We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel with Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a 5 day holiday in February with only 5 hours of sun so we spent more time in the Hotel than you would normally. I felt that there was no other Hotel in the world that could have anything that the Botanico didn't have! And how many could boast parrots flying wild in their tropical forest gardens, fruit filled banana trees, the biggest Coi Carp you have ever seen in the ponds, amazing views of the sea at the front and Mount Teide at the back. etc etc Full marks for luxury, fine dining, friendly staff, immaculate Spa, clean clean clean everywhere, live music most days in the lounge including an amazing guitarist. Nothing was overpriced. Nothing was missing. Brilliant atmosphere, and there was so much choice for breakfast you didn't need lunch!Well done Botanico. Wish I could afford to go back!

Room Tip: They are all excellent as far as I could tell
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay here at The Hotel Botánico. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and even more on this occasion that during your trip have not have good weather. Thank you for praising the live music of our hotel as excellent.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and on behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay with us.

It would be a great honor to welcome you once again in our establishment.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

A wonderful hotel,very spacious everywhere, with staff who are all extremely welcoming and helpful. Bedroom very comfortable, breakfast excellent, and food in all the restaurants very tasty with a good choice, we enjoyed La Parrilla especially. Nice roomy lounge bar area with entertainment nightly. Also made use of the spa facilities,a very enjoyable experience. Situated in a nice part of town, easy 20 minute walk downtown, taxi back only 4 euros if preferred to the uphill return hike. All in all an outstanding hotel,hope to return before long.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Keith,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripavisor with the rest of the community. We are glad to read you have enjoyed the excellent service and attention of our restaurants. With various restaurants, each with their own specialty, we try to indulge our guests with authentic and delicious cuisine prepared with great effort by our chefs. Thank you for recommending La Parrilla.

We are very pleased we have been able to meet your expectations in every way and we hope to welcome again soon.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were informed the day before we were due to arrive at this hotel that they had overbooked by 40 rooms & we would be allocated elsewhere for the first 3 days (of a 7 day holiday)! We had booked & paid 2 months before so effectively the hotel were in breach of their contract with us & did not deliver their 5 star ranking in handling the matter. We had been so looking forward to a very relaxing break since my husband's stroke last May but It was a most disruptive week & certainly not relaxing! In 45 years of travelling round the world this has been our most disappointing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LucindaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Lucinda,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your opinion on Trip-advisor. We always endeavour to fulfil the wishes and expectations of our guests and if this has not been the case, we would be most obliged if you kindly contact us either by e-mail or by telephone in order to clarify the situation personally.

We would be very honoured to welcome you at our hotel in a near future in order to ascertain the high standards we always endeavour to maintain in the service we offer and throughout all our facilities.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent ten nights at this hotel - our first time in the North of Tenerife. At first we were not sure if it was for us, but we grew into it! The hotel is comfortable, the service overall is good, and the staff are very caring. We were a little disappointed with the size of our room and bathroom - we had expected better for a hotel of this calibre. But the housekeeping was excellent.
It was quite warm during our visit, and despite being told the rooms had aircon when we booked, and despite the hotel boasting of a state-of-the-art system, when we arrived we were told the aircon is not used at this time of year, only heating, and we would have to open the patio doors if we were too warm. We thought this was ridiculous.
The spa was an unexpected bonus - from not being sure whether we would use it, we became firm fans. The pilates, yoga, tao stretching and spine exercise classes were all excellent, and the actual spa facilities were the best I have ever known, all included with our room.
As the weather in the North is not always reliable, it was a huge plus to have the spa to escape to at any time, from 8 a.m. to 8 pm. The spa outdoor pool is lovely, and the whole area is child free.
The breakfasts had everything you could wish for, and it was great to sit outside on the terrace in the sun most mornings.
The gardens are an absolute delight, with lakes and black swans. It is also possible to have sunbeds amongst the greenery, set up by willing staff, if you fancy a change from the pool areas.
We did not eat in the restaurants, preferring to go out each evening to explore, but we did have a very nice lunch one day when the weather was bad.
The location of the hotel allows exploration for places to eat, and you can walk into town in 15 minutes or so. We were told the walk back was very tough (uphill) but we did do it a couple of times with no problems. There is a courtesy bus which we also used sometimes.
The evening entertainment was average, although the two floor shows we saw, one Canarian and one Flamencan, were excellent.
The bar staff were delightful, friendly and professional.
We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing Teidi and the gardens, to catch the sun, and were glad that we did.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RidleyCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to have been your choosen hotel for your first stay at the north of Tenerife. We are happy to read that your stay has been to your liking and that you are already thinking in coming back. We have to thank you for a so complete review and we will take into consideration the aspects that during your stay you have notice that we have to improve. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future, and we hope on that occasion you give a try to our restaurants offer.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent a week at this delightful hotel in attractive grounds. We had a deluxe room overlooking the pool and gardens with a distant mountain view. The room was comfortably furnished and appropriately equipped. There was free WIFI with reasonable speed. The bathroom seemed a little tired and dated but was adequate and had the usual supplies. The balcony was a good size.

Public rooms are extensive and well maintained. The service at reception was friendly, efficient and helpful.

There were several fine dining options but we ate, in house, once only and the food and service were good - moderately expensive. Breakfast was excellent - a good choice of hot and cold dishes, pastries etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cricketfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the location, comfortable deluxe room, breakfast and our incredible Team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Do not hesitate to contact us, should you need anything.

Thanks again.

Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are a couple in our 70's and have just had 14 days at the hotel on half board.
The hotel is excellent. Reception staff super and the spa staff top class.
The problems we found were in the restaurants .There are three restaurants, one Thai, one Spanish and one Italian. All have a fixed never changing menu with about four or five main courses. All provide one special for each evening.
On half board one quickly gets fed up with the small selection on the menu but we found that the special were all gone by 7pm- 7.30pm each evening .This is because there is a strict pecking order for dining. The Germans eat about 6pm ,the Dutch, about 6.30pm,the Brits about 7-7.30 pm and the Spanish about 9.30-10pm.This said ,we could not understand why the restaurant s did not anticipate this and provide more specials.
The next problem was the very slow service. This is the main topic of conversation between guests.
We ate one evening in the Oriental and the meal took two and a half hours. We noticed that a manager in full suit and tie ,was overseeing the cooking ,but to no avail . Even the waiters were apologising for the slow service.We were told that the same thing had happened a few days before.
In the Italian restaurant,one couple told us they waited 40 minutes for their dessert. How long does it take to dish out ice-cream?Even the Spanish restaurant,which we thought had the best service, the standard is poor compared to good restaurants in town. The food when it comes is quite nice,but we have certainly had nicer.
All the time we felt slightly uncomfortable .The waiters have a knack of “faffing about” by, for example , resetting tables which are unlikely to be used again,and making sure they do not catch your eye. This whole problem could be solved ,one feels with more staff in the kitchens and a few less but more attentive staff in the restaurants.
So overall a lovely hotel let down somewhat by its restaurants. We would go again but next time weI would go B&B and eat out in nice restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3JMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Botánico for your most recent stay on Tenerife. It has been a pleasure to read that you spent wonderful days here and that you have been very pleased with the services provided by the hotel team. As our restaurants are a big piece of our offer, we will take into consideration your point of view about the service provided, hoping you give our restaurants another oportunity on your next visit so you can see the improves adopted. It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic spa which is included for hotel guests. The spa area is child free and has various facilities to tempt and relax you; indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, steam room, laconium, ice room and aromatherapy room. The whole layout of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff lends itself to a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Jose, one of the waiters in the bar hall is fantastic. We have visited this hotel 3 times now and it is undoubtedly one of my top favourites.
The bedrooms are very nice; fresh flowers in the bathroom and all kept spotlessly clean.
Both the Thai (The Oriental) and the Spanish (La Parilla) restaurants on site are excellent. Much better than you'll find out and about in the resort. We didn't use the Italian this stay.
Evening entertainment consists of various live bands/musicians. Popular with many of the older guests. The bar hall is quite large though so you can sit away from the music if you so prefer.
Overall a great hotel and all 3 visits there have been great. I am sure we will visit again.

Room Tip: Depending on which direction your room faces not all balconies get the sun. I would suggest you stat...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perkinpootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor regarding the Hotel Botánico. It pleased us very much to hear how much you enjoy your stays with us. In addition, we are happy that our staff made you always feel special; our aim is to please. Our intention is that a holiday becomes a lifetime experience and a big part of it is our Spa service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
798 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 59 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $209 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing