We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for over 50's no good for young families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from day after Boxing Day & for new year the hotel was clean the food was ok but would not go over board about it. The hotel catered for the Germans & there was a lot of them, the spainish celibate new year & 12th night . The hotel did put on a good show for this. We talked to a young family with two children they had no kids club as told , no children menu & had asked to move they had to take children every day to town to feed them and entertain them. There is a zoo close by but at 50 euros per adult they could not take them every day!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevedai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Steve, we appreciate you took the time to write this review, your feedback helps us improve our service, as all of our guests are very important for us and we cater and try to find everyone’s taste. Our kid’s entertainment programme is limited during the winter months and depends on how money small guests we have staying at our hotel at that time. However, we would like to inform you that our hotel has an entertainment area for children including a swimming pool, playground, games area, a giant Chess and a TV room. For families with children we generally recommend our Hotel Luabay Costa Los Gigantes in Tenerife, as it has perfect facilities and all entertainment options you can imagine for our smallest guests. We hope we can welcome you at one of our hotels again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
There are newer reviews for Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived on Christmas day for a one week all inclusive stay and had a really good time. We had a decent sized room that was quiet, had good views and was cleaned daily. The food was served buffet style and whilst sometimes repetitive was always cooked well and on the whole tasty. However the staff pulled out all of the stops on New Years eve and served some outstanding food that was different and varied and which was complimented by the lovely table decorations and party favours. The entertainments team Ibrahim and his apprentice Genesis deserve a special mention for their outstanding efforts to include us in a variety of activities that were both fun and energetic and offered the chance to try something new. A very pleasant stay and we would consider a return visit.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and requested a quiet room when we booked the holiday
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caterina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Caterina, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and your kind words for our staff. We will make sure that they all get to read your lines. It is great to know that you had a pleasant holiday and especially enjoyed the New Year’s dinner and celebrations. We would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Before choosing the hotel I read most of the written reviews and actually I found them quite true. The hotel is big, but you don't feel it. There is always enough room to eat, to sit, to lie at the poolside. Somehow people disappear somewhere. Probably a lot of the visitors rent a car, or go to the seaside - there is really long and nice beach and besides, it is a Blue flag beach. Or spend time downtown that is only about 1 km away and really a great place to walk and shop and eat and enjoy the Spanish atmosphere.
The people who work at the hotel are very nice, especially at the reception, very helpful and smiling and ready to deliver any information needed. People grumbled about the bar staff, actually I think they grumble only about one person, who can be rude sometimes, but maybe that's what he is and he does not mean to be rude at all. Or maybe he has overworked?
Everybody praised the room cleaning staff ... actually I think they could wash the floor sometimes, too, not only make the bed.
Jane said that water for AIs was offered in plastic cups, but we happened to have our own bottles from the trip and made a good use of them all through our stay.
Food tended to be quite one-sided at the end of the year, actually I think there was only one choice- meat or fish, very strange viscouse mashed potatoes and chips. But as the number of the year changed, food became more varied all of a sudden. I have visited better places but it was ok.
Entertainment was 50+, happily I am 50+ :)
The languages spoken are Spanish, English, German, Finnish mostly.
I liked my stay there but I will not go back, because I never go back to the same place twice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on higher floors to get a view. Both views - sea or mountains are great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kati-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we have always enjoyed the north side over last 25 years.We stayed here luabay last 4.always round dec this year 13th to 20th.and allinclive.We found changes to food much cheaper cuts of meat less choice.and same cakes each night.the bottle water to take to our room was now plastic cup from water machine.The water to make tea always warm not hot.Little things make a nice holiday and the changes now made as think to try another hotel for dec 2013.The hotel clean the staff are nice the entertainment crew are happy and fun.not a child hotel need a toy games corner inside for little ones im sure pool room could be this.Not that we have young children we go to relax and plenty of sofas to offer nice areas to relax.just changes in cut backs not good.But for us may be change needed.Plus for first time our bed was hard :(.But we was on 10th floor with great views. Jane & John

Room Tip: Top floors sea views are great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane33363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Jane and John, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry that on your 4th visit you were not completely satisfied with our hotel and we take your feedback very serious. Your comments about the food, the water (for tea and to take to your room) and the beds will be forwarded to the responsible departments. We hope we can welcome you again for a 5th visit and present our hotel with the known quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was are 4th visit to the Luabay Hotel, not changed at all.Hotel not too far from the sea and a nice walk. We had New Years eve in our visit, the hotel was very full and busy. The food was very good but you did have to have a look around before you chose, As there were 2 sittings on New Years eve,6,30pm and 8.30pm, we chose 8.30pm we were unable to sit together as a party of six. The management did a good job of keeping everybody happy, with fireworks(not as many this year) cava at midnight and the countdown. All in all a very good break. Thank you and we will be back for our 5th visit

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Dorothy, thank you very much for coming back to our hotel for the fourth time and for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are glad you had yet another great holiday and enjoyed the New Year’s Eve celebrations at our hotel. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently spent two fabulous relaxing and enjoyable weeks at the Luabay from 7th to 21st December. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and efficient and it was impossible to fault the value for money .
Some contributors have complained that this is no hotel for children, and I can't argue with that, however with reviews like those offered here, a bit of research will help choose the right hotel and location.
Just a 10 minute level(ish) walk to the city centre , 5 to the local buses or beach and a 15minute seaside stroll to Loro Parque makes the location pretty good.
Our room faced SW so we had a great balcony view of the Orotava valley, Mount Teide and westward towards the Atlantic rollers crashing onto the beach at Playa Jardin ... brilliant!
We will be saving our pennies up for another visit and recommend this hotel.
I think some people expect far too much of the catering , and although this is not a la carte dining, there is a wide range on offer and it is good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exmothian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. We were impressed by many things. Not least the hard working staff who, without exception did as much as they could to help us. We really felt cared for. The spacious suite was well serviced and in spite of the large numbers there, the hygiene was good and the food was good. As always, with any buffet, you have to take your time, see what is available and make the right choices for you. Also, as with any hot buffets we have experienced, the food is sometimes not as hot as we would like. 30 seconds in the microwave opposite the hotplate does the trick. Some people seemed not to notice it was there. Entertainment in the evening was great and lots to do during the day.
Finally we would not hesitate to recommend Luabay to our friends and relatives. Our daughter has been there twice and we would go again.

Room Tip: Almost all suites have good expansive view of the sea.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M&K65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We would like to thank you for your kind words for our staff and food offer and are most happy to hear you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback will be shared with all our staff and we will stress your comment about the temperature of the food. We are glad you found a way of heating it to your taste in the microwave but will make sure that this matter is looked into. The Luabay Tenerife team would be very happy to welcome you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Be Live Experience Orotava
Be Live Experience Orotava
#14 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,070 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#23 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Adults Only Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Adults Only Tenerife

Address: Avenida Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Be Live Experience Tenerife)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#23 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $79 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Adults Only Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Adults Only Tenerife offers an enviable location at Puerto de la Cruz, it is located only yards away from the spectacular volcanic beaches at "Playa Jardin" and 5 minutes walk from the town centre. It has a top-notch service and completely renovated rooms with fantastic views to the sea or over Mount Teide and the Orotava Valley. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Be Live Adults Only Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Tenerife Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Florida Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Florida Tenerife
Florida Hotel Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing