We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel may have been a five star 20 years ago but it is very dated today. There was no personality in the service and it felt like the staff were uninterested in guests. We were even turned away for breakfast on a Sunday morning at 10.20 and had to remind the staff member that service was open until 11am. She said she forgot it was Sunday.
The food was average with the Oriental being the best restaurant despite not having fresh chillies (they only use dried).
The spa is definitely good and the highlight of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irishange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback about The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that we did not reach your expectations, we strive to succeed our goals, to ensure all our guests experience a wonderful stay and we did not achieve it in your case. Your opinion is very important for us, because it helps us to improve our services and learn from our mistakes. Thanking you for your time and remaining at your disposal for any further comments or needs.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    244
    66
    22
    20
See reviews for
327
888
67
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived to a warm and efficient welcome from the concierge and receptionist, with a glass of a refreshing fruit drink.

Our room had lovely décor, and was clean and well equipped. Fresh flowers and very high quality toiletries provided an additional touch of luxury in the bathroom. The complementary bottles of mineral water (replenished daily) were much appreciated. The housekeeping, including an evening turndown service, was very good.
Our room had a balcony, and a view of the pool area, and the mountains and Teide.

Everything about the hotel appeared to be of high quality … Even the lifts were exceptionally prompt, and we never had to wait more than a few seconds for a lift to come!
Reception and concierge staff were always helpful (including loaning umbrellas when needed!)
The buffet breakfasts were fabulous.
There was a daily newsletter, available at breakfast in various languages, that gave some news headlines as well as information about what was going on in the hotel.
Our short stay here (3 nights) wasn’t really sufficient to try everything that the hotel had available.

The grounds are very pleasant, but I don't think we saw them at their best due to the weather! We swam (briefly) in both outdoor pools. The only negative was that I thought the main pool should have been a bit cleaner – there were bits of twigs and leaves in it – but I think that was possibly a reflection of the awful rainy weather when we were there as much as a reflection on the pool maintenance.

We ate in two of the restaurants – La Parrilla and The Oriental - and both were excellent.
There was live entertainment in the bar in the evenings, and we really enjoyed this (particularly on two of the three nights – which style of bands you prefer is obviously a matter of personal preference!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It has been indeed our full pleasure and honour, to welcome you and we have to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Botanico and make this wonderfull review. We are delighted and happy to hear that you have been pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team, although in just three days you were not able to try all our services. We are looking forward to welcome you again and surprise you with the treatments of our Oriental Spa Garden, our daily activities and much more you could not try.

Best regards,

Your second house, Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This review is based on a recent visit to Restaurant 'The Oriental' and 'Bar Hall'.
- 'The Oriental'
This is what You can read for example from the web site of the hotel:
''fine-dining restaurant, outstanding service, elegant atmosphere''.
''Dress code for men: shirt with a collar and jacket''.
On a Saturday evening at 8.30 pm the restaurant was almost empty.
We could immediately notice that hardly anyone followed the dress code.
After a male couple (not guests of the hotel) wearing printed T-shirts and light blue jeans were placed in the almost empty restaurant next to us ( all wearing jackets) I most discreetly remarked to 'Madame Restaurant manager' that it was very obvious that their guests couldn't care less about the dress code given by the hotel.
Madame decided that there was no reason to comment my remark.
No outstanding service.
This only shows me that Hotel Botanico is willing to have every single euro they can get from their customers (regardless what it will cost them in the end) and it is of course understandable when the nicest of all their restaurants is
almost empty on a Saturday evening.
You will not see me dining at 'the Oriental' for a while.
- 'Bar Hall'
the only thing I want to comment is the recently upholstered sofas.
In their new black outlook the poor sofas look as if they have been removed from an american funeral home to the bar of a spanish hotel.
Some peach toned cushions could cheer up the sad impression.
By the way, the house band has been uninterruptedly playing 'My Way' for the past twenty years (at least).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThenHePackedAndLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We always endeavour to fulfil the wishes and expectations of our guests, and to maintain the highest standards throughout our services and facilities. Therefore our guests’ feed-back is vital and much appreciated. Being aware of your preferences helps us to improve our service and broadens the hotel’s capability to make our guest’s feel at home and make their stay pleasant and enjoyable.

We kindly ask you to accept my apologies for the fact that some of the guests at the restaurant did not respect and follow the dress code we recommend in order to maintain the elegant atmosphere this restaurant offers. We also apologise for not having reached your expectations with our evening entertainment and the new decoration of the Bar-Hall. Nevertheless, we would like to point out that we have a different live music group performing every night, each one with a very different style and repertoire.

Please rest assured that I take your observations very seriously and will organise a meeting with the staff involved to see what measures could be implemented in order to improve the quality of our service and to make the necessary changes in order to warrant our guests a comfortable stay in our hotel.

We would be very honoured to welcome you again in Tenerife and at the Hotel Botánico sometime in the future.

Yours sincerely, Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spa makes this place totally worth it...thermal circuit and indoor facilities that were best I've seen in a long time.

Hotel was nice, slightly dated interior, but the bathrooms were great and so were the beds...I'd much rather have great beds than anything else!

We only ate breakfast onsite and lunch at the pool. Lunch was better than expected, breakfast was pretty typical euro buffet. I mostly opted for fresh omelettes or pancakes - most everything else was bread, yogurt, or processed meats and cheeses. Some fresh fruit, but not the highest quality that a 5 star might have.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel, rather opted to get out and about. There's good local meals to be had...Toucan around the corner was a family run place with good fresh seafood....lots of tapas places in town, too.

Would definitely stay again - worth every pound/dollar/euro. We stayed at H10 in the south for the other half of our trip and all we wanted was to go back to Botanico!!

Room Tip: Thai massage was one of the best I've ever had. Spa access is the best part of the stay and pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravlr987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

In name of the whole team of the Hotel Botanico we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, it is a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is great to read you liked our Oriental Spa Graden, as we are very proud of it. Our staff works very hard to offer the best treatments and the best relax and beauty advices. We are happy you mention suggestions for improvement, our guests opinions are very important to us, so we can improve our facilities and services, as a way to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here over Christmas 2012. The Botanico is an exxellent hotel set above Puerto de la Cruz near the Botanical Gardens - yet the hotels own gardens rival that of the BG! Very quiet hotel, with excellent service and extremely friendly staff - rarely have I felt more welcome. It is not in the town centre or on the ocean - yet that in itself was welcome as the hotel itself is an oasis. The taxi to the town centre or beach was only 3 euros if you did not use the hotel's free shuttle bus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we wish to thank you for choosing The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden to spend your Christmas. It has been indeed our full pleasure and honour to welcome you on these speciall days. We are delighted and happy to hear that you have been pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team. We are looking forward to seeing you, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your travel experience with the online community on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Your second house, Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the facilities..especially the spa. Our "sea view" room was roomy, clean and comfortable although the balcony got no sunshine at all (so if you want sun opt for the mountain views)We had opted for half board and the big disappointment was the varying quality of food and standard of service. There were three restaurants to choose from. Thai which was fabulous but not always open, one which billed itself as local Canarian and one which had more of an italian/mediteranian theme. The Thai was not open for Christmas Eve so we opted for the italian as we had had a perfectly good meal in there on the previous night from quite an extensive menu. On Christmas Eve the menu was set and comprised very poor offerings including totally tasteless rolled turkey breast that had all the appearance of coming out of a tin. To add insult to injury it appeared to have been pre plated and we observed the chef just heating plates of food as required. You could not fault the service if you had a plane to catch as we were fed and watered in 45 minutes, such was the hurry and disorganisation of the staff we were given the soup course before the starter only to have it whisked away again as we raised our spoons. Other people, however,had the opposite experience and were waiting 30 minutes before anyone even offered them the drinks menu.
Christmas Day was not quite as bad.We went to the Canarian Restaurant but there was by no means anything special about that either.
We did have an excellent meal back in the Thai Restaurant on our last night but that did not really make up for the experiences earlier in the week!
We appreciate that Christmas in Spain may not have quite the same attention as in Northern Europe but given the considerable hike in prices during Christmas week we had not expected the food and service to take such a drop in the opposite direction.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view are sunnier but balconies are overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We take your observations very seriously, and would kindly ask you to accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have suffered in our restaurant and for not having reached your expectations on Christmas Eve. As you could notice on the previous nights and also on Christmas day, this was an exception, as we always receive many compliments regarding our restaurants services, which means that these incidents do not meet our usual standards.

We always endeavour to maintain the highest standards throughout all our facilities. Please rest assured that we have passed your comment to the Maitre as well as to the F & B Manager in order to take the corresponding measures to avoid such incidents in the future and to warrant you a comfortable stay in our hotel in the future.

We would be very honoured to welcome you again at the Hotel Botánico sometime in a near future.

Best regards,

Your second house, Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

we booked a week half board 21st Dec 28th Dec excellent hotel ist night in the thai restaurant excellent food and service,same again in the Italian restaurant nights 2 and 3. The 4th night Christmas Eve as we were going in to dinner at 8 a fellow guest who we had met previously was leaving complaining that nobody had come near them for 30 mins and was very agitated he was being led off to another restaurant by a manager.We waited 12 mins to be seated as we sat down we ordered a bottle of champagne which came immediately.All around people seemed to be at various stages of their 5 course meal but not much sgn of any food.Soup suddenly apeared but that was the 2nd course not 1st which went back, 1st course arrived smoked salmon on extremely stale blinis, 2nd course arrived instanly our green soup with lumps in it,3rd course half melted sorbet 4th course somesort of rolled meat which must have been turkey (using powers of deduction as it was Christmas) .We have now had 4 courses while people around us are stuck in between courses going nowhere.The couple at the next table had ordered some dessert wine it took about 20 mins to come after their dessert. Our dessert arrived some totaly tasteless creation total serving time 40 mins that was our not be missed Christmas Eve special dinner. Christmas day and Boxing no better. The night of the 27th back in the thai restaurant excellent service superb food. The Christmas itinery was given to us when we arrived it read as if all the things on the list ie lunch time bbq, afternoon tea, facial, trips to various places were included in the vastly inflated prices for 24th 25 th 26 th, wrong we didnt get an inclusive drink of water everything was an extra. The moral of the story DO NOT visit this hotel on any of the public holidays you will be be very very disapointed

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We take your observations very seriously, and would kindly ask you to accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have suffered in our restaurant and for not having reached your expectations on Christmas time. We always endeavour to maintain the highest standards throughout all our facilities. Please rest assured that we have passed your comment to the Maitre as well as to the F & B Manager in order to take the corresponding measures to avoid such incidents in the future and to warrant you a comfortable stay in our hotel in the future.

We would be very honoured to welcome you again at the Hotel Botánico sometime in a near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing