We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for older couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Angus
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for older couple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a really beautiful hotel in a lovely location. It is an hour, or so, from the Tenerife South airport but it is perfectly situated in relation to the town of Puerto de la Cruz. A pleasant walk albeit hilly although there is a good hotel shuttle bus service as well.

The hotel is very grand looking. We possibly felt it was a bit old fashioned looking but then we have a very modern house; everyone's tastes are different. It was spotless though, both the public areas and the bedrooms.

Check in was flawless.

We are used to having a suite when we are away and, it seems, for a family of four, there are none big enough. We had interconnecting rooms. They were both of an okay size. Not as big as we would have liked but not tiny. Two single beds pushed together for the adults. There is a nice balcony though. Bathroom was also okay. Shower over the bath rather than a separate cubicle.

Breakfasts were fine. Fairly standard for a five star hotel, nothing spectacular. The food in generally was disappointing. The Italian style restaurant, room service and lunch time menu are all perfectly acceptable but not great. We did love the Spanish/Mediterranean restaurant.

The Bar Hall is a lovely place to sit with good entertainment on in the evening. The cocktails were never excellent, but again, fine.

The one swimming pool that is available for children does not get the sun until 11. Maybe that's just because of the time of year. There are not enough sunbeds but maybe it was an exceptionally busy time. There wasn't much sunbed bagging so that was good.

The staff are all very friendly. Most's English wasn't great but then neither is my Spanish.......

The New Year Gala dinner was excellent. The food was amazing. Really, really good. As was the entertainment. The children were catered for too with the kids' club running from 8-1.

Nonetheless, we were not that impressed with the kids' club in general. The girl that was generally there was usually on her own regardless of how many children there were and the ages. She was excellent and tried her very best. However, it meant that she either had to take a child to the toilet leaving others unsupervised or the children had to go to the toilet themselves. The toilets were a good 30m away from the room. The door was usually open and the signing in and out process was lax. A rigid system was just not in place. I realise that this is a free service and it is our choice the leave the children but still, not what I expect from a five star hotel.

This, together with my other points, makes me believe that while the hotel do accommodate children, they do not actively cater for them. This is a shame as it is a nice hotel.

We did have a lovely holiday and it was very relaxing. The spa area and pools are idyllic. It is just possibly not quite what we were looking for. For someone without children, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Botanico for your stay in Tenerife and for taking the time to make a so extensive review about your visit. Your feedback will be highly considered in order to improve our services, as we try to offer families a great experience during their holidays at our hotel. It is wonderful to see that our team was able offer you a good service and that has been always useful, but we will keep improving our communication tools. We hope you give us another chance in the future to show you how we improve thanks to your words.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    244
    66
    22
    20
See reviews for
327
888
67
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Have spent a week in the hotel, and excellent is not enough to describe the experience. Exceeded all expectations!. Friendly staff, great atmosphere, the food is great, wonderful gardens and spa facilities, lots of activities, and every night the hotel has great and variated entertainment. The new- year party that was wonderful, great dinner and attended by a great orchestra and flameco group. The best party!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Kennet,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review, about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our New Year party and that the orchestra and flameco group were to your liking. All our staff strives for excellence, we try to have a service at the level of our facilities and it is great to see that they were helpful during your whole stay. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel. Rooms, service and breakfast all great, however I agree with the other comment that the restaurants let the hotel down. Food is nothing special with 5star hotel prices. There is a very nice restaurant down the street on the left side from the hotel. For the same price you get excellent dishes. Also in the mornings, I would recommend the pool attendant to prepare all the towels before people start to come out to the pool area. It is painful to see his unnecessary runs like a "headless chicken". In other "Leading" or any other hotels really - they get the piles of towels ready to be used, not just 5 that are gone in 30 sec.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Olena,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. Your advices will be deeply considered to improve our services, we learn with every guest experience and your points of view are very interesting. We feel proud of having been able to offer you a good vacational experience, but we know we have to keep improving. For the Hotel Botanico staff it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Botanico seems like more of a resort than a hotel. I wish I had an opportunity to enjoy all of the activities the hotel had to offer, such as Tai Chi and Yoga. But I did enjoy the free cake hour.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and did everything they could to make my stay comfortable. I loved the bowl of fresh fruit in my room.

The room was big enough that I didn't feel cramped. There was plenty of room to walk around. My room also had a comfortable deck with a pretty view of downtown and the ocean. The bed was excellent.

I didn't sample any of the dinner restaurants in the hotel. I much preferred the cozy atmosphere of the local restaurants that are across the street from the Botanical Gardens. But I did eat breakfast at the hotel, and they had a great selection of delicious food at the buffet, which was included with the price of the room. I loved the little aviary that the hotel has in the center of the breakfast area.

The bar lounge was very comfortable for drinking or just reading. The service was excellent, although the lounge was never busy while I was there. After 8 the lounge offers live entertainment.

My review wouldn't be complete without mentioning the spa, which is included in the name of the hotel. The gym and spa were included in the price of my room, but treatments are extra. The gym had a nice selection of modern treadmills, bikes, and nautilus equipment. There is also plenty of room inside the gym if you want to stretch or do sit-ups. Alternatively, you could stretch in the group exercise room if there are no group classes going on, such as the previously mentioned Yoga and Tai Chi. The rooms are beautiful, and you can choose from 5 or so relaxing music channels to pipe into the room.

The spa was very large and beautiful, with plenty to choose from, including a sauna, steam room, laconium, and aroma therapy room. The indoor jacuzzi and pool were tepid at best. I didn't try the outdoor pool.

One of the few downsides is the location. The hotel is a short walk from the Botanical Gardens, but other than that, I had to take a shuttle or taxi to get to the beach or to shopping. Fortunately, they do have a shuttle which runs to the downtown shopping area fairly regularly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Botanico for your stay in Tenerife and for taking the time to make a so extensive and interesting review about your visit. Your feedback will be highly considered in order to improve our services, and we hope in your next visit you can try an tell us your opinion about the rest of the hotel services. All our staff strive for excellence, we try to have a service at the level of our facilities and it is great to see that they were helpfull during your stay. Once again we would like to thank you for your marvelous words regarding our establishment and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

A really lovely hotel. This is one of the' leading hotels' group, and the hotel and grounds are beautiful and comfortable. In particular staff are unfailingly patient and helpful. How sad then that two of the three in- house restaurants let the hotel down. The consistency in the quality of the food was not what we would have expected from a 5* hotel, and let down the staff who were trying to give good service to their customers. As an example, on one occasion we had to wait for an hour between the serving of the 1st and main course, and the steaks were not cooked as requested. Other customers experienced the same problems.The extremely energetic manager of this particular restaurant was not on duty that night, and it showed! On another occasion, in another of the restaurants, the sweet courses were truly dreadful. The response to our complaint- 'the chef is awaiting the birth of a baby boy- how wonderful- and as you are half board, no redress!' Bed and Breakfast only if we go again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Ros,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. It is great to read you have a relaxing stay, and that our team has been able to offer you a good experience. We feel sorry that our restaurants services have not achieve the high standars of the rest of the stay. We will work hard to improve our culinary offer, that according to your review is our weakest point. We would like to thank again for your review and your advices, they will be very useful to us. As we have said, it would be a pleasure to see you again in a near future, and we hope you give another chance to our restaurants.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We love 'The Hotel Botanico' & have very fond memories of many happy holidays there - they have friendly loyal staff of many years standing - Its a bit sad to see the hotel not as busy & bustling as it was say ten years ago - The Spa is lovely, the gardens are wonderful, the rooms are a bit small for todays traveller & have quite expensive rates, maybe this is why the hotel is not attacting new business !

Room Tip: Room 218 overlooking the town although in the shade is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Pamela,

In the name of our team, I want to thank you for sharing your kind words on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoy your stay, and that it has been as good as your previous. We put special atention to our guest reviews and comments, and yours will not be an exception, we will deeply consider your point of view to improve our quality. It will be a pleasure and an honor to welcome you again in the future, so you could see the improves we made day by day.

Best regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We came to Tenerife to board the WIND SURF for a 14-day voyage to St. Maarten; we spent three nights at this property, and it is truly a superb hotel. Every aspect of the hotel was beautiful...the lobby, our room, each of the restaurants, and the Oriental Spa Garden was beyond description in its' serenity and beauty. The gym, as with all of the public areas was very thoughtfully equipped. We loved the location, with blocks and blocks of interesting shops and restaurants virtually outside the front door.
Every aspect of the hotel was perfect; it is well worth a visit to this island, if only to enjoy all that this property has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTDEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderfull review, about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read, you enjoyed your three days stay at Hotel Botanico and that you would like to visit us again in the future. It is a pleasure to read you liked our facilities and that you have occasion to tried all our restaurants. Your advices and review will be very usefull for future guest and tripadvisor users, and for the Hotel Botanico staff it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing