We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Botanico = Value for Money. Outstanding personnel in surroudings second to none delivers efficient, friendly, and warm service from morning, through the whole day and
entire evening combined with calm and peace for a pleasant night sleep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Ole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Oleg,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay at Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you found our hotel as a peacefull place and that our team has been able to surprise you with a personal and helpful service. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    244
    66
    22
    20
See reviews for
326
888
67
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

A recent visit to Hotel Botanico was disappointing because the weather was absolutely awful. About four hours sunshine in 7 days. After we had booked some friends told us to expext poorer weather in that part of Tenerife but we hoped the hotel described as one of the leading hotels of the world would have some bad weather entertainment such as modern films or such like in the event of prolonged poor weather but no such luck. We visited the sate owned botanical garden next to the hotel and a little clearer. The site was chosen from all of Spain because it is wet and warm. It has annual rainfall of 371.9mm and relative humidity of 70%. Now we realised why perhaps we had rain. The hotel had a good supply of umbrellas which is perhaps another clue but the surroundings outside the hotel grounds were very run down and a bit ugly. Plenty of cheap shops and run down food places. A venture into Puerto de la Cruz proved no better with black rock and sand beaches and an overwhelming smell of sewerage from the vastly overdeveloped sea front multi storey apartment blocks. Sorry Tenerife - back to Madeira for us in future

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We always endeavor to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, but unfortunately there are circumstances beyond our control, such as the very unusual weather you experienced during your stay. Tenerife, and especially Puerto de la Cruz, are known for having one of the best climates in the whole world and the usual temperature at this time of the year is around 22ºc – 24ºc. Tenerife is called the island of eternal spring and indeed the temperatures are always mild due to its location on the coast of the island. As a volcanic island, the natural beaches are black sand ones, which is one of the highlights of the island along with its culture, gastronomy and idiosyncrasy of its people.
We very much regret that you could not enjoy the bright skies and warm temperatures that characterize the Canary islands during the all year, but assure you that this was exceptional and would be delighted to welcome you again on the island, and especially at Hotel Botánico, sometime in a near future in order to prove the excellence of our destination and of our hotel facilities.

Yours sincerely.
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Yet again the staff - many of whom we have known for years - work hard to ensure our stay is 5*.
The breakfasts, the Spa, the gardens and the service exceed that we experience elsewhere. We were looked after from the moment we arrive at the entrance to when we left in the taxi to return to the airport. Each visit see some improvements and we hope and expect next time we will see more.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool & gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear David,

We would like to thank you for sharing your complimentary words with us here on Tripadvisor regarding your latest stay at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. We are glad to hear how satisfied you are with the service provided by our staff. We will definitely share your wonderful words with the team. It is always a great motivation to receive such nice compliments. Once again we would like to thank you for your motivating words regarding your experience. Your loyalty is highly appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you will visit us again. We are all looking forward to your next stay at Hotel Botanico.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from the Hotel Botanico after a six night stay. The general decor and ambience met our expectations but there were a few disappointments. Upon arrival which was late at 20.30pm we found a bottle of spakling wine and a chocolate cake in the room to mark my husband's special birthday. A very nice touch. However we would hardly want to start eating chocolate cake at that time of night when we had to rush to shower and get ready for dinner. We thought it was a shame that the cake was not covered over for hygiene reasons as it had obviously been there for quite a few hours.There was no room in the tiny fridge for it which was crammed with miniature bottles. The breakfasts had a magnificent choice of cold meats and cakes and wonderful bread but sadly the cooked food was not of English taste. The bacon was streaky and very fatty and undercooked as were the sausages. Since I don't eat eggs I could not partake of the omelettes which did look good.Like most English people I prefer lean back bacon and crispy well cooked sausages and usually enjoy a kipper when in a top hotel.. We only ate at The Oriental restuarant on our first night and found the food to be exceptional but the service not so good! We waited ages to be served and given a menu and were seated near to the serving hatch and open cooking area not a location I would have chosen on my husband's very special birthday. We also had to waylay and chase the manager to order a drink as none were offered! We expected to be shown a wine list or told what wine was available but instead were given a white wine and had to ask what it was. Strange in a five star hotel we thought. We ordered another glass of the same later, but were given a totally different wine! Both wines were very pleasant it has to be said, but that is hardly the point. We did not eat in the hotel again as we felt the prices were not justified when there are some excellent restuarants nearby at half the price.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.Our room was lovely although the sliding wardrobe doors that kept catching on the built in drawers started to agravate after a while. The lights were very poor to read by. There was some very pleasant entertainment in the evenings. Overall a very genteel hotel which seemed to reflect a bygone age.Wonderful spa and pools and excellent putting green.

Room Tip: fourth floor have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Marion,

We highly appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay. We would like to give you our apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and that the high standards we wish to offer have not been to your full expectations. Your comment is very much valued and we will analyze your considerations to improve on the necessary points. It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our exclusive services, unique facilities and that our attentive staff has contributed to make of your stay a good experience. Once again we feel sorry we have not been able to offer you a perfect experience, but we hope you give us another opportunity to show you the improvements we make day by day thanks to our customers feedback.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed for a week in Jan before going on a cruise, wish we had done it the other way round as this was way way better than the the ship, a superb hotel with character and elegance beautiful gardens and a magnificent spa, this is the place to switch off completely. Located about a 20/30 minute walk from the centre which is downhill so the less mobile would need to use the shuttle bus and opposite the Botanical gardens [ worth a visit ] would go again tomorrow, I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your friendly words here on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. It is a great pleasure to read we have been able to provide you a pleasant stay, with special attention to our exclusive spa facilities. It is a delight to read so great opinions, as they are what we are trying to achieve we our hard work. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future at Hotel Botánico.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I took my girlfriend tonthe botanico for her birthday, from the moment we got out the car we were greated by the bell boy and he was so plesant and welcoming, from the moment we walked through the door we were greated by the reception staff with a refreshing cold drink, the staff were fantastic and check in was quick and simple, the room was amazing and the had made the room special for my girlfriends birthday doves made in towels and sweets and flowers, the spar was fantastic all round ! Food the next morning was beautiful and fresh, we were treated like royalty from the moment we got there to the moment we left. Thats my 3rd stay there and just gets better. I would recomend this hotel to everyone and great value for money. Thank you to all the staff there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excelent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stueyt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your trust in our hotel and for taking the time and effort to write your friendly comments about your stay. It is an honor for us that you have decided to visit us again for such a special occasion as your girlfriends birthday. We are very glad that our excellent team of staff has contributed to your wonderful experience at our hotel. We will make sure your compliments will be shared with the whole team. Thank you for mentioning many great aspects of our hotel, as they are vital to make each of our guests stays an unforgettable experience. The entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden is already looking forward to your next visit.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed recently at this hotel. I was surprised that the hotel is considered a 5* and that is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. The hotel is very dated and it might have been a 5* facility when it was built but no more. The rooms are relatively small - at least the one that we stayed in on the second floor with a mountain view- and relatively crammed. We had a couple of large suitcases with us that could not be fitted in the wardrobe and there was not enough space in the room for them. The pulic areas of the hotel are also in need of a serious renovation as they also appear cery dated.
We considered using one of the two european restaurants during our stay but we found them rather expensive. This does not really matter as thereare a lot of options immediately outside the hotel and a little bit further afield.
There are of course a number of positives aout the hotel including its maginfecent spa and its glorious gardens. However during our visit the inddor jacuzzi was terribly cold and both the steam and sauna rooms were not functioning properly. I would say that the whole spa needs some attention as it really is a very special place. We particlarly liked the aromatherapy grotto.
The staff are very well trained although we felt that they recognise very well the hotel limitations and the fact that its is so antiquated. A couple of our requests could not really be met ecause of the hotel limitations. It seems that the satff were very embarassed about this.
The hotel caters mainly for a much older clientelle who would be comfortable with what is on offer. Hip is certainly not a term I would use for this hotel.
I suspect that when the hotel was built in the 70s it was really a majectic property. It has failed to move with times and it has now been surpassed by sevarl new properties on the island. It is currently too expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: Most rooms are small so you might wish to upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JordieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your comments, both positive and negative, as they motivate and encourage us to work even harder in our continuous efforts of overcoming to be leader on Tripadvisor.
We take your comments very seriously and have therefore read your report carefully. I would like to inform you that we have different room types at our guests’ disposal and although being good sized, our deluxe room clearly did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to suggest you to visit our web site to find more information about our other room categories. I am sure that you will find the appropriate choice in one of our Ambassador Suites or in one of our Penthouse Suites, recently renovated. We would also be very happy to send you our luxury brochure to the address you would provide, if you wish us to do so.
We would also like to thank for your comments towards our staff, which we will forward them, as this also reinforces our motivation to work in the same line in order to maintain our usual high quality standards in our service and throughout our facilities. We regret not being aware of your wishes and preferences during your stay if order to find the best solution to warrant you a comfortable stay and are sorry to know that you find our hotel dated. Indeed it was built in the 70’s but has been totally renovated on three occasions since then and enlarged with the more recent and several times awarded The Oriental Spa Garden. The ambitious renovation policy of this Company, in our aim to keep updated and moving on with times, is one of our most valued factors by our customers and the loyalty of a great majority supports our conviction to be in the right direction. We would be very honored to welcome you again sometime in a not too distant future to ascertain the high quality standards we are known for.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
701 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing