and at that time have already solved the small problems that you had in this stay.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights in November 2012 on an all inclusive basis. Weather was variable but if you do your research in advance that should not come as a surpirse at that time of year, and at least the rain was warm. The hotel is well located at the east end of the town, a short walk from the pedestrianised area of shops, restaurants etc. We had a sea view which has great views of the black beach and the coastline. Surfers are there to watch each afternoon, which certainly provides entertainment! The flip side is that the waves crash onto the beach so you can get woken up by them – but if you don’t want this then ask for a room overlooking the pool.

Our room was on the 9th floor and was clean and comfortable, with plenty of space.

Just a few minor niggles –
1) They want EUR 25 for a week of wifi access – not really justifiable in a hotel of this standard, it should be provided free like most hotels do
2) They charge EUR 17.50 for a week of using the in-room electronic safe – this is a surprise as there is nothing in the room book to suggest you have to pay for it – it was only when I enquired at reception that I found there was a charge.
3) The lifts (3 of them) are very small and you frequently have to wait until 2 or 3 have gone before you find one enpty enough to get into. Also there is no “up” button on any floor except Ground – so if you walk up to the Reps room on the Mezzanine level (floor P) you then have to go down to go up. Very minor but a little inconvenient.
4) It would be good if the hotel refilled the minibars more than twice a week.

Air conditioning in our room was mainly ineffective but that wasn’t too much of a problem in November.

The buffet restaurant is very good – a very wide variety at all meals with regular replenishment as it runs out. A Chef is on hand and cooks some foods in front of you. The clientele was mainly British, German and Spanish with a small variety of Finnish, Swedish, Irish. The restaurant tries to accommodate all tastes and succeeds fairly well. I would defy anyone to find that they don’t like what is on offer!

If you go all inclusive then they allow you 2 visits to their a la carte restaurants (pre-book these when you are there) – we only had time to visit the Italian one. It was a bit rushed (one hour for a 3 course meal) and the range was not as wide there as I would have expected but it was acceptable and did make a change from the buffet.

The restaurant gets very busy and at certain times you may have to wait up to 15 minutes to be seated. Generally the service (drinks and clearing plates) was good but when very busy there can be delays. My wife was recovering from an operation and was on crutches – the staff always tried to find us a good table with plenty of room to move around.

The bar gets busy during the evening entertainment so you can have to wait for service. Other reviewers commented on the staff being unfriendly – we did not find that, perhaps because we attempted to order in Spanish – it always helps if you try to speak the local language.

There is a spa at the hotel but we did not have time for this so cannot comment – certainly it looked good in the brochure.

To get around, the local taxis are frequent – costs about EUR 3 for a ride into the central plaza (Plaza del Charco).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the San Felipe and look forward to returning in future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms can be noisy due to the waves breaking on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon_in_Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Simon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this kind and extended review regarding your recent stay this month here at Bahía Principe San Felipe. We trully appreeciate.

We are so happy to read that you have enjoed your holiday here at the hotel and that you have find spaceially good the buffett food and our staff.

We apologize for the small problems regarding the elevators or the delays to be seated. Also we are sorry for the rush at the A LA Carte restaurant. Im going to talk personally with the responsables to tell them to slow down a little bit.

We thank you one more time for the comments because those help us to be better everyday and to learn from our guest.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit and we are glad to welcome you one more time here at Bahía Principe San felipe.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant Manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Not for the discerning... the classy plastic wrist tags they attach upon arrival were an omen of things to come. Felt like a prison inmate and removed it over Champagne at the end of our stay. Please find another way of vetting entry to your restaurants.

I detect a hotel on the slippery slide, not 4 star in my opinion. Receptionists did their very best to fob me off with all the tricks of the trade after I spent a night on the balcony owing to a terrible smell (rotting kitchen waste) coming from the air-con. Decor and furnishings slightly tatty, food okay if you choose wisely, sugar and water "fruit juices" indicative of cost-saving measures, sea-view rooms noisy, black beach unalluring and not for families. Thank goodness for the pool area.

El Teide volcano and Anaga nature reserve worth the detour, otherwise been there and done it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank featherlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this review regarding your recent stay at Bahía Principe San Felipe.

We are sorry that the hotel has not succeed your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience that we have might caused you.

The rooms that face the sea had a little noice of the sea, but you could ask for a room facig the teide and the pool that are quieter.

We work hard everyday to satisfy all our guests needs and it is sad to see that we did not do it with your stay.

We hope that you give us a new opportunity to demostrate you that you can have a memorable holiday here with us, so please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards and thank you again for taking your time to write this review!

Ruth Pardo
General assistant Manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have just returned from yet another holiday at the San Felipe...we always request our room before we arrive and thanks to ESTHER our request is always met...ALL the staff from reception to restaurant are extremely friendly and efficient...there is always a good choice of food in the restaurant which is clean and tidy and food replaced regularly...shouldn't pick out any particular chef but BRIAN in the mornings has to be mentioned as he always remembers how we like our 'eggs'...thanks again Brian...Rooms are spacious and spotless as is the balcony and again a big thank you to both ROSE and NOA for always making sure our room is clean and tidy...on the 10th and 11th floor...Well done Andres Nieto and ALL your staff...looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the afternoon choose a pool view if you prefer a sea view choose the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janrobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your last holiday here at Bahía Principe San Felipe. We trully appreciate it.

We have enjoyed a lot all your words regarding our staff and all of them are so happy with your nice comment.

We hope to wlecome you again so you can enjoy our food, cleanliness and all our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help in your further reservations, and thank you so much one more time!

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General Assistant manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,725 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
836 reviews
22.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Costa Atlantis
Sol Costa Atlantis
#10 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avenida de Colon, 22. Puerto de la Cruz - Tenerife. Espana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $120 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (no additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Sunlight Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing