We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The beautiful Hotel Botanico ticked all the boxes and delivered on every level.....we spent the most delightful 10 days relishing every relaxing minute from start to finish. A big thank you to the very professional team of staff who made the whole holiday so special.....we felt very pampered and can't wait to return to this exceptional location !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunseekerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Tenerife. We are glad you find all our services of a high quality and that our staff has been to your linking. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and it will be a great honor to welcome you once again.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

From our arrival after 9 on a Saturday night when we were greeted with smiling welcomes and a glass of fresh orange juice we knew our return to this hotel in the north lush green area of Tenerife was a wise decision to escape the cold of England.
Nothing seems to be too much trouble and after our first night on rather tired and weary mattresses our complaint was met with a genuine apology and replacement of those mattresses within 5 minutes. We slept well thereafter.
The service at the main pool was exemplary, with loungers and towels being brought to us in an area away for the pool within the beautiful gardens. Even English afternoon tea was smilingly brought to us.
We could go on but suffice it to say that the staff training here is clearly of an extremely high standard and the management could well utilise this skill to train other businesses.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toptoothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your confidence in our services, as this has been your second stay at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. Thank you for pointing out our staff service, as we believe it is one of our strongest points. We try to reach the highest standars in every single aspect but our staff, is with out doubt, the main element of every great stay. Once again we want to apologize for the circunstaces of your first night, but we are glad to read that this was succesfully corrected in a short period.

We would like to thank you once again for your remarkable words and we hope to see you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A lovely, clean and relaxing hotel. Good food (though breakfast processes could be improved) at reasonable prices. It seems to have v good service for a Spanish hotel with well trained and eager staff. A beautiful spa area is a welcome respite from the families around the main pool. Both are clean and well maintained. Rooms are well serviced and comfortable with nice touches. My wife appreciated her surprise birthday cake...!! Tennis and golf good fun. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in Tenerife. We are glad you find all our services of a high quality and that our staff has been to your linking. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and it will be a great honor to welcome you once again.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is a quality property with great staff.
Our welcome was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was an extensive buffet catering for the. Variety of nationalities staying here.the waiting staff are mostly older Spanish speaking people. They move at a cracking pace but take some time for pleasantries.
The lounges, library and pool area are all a bit "twee". A bit like sitting in your Great Aunt's chintz house, but it is meant to have the ambience of a Spanish colonial house with an Asian feel. All feels slightly mish mash and not quite pulled together as an interior design theme. But clean, efficient and decor doth not a holiday make.
Our Ambassador suite was similarity chintzy but with all amenities and in perfect working order. Great size, good beds, bath, shower and double balcony. Very nice.
Thee gardens are extensive and really delightful for a stroll.
The Spa is really of a high standard. Adult only which is great when you want to get away from little ones on hols. Had my years of being the one with the crying baby by the pool, so cannot complain about the new generation. But the twenty /thirty something's now will one day write a review thankful there is a child free zone in their hotel. There is also no smoking in the spa and for me that is a great thing.

The immediate are outside the hotel is a fairly upmarket suburban feeling area catering to German tourists and I suspect an ex pat community of retires. It has a very grey haired and calm feel to it. Felt at home! Grey not German!

I would certainly return. Final thought, all staff have been lovely and friendly.

Room Tip: The sea view is not great in that you cannot see the beach and therefore just open sea. I personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluediamondtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Tenerife. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Botanico, and we are glad to read that you find all our services to your linking. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we will certainly share this with the rest of the team that will be encouraged by your remarks. We really hope there will be another chance to have you here soon.

With best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Botanico from mid-January to mid-February and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our idea was to relax and unwind. The Botanico was so successful in enabling us to achieve our objective that despite our intention to immediately post a laudatory review, I have only sat down to write this in April!
There are many good things about the Botanico, but the staff must be top of my list. This is a big hotel, with a large number of staff, but we found them to be a great mix of old-fashioned professionals and eager young trainees.
The Botanico is an old style Grande Luxe hotel, with spacious public areas and comfortable bedrooms. We greatly enjoyed the buffet breakfasts, the Thai Restaurant and the Mediterranean Restaurant. We were less keen on the Poolside Cafe and the Spanish Restaurant, but that was probably down to our personal tastes and the Botanico has so many facilities that all can be satisfied.
The gardens are splendid and the pool attendants were first rate, so much so that we were happy to spend more days in the hotel than elsewhere on the island. We also made a number of new friends amongst our fellow guests, some of whom had been returning to the Botanico several times per year for over a decade.
Of course not everything was perfect. My wife had a couple of issues with the Spa, but these were resolved without dispute by the excellent public relations lady.
This is not in any way a beer, disco and casino establishment, but we can thoroughly recommend the Botanico for the more mature traveller. We shall certainly be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool have the sun most of the day. Great in the winter months, but they ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen The Hotel Botanico to spend your holidays. We appreciate your positive comments and we are glad to read that your expectations have been achieved. It is great to read a so complete review, that shows at the same time the strongest points of the hotel, and that offers us some aspects we have to improve to reach a perfect service. For the entire team of The Hotel Botanico will be great to have you as guest in a near future .

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

In March my husband and I came for a 6 day winter break to the Hotel Botanico. After a few days my husband was admitted to A&E in Santa Cruz hospital with heart failure where he remained for a further 2 weeks. In the meantime I extended my stay at the hotel and visited him daily by bus. All of the hotel staff were very attentive and understanding, and treated me like family in a situation where I would have been feeling thoroughly alone in a foreign country. When my husband returned from hospital, it was my birthday and I was delighted to find roses on my bed, a bucket of champagne and the most sublime chocolate cake I have ever tasted in the fridge.
It was the most relaxing and attractive environment to be in, with the beautiful gardens and spa area and the breakfasts were an absolute feast. But most of all, the staff are outstanding in their level of attention. We would love to return under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 201CarolineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Caroline,

First of all the entire team of The Hotel Botanico wants to tell you that has been a pleasure to have you as guests and that we hope that your husband is entirely recover. It is been a shame that you have suffer under these circunstances, but it full us that you felt a little better with our staff help and caring. We hope you can visit us in a near future and enjoy of a realy wonderful stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent three days at the Hotel Botanico...From start to finish, the experience was fantastic, leaving us with a longing to go back straight away and enjoy the service, the location, the three amazing restuarants and the genuine quality of service received by the staff.

Spain and the "Islas Canarias" doesn´t have a reputation for having good service. Often you are completely ignored or left to wait for hours on end. This is not the case with the staff here. They have obviously been highly trained and it has a massive knock on effect in terms of the whole experience.

My partner and I specifically enjoyed the atmosphere in and around the spa. The pool there was fantastic and the general relaxing atmosphere was exactly what we needed.

The Hotel is relatively well priced for the service and accommodation received. The breakfast in the morning is excellent.

I will definately be coming back. To have a hotel, location, resort, climate with this level of tranquility and service within a stones through of mainland europe is a blessing. Thanks a lot Botanico and see you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavideMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear David,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your friendly and extensive feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have been very satisfied with our exclusive services and complementary attentions.

Thank you for pointing out many great aspects like the excellence of our cuisine and gastronomy, our personal service and the relaxing pool area, we trully believe your comments will be very usefull to other TripAdvisor users. We are grateful that with our consistent drive for excellence, quality and guest satisfaction we have been able to provide a great stay at Tenerife.

We would like to thank you once again for your remarkable words and we hope to see you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
25.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
24.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#1 of 5 in La Caleta
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
847 reviews
25.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $193 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing