We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dania Park”
Review of Hotel Trianflor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Trianflor
Ranked #75 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This Hotel can only be described as very poor. We were told that there would be entertainment.. This only happened on five evenings out of seven, in the form of a guy on an organ playing Spanish music and another guy playing a trumpet and organ who tried his best by playing the odd English tune. Nothing at all during the day. At first arrival we had to look for someone to open the bar to even get a drink and as we were all inclusive this was not satisfactory, We had to plead to get a drink in a glass althoigh the other people on just a board basis were automatically given one. We did not mind having plastic glasses around the pool area.The hotel is advertised as having 4 pools but only the one was open. The food can only be described as average and was often served only lukewarm.There were no snacks available as was also desrcibed.But for the fact that we met some lovely English people in the hotel we would have had a very unpleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 792 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I've waited until now to write this review as I wanted a reply from the holiday booking company (we traveled there 18/09/2013).
I wrote to them on my return to advise that the food is very poor, not fresh nor hot, no vegitarian option, fruit that is past it's best. Very dingy appearance throughout this hotel which looks like nothing been done to it 's decor since the 1960's.
Electric wall sockets not screwed to the wall and bare electrical wires showing from wall light fittings.
We went half board but ate out every day although we did look into the restuarant to check if there might have been any edible food.
The reply I got from the booking agency don't believe what I wrote saying this is a 4 star hotel when from worldly travels I rate this as a 1 star hotel They were very dismissive of my complaint.
Our room door was open when we went back one night and we were more or less blamed for leaving it open.
The town is lovely and well worth a visit. We walked into other 4 star hotels for a comparison which does reconfirm that this hotel is a 1 star (at best).
Please do not waste your money going to this hotel...book into a different one if you want to visit this town.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As you can see the hotel is now named Elegance Dania Park . It has no connection with the Dania Magec anymore . It has been took over by a new company . I would say it is a lovely clean hotel , the staff are most welcoming and the manager is very helpful and friendly . The rooms are very clean and they are cleaned every day . Dining area is lovely and a good choice of food which is nice . The hotel is situated in the centre of the town and 5 mins away from the beach , ideal . I would recommend this hotel to anyone . The only room for improvement is the evening entertainment but saying that there is plenty of bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Other than being clean and centrally located, this old hotel has nothing to offer. It is very - and I mean very - basic and cannot understand its four-star rating. When I tried to make a phone call from my room the line was dead. It transpired that the cable had been ripped from the wall behind the bed. The hose on the hairdryer was also broken. Admittedly these faults were rectified quite promptly. However, when booking a four-star hotel one expects a certain standard so unless you want to throw your money away, I suggest that you check out alternative four-star accommodation in Puerto de la Cruz.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

why did the people who complain about the Dania / Magec chose to go there, the price was a main factor I guess, we have been going twice even 3 times a year since 1986, the staff are very friendly to us as we treat them all with the respect they deserve.
I admit the food is not what you would get in a 5* hotel but you get what you pay for. have a look at what the hotel Botanica charges, they have fantastic food their, but at a fantastic price. I know where I would rather stay.
the Dania / Magec is very clean, towels changed every day if needed, bedding changed 3 times a week, do those who complain, change theirs at home as often.
the hotels are in a very good position, with a good views of Teide or the sea.
we are looking forward to returning this winter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank madgaBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although the hotel is well situated the place needs a serious uplift. Balcony door locks were almost useless in 2 of 3 rooms. The fridges leaved a lot to be desired and quite inefficient. Cleaning staff were friendly and usually thorough observing requests not to clean.The food was average at best and found ourselves seeking meals elsewhere in town on the odd occasions. The roof pool is way too small though reasonably clean.

The rooms provided (3) were at the further most points on the floor and only when the relief receptionist started did they relocate my youngest daughter's room to near one of the other rooms assigned.

I do believe the star rating is too generous and deserves a lower rating.

That being said we did find the resort enjoyable and would return but staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where on earth did this hotel get its 4* rating from? It is no more than a 2+* hotel. It is in need of a TOTAL refurbishment. It truly defies the 4* rating applied to it. Torn bed bases, broken tiles, electric sockets literally hanging off the walls, damp on the ceiling, awful, awful awful. Food was a joke, breakfast consisted of dried out croissants, scrambled egg with mushrooms that looked and smelled disgusting. The evening meal was worse with the usual fish (full of bones and dried out), paella with a couple of shells to make you think it had shellfish in it (no actual shellfish found), chicken burgers that in no way remotely looked like burgers! Twice cooked greasy chips too! Nothing actually tasted like food as we know it and it all had a weird smell. Pudding was just as bad with flies sitting in the custard! Even the fresh fruit on offer was bruised and overripe. It was very very rare to actually see anyone eating the hot food. Most people walked around had a look and then walked out. We eventually had enough of trying to justify trying to eat something at the hotel that we ended up eating at the Happy Cafe just minutes away which supplied tasty, hot and quality food.

My brother and his wife also stayed at this hotel at the same time. Unfortunately his room was broken into and the sad fact is that the hotel staff refused to acknowledge that this had actually happened.

When we initially checked in at the hotel the first room we were offered was truly dreadful and we were moved to another room which was very slightly better. However, we complained several times about the overall poor and shoddy conditions together with the quality of the food but not one person from the hotel was remotely interested.

The pool area was okay but although there was a jaccuzi on offer it had no water in it and looked like it had never been switched on for years. The poolside bar was a broken down vending machine.

Although the hotel was so dire, Puerto de la Cruz itself is a beautiful location with lots of shops, cafes, restaurants for you to enjoy yourself there. There's also a lot of better quality 4* hotels to consider rather than this dump.

I have taken photos as I will definitely be making a complaint to the travel agent who supplied the holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MrsT-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#70 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#45 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Don Candido
Don Candido
#44 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trianflor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trianflor

Address: Calle Cupido s/n | Puerto de la Cruz, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dania Magec Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#29 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $30 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Trianflor 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a central area just 500 meters from the Plaza del Charco, the Hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying a pleasant stay in Tenerife-Puerto de la Cruz. Around the hotel you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and just 50 meters away there is a guagas (bus) and taxi station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Trianflor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dania Magec Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Dania Magec
Hotel Trianflor Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing