We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have been in the hotel for almost a week. Our room was big and the bath spacious. The room was looking over the swimming pool and garden and facing Teide mountain. The view from the room was beautiful.
The decor was very nice, and all though it was classic and a little old fashioned, it did not Iook old or too used . On the contrary, it looked as if a lot of thought and work were employed. It was a very convenient and inviting room to come back to at the end of the day (or the middle of it). This is also true concerning the public areas and the hotel gardens.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They really made an effort to help with our questions or requests as soon as possible.

Breakfast was one of the richest that I've encountered. There was something for every taste. Actually, much more than something.

We ate in one of the hotel restaurants (Papagallo) only once. It was OK, not something to write home about. The price was higher than in a good restaurant outside. (Bambi gourmet is recommended).

To sum it up- it is a great hotel to stay in. Dinner - better eat someplace else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

In the name of The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden team, I want to thank you for making such wonderful review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. Your feedback will be highly considered in order to improve our restaurants services, as with the individual experience of each customer we improve. Thank you for your kind words regarding our excellent team, we will inform them all about your compliments. It will be a pleasure to have you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Today is our last full day and we will be sad to leave. The hotels best asset is the staff. They are super friendly and helpful. All three restaurants are great, full a la carte menu even for half board. The best is the Oriental restaurant, amazing Thai food!! The spa is wonderful, the outdoor pool probably slighlty cooler than desired. There also seem to be a lack of sunbeds. However, the spa and hotel are in a beautiful setting. This hotel seems to attract an older clientele, but its perfect for a relaxing retreat!

Room Tip: Get a suite - lovely large rooms!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James19832012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor, on your last day at our hotel. We are very happy that you appreciate all our services, but we specially enjoy to read that you feel our staff is the most important part of our hotel, we also believe it. We try to reach the highest standars in every single aspect, and your feedback will be taken into consideration to improve the quality. We appreciate your positive feedback and it will be a pleasure to meet you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The decor is very relaxing and charming. The views from the windows are spectacular. The rooms are spacious and very cosy. The lobby is very inviting and pleasant. The gardens are a delight. The breakfast is hearty and with a great variety of tasty choices. The turn-down service is a treat with delicious perlins. And, if you want to shed a few extra calories due to breakfast or perlins - you have a nice gym and a pool.
In short - an excellent place to have a vacation!

Room Tip: Take floor #4 -excellent view without the extra cost of top floor (#5)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haimkupershmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are very please to find out that we achieved the expectations you had on us, and that you enjoyed our spa, restaurants and pool. We try to reach the highest standars in every single aspect. Once again we would like to thank you for your marvelous words regarding our establishment and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hotel Botanico a wonderful place to relax,gardens superb, facilities fantastic,staff extremely helpful and polite sometimes the service in the bar area a little slow but really not that important because you are on holiday.We had ambassador junior suite with sea view,really nice the room was spotless staff in this area absolutely fantastic room attended to twice a day,maid really nice couldn't do enough as was reception staff and the staff in the spa area.New Year party very enjoyable considering the amount of people extremely well organised.The breakfast was first class plenty of varied food to suit every taste if you were not satisfied with this you must be from another planet,a wonderful experience would definitely visit again.WELL DONE BOTANICO

Room Tip: Junior Ambassador Suite with sea view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyncutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing Hotel Botánico to enjoy the last days of 2013. We are delighted to read, you enjoyed your stay and that our team has pleased you during your whole stay, providing you an excellent service. It is a pleasure to read you liked our facilities and that our cuisine has been to your liking. Your advices and review will be very useful for us and for future guest. Once again we would like to thank you for your marvelous words regarding our establishment and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a really beautiful hotel in a lovely location. It is an hour, or so, from the Tenerife South airport but it is perfectly situated in relation to the town of Puerto de la Cruz. A pleasant walk albeit hilly although there is a good hotel shuttle bus service as well.

The hotel is very grand looking. We possibly felt it was a bit old fashioned looking but then we have a very modern house; everyone's tastes are different. It was spotless though, both the public areas and the bedrooms.

Check in was flawless.

We are used to having a suite when we are away and, it seems, for a family of four, there are none big enough. We had interconnecting rooms. They were both of an okay size. Not as big as we would have liked but not tiny. Two single beds pushed together for the adults. There is a nice balcony though. Bathroom was also okay. Shower over the bath rather than a separate cubicle.

Breakfasts were fine. Fairly standard for a five star hotel, nothing spectacular. The food in generally was disappointing. The Italian style restaurant, room service and lunch time menu are all perfectly acceptable but not great. We did love the Spanish/Mediterranean restaurant.

The Bar Hall is a lovely place to sit with good entertainment on in the evening. The cocktails were never excellent, but again, fine.

The one swimming pool that is available for children does not get the sun until 11. Maybe that's just because of the time of year. There are not enough sunbeds but maybe it was an exceptionally busy time. There wasn't much sunbed bagging so that was good.

The staff are all very friendly. Most's English wasn't great but then neither is my Spanish.......

The New Year Gala dinner was excellent. The food was amazing. Really, really good. As was the entertainment. The children were catered for too with the kids' club running from 8-1.

Nonetheless, we were not that impressed with the kids' club in general. The girl that was generally there was usually on her own regardless of how many children there were and the ages. She was excellent and tried her very best. However, it meant that she either had to take a child to the toilet leaving others unsupervised or the children had to go to the toilet themselves. The toilets were a good 30m away from the room. The door was usually open and the signing in and out process was lax. A rigid system was just not in place. I realise that this is a free service and it is our choice the leave the children but still, not what I expect from a five star hotel.

This, together with my other points, makes me believe that while the hotel do accommodate children, they do not actively cater for them. This is a shame as it is a nice hotel.

We did have a lovely holiday and it was very relaxing. The spa area and pools are idyllic. It is just possibly not quite what we were looking for. For someone without children, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Botanico for your stay in Tenerife and for taking the time to make a so extensive review about your visit. Your feedback will be highly considered in order to improve our services, as we try to offer families a great experience during their holidays at our hotel. It is wonderful to see that our team was able offer you a good service and that has been always useful, but we will keep improving our communication tools. We hope you give us another chance in the future to show you how we improve thanks to your words.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Have spent a week in the hotel, and excellent is not enough to describe the experience. Exceeded all expectations!. Friendly staff, great atmosphere, the food is great, wonderful gardens and spa facilities, lots of activities, and every night the hotel has great and variated entertainment. The new- year party that was wonderful, great dinner and attended by a great orchestra and flameco group. The best party!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Kennet,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review, about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our New Year party and that the orchestra and flameco group were to your liking. All our staff strives for excellence, we try to have a service at the level of our facilities and it is great to see that they were helpful during your whole stay. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel. Rooms, service and breakfast all great, however I agree with the other comment that the restaurants let the hotel down. Food is nothing special with 5star hotel prices. There is a very nice restaurant down the street on the left side from the hotel. For the same price you get excellent dishes. Also in the mornings, I would recommend the pool attendant to prepare all the towels before people start to come out to the pool area. It is painful to see his unnecessary runs like a "headless chicken". In other "Leading" or any other hotels really - they get the piles of towels ready to be used, not just 5 that are gone in 30 sec.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Olena,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. Your advices will be deeply considered to improve our services, we learn with every guest experience and your points of view are very interesting. We feel proud of having been able to offer you a good vacational experience, but we know we have to keep improving. For the Hotel Botanico staff it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
798 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 59 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $209 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing