We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two good weeks at the San Felipe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Principe San Felipe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Whickham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Two good weeks at the San Felipe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel (9th-23thOctober)
The weather was exceptional for October.
This is a large hotel well situated on the seafront,it has good facilities with friendly professional staff.
We stayed on a half board basis as we are usually out and about during the day and after dinner.
Our room was large and well maintained,facing the pool area which meant sun in the afternoon on the large balcony.
The food was good with plenty of choice at buffet style breakfast and dinner.
Overall a very pleasant stay in a good hotel and resort

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Ed,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your recent stay here at Bahía Principe San Felipe. We are really gald to read that you have enjoyed your room and the food of our buffet.

We always work to make our guests happy and it is really nice to read that you have enjoyed your vacation.

We hope to welcome you one more time here at bahía Principe San Felipe.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    527
    209
    51
    40
See reviews for
446
808
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A good hotel well situated with brilliant views, excellent public areas and a good standard of cleanliness.
All the staff were friendly and pleasant and we enjoyed our holiday time here.
I have just two niggles ; two single beds with separate bedding pushed together does not make a double and why so much ham/ bacon in vegetable dishes, as a vegetarian I fared reasonably well but had to be extra vigilant because of the poor labeling ie) 'roast potatoes' 'potato salad' 'vegetable quiche' all with bits of ham/bacon in them to name but a few......

Room Tip: High floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your recent stay here at Bahía Principe San Felipe. We trully appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel conditions.

We will try to do it better with our vegetarian dishes and to label properly which contains any kind of "not vegetable" food.

We hope to welcome you one more time here at Bahia principe San Felipe.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from Tenerife. The Hotel was lovely, very friendly and clean, with a lovely view of the ocean. The restaurant was excellent. The variety and quality of the food was great and the service was friendly and efficient. The swimming pool area was great with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas and the entertainment was good too. We were there for two weeks all inclusive and we felt it was good value for money. The resort was also lovely.It was picturesque with a lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: We wanted a quiet room with a sea view but the rooms facing the mountains also had a view of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your stay here with us at Bahía Principe San Felipe. We trully appreciate your words. We work hard to provide our guests with a memorable holiday and we are glad to read that you have enjoyed our clieanliness, rooms, food and obviusly our staff!

We hope to welcome you one more time here at Bahía Principe San Felipe!!

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager from Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in October, staying all inclusive. The hotel is large with good facilities and very welcoming, friendly staff. There is a good selection of food available with an excellent choice both hot and cold. The all-inclusive drinks are very rough – the wine is especially dire – but the bar prices aren’t expensive if you decide to buy something better.

Our room was small (a side room) but we’ve stayed here before and know that front and rear facing rooms are bigger. The balcony was large so we didn’t feel crammed in; it just forced us to be a bit tidier inside. Personally I prefer a sea view but I understand why sun worships would prefer the rear rooms.

The pool area is very nice with plenty of loungers, parasols and shades areas. The daily towel exchange is an excellent idea. We didn’t use the spa so can’t comment on that, though the gym is pretty good with enough equipment to tide someone over for their holiday.

If you are staying half board I would not recommend paying the 18 euro per person to dine in the a la carte restaurants as the food there isn’t as good as what’s available in the main buffet. The service is also very rushed – 3 courses served in half an hour. You would be better off treating yourself to a meal out of the hotel. If you are all-inclusive it's included so you have nothing to lose in trying it out.

Even if you are all inclusive it’s worth going out as Puerto De le Cruz is a beautiful town with loads of great places to eat and drink. For food I would recommend El Balcon and La Marea – both situated in the Plaza De Charco. For authentic cocktails try Copacabana and the Color café – also in the square. The Bee Hive is an English style pub serving a great range of drinks and snacks you can’t get elsewhere in the resort.

The location of the hotel makes it an excellent base for going out and about. The Orchid Gardens are just a five minute walk away (uphill) and the Botanic gardens about ten minutes away. It’s also worth visiting the town of La Oratava (about ten minutes and 10 euros by taxi) and La Casa De Los Vinos (approx. 20 euros by taxi)

All in all the hotel is great with just a few minor flaws (quality of the drinks and the a La Carte restaurant) and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are cooler with great view. Rear facing rooms get the sun all day and can be very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas01388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Thomas,

Thank you so much for your nice comment regarding your recent stay here at Bahía Principe San Felipe. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your vacation with us and that you are looking forward to visit us again.

We work hard everyday to satisfy our guest needs and it is really nice to see that our guests appreciate it.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit so we can try to accomodate your needs of room and view.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General asisstant manager from Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Date of visit 21 September to 5th October.
Travelled as couple.
Ages 50+

This was our second visit to the San Felipe and was as enjoyable as the first. All areas are kept exceptionally clean, staff are friendly and helpful and there is a wide selection of well cooked food.

Our request for a high floor room had been granted and we had an good sea view from the 14th floor. Alignment of the hotel means, that apart from corner rooms, you will either have a sea or a landward view, the sea view had the advantage, for me that the balcony was shaded for most of the day so didn't get too hot. If you love the sun and heat request a Teide view.
The resort as a whole is one of the cleanest and tidiest I have visited and still retains a significant amount of its pre-tourist character.

While we were visiting the guest breakdown seemed to be average age 40+, nationality a mix of Spanish, British and German.I have noted in other reviews that people have felt that Spanish guests were treated with preference. I didn't feel this at all and would ask people to remember that staff are most likely to have more lengthy conversations in their native language, this might be interpreted by some as preference, I'm sure it's not.

I would have no hesitation at all in recommending this hotel, in fact after our last visit my daughter's in-laws paid a visit and were equally impressed.

The location of the resort means that airport transfer is 1hour plus but it's worth it.

The only minor niggle I had was the cost of WiFi connection at 25 Euros per week it was quite expensive particularly at a time when more and more hotels are including this free. The quality of the WiFi was however very good.
.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a landward (mountain) view and have sun for most of the day. North facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lampara_verde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write these nice comments regarding your recent stay at Bahía principe San Felipe. We trully appreciate your wonderful words regarding our food, cleanliness and staff. We work hard every day to satisfy our guest needs and we are so happy to read that you have a memorable vacation here with us.

We hope to welcome you one more time here at Bahía Principe San Felipe!

Thank you again!

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

October 2012.Just returned today from one week at this fab hotel. Went as two couples on an all inclusive deal. The staff could not have been more helpful. Food was very good with plenty of choice at all meals.
The entertainment was nothing to write home about and it is very popular with the Germans.
Would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea views are great and corner rooms have wrap around balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Harry,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your stay last week here at Bahía Principe San Felipe.

We trully appreciate your good words about our hotel and food and specially the ones regarding our staff. We are very happy to see that you have had a memorable vacation here at Bahía principe San Felipe.

We hope to welcome you one more time in the future and pleasev do not hesitate to contact us if you have any spacial request!!!

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant Manager at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have just returned from the San Felipe in Puerto de la Cruz on the 2nd October. My Husband and I have a lovely holiday. The hotel was built in the early 70's and has a charm to it. The rooms were spacious and clean, large balcony with either a sea view or a pool view with Mount Teide in the back ground. The minibar was refilled twice a week at no cost to the all inclusive guest which was excellent if you arrived late and wanted some water.

We went all inclusive which was excellent value for money. The quality of the food and drink was excellent. There was plenty of variety, and the selection was excellent. On one evening I could not find anything I wanted and the Chef cooked me a piece of chicken. The staff were friendly especially if you tried to speak to them in Spainish with the odd ola, or gracias, they would smile and nod back. The ala carte restaurants were lovely and thte quality excellent, we went with a wine from the wine list which was incredible value for money.

The pool area we thoroughly enjoyed, the deep pool for doing lengths, and the smaller pool that was so easy to get in for a dip. The pool areas was cleaned so thoroughly daily, as were all areas of the hotel. The pool area could do with a couple of more parasols as there seemed to be a shortage of them The hotel is situated on the sea front and an easy walk in to the port. The old town with its old hotel, and churches were absolutely charming.

I would recommend this hotel to couples and families, and will definetly return.

Room Tip: If you like a good view, ask for a high floor but not on 15 or16. As there is no shade on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Maevey,

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe.

We trully appreciate all your comments regarding our spacious and cleanliness rooms; the minibar refilling; the quality, variety and selection of food in the main buffett and also in the a la carte restaurants; our staff and the swimming pools area.

We are really glad to read that you have a really nice vacation with us and we hope to welcome you one more time here at Bahía Principe San Felipe!!

Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit so we can try to accomodate your needs for an special Roomtype or floor...

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe San Felipe

Property: Bahia Principe San Felipe
Address: Avenida de Colon, 22. Puerto de la Cruz - Tenerife. Espana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (no additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (no additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing