We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rishon LeZiyyon, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Very nice hotel.
Very courteous staff.
High-level spa and free of charge. (Excluding treatments).
Varied breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eti d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind contribution, all our staff is working hard to give to our guests the best service and quality. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    244
    66
    22
    20
See reviews for
327
888
67
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our sixth stay at the Botanico,but the first for some years. The hotel has been steadily improved from "very good" to "excellent". In particular the Spa has raised the hotel to a higher level. On a minor point,we were able to watch the Rugby World Cup on the new room TV. The Italian and Spanish Restaurants were very good with excellent service. (We did not use the Thai Restaurant on this occasion). Reception was always very helpful ( Toni in particular). In terms of location, the Botanical Gardens and Loro Parque were as good as ever,but Puerto de la Cruz has not worn well in the last decade.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidValeofGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind contribution, all our staff is working hard to give to our guests the best service and quality. We hope that on your next visit you try the new dishes of Thai Restaurant.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our family of four (2 adults, 2 children aged 8 and 6) stayed at the Botanico at the end of August/beginning of September. This hotel is ideal for a luxury family holiday.

The hotel is beautifully maintained and the gardens are delightful. Children love to take their leftover bread from breakfast to feed the koi fish in the lake. All of the staff are welcoming and greet guests without fail. We bumped into a chef one morning as we strolled around the kitchen herb garden and he immediately started chatting with the children and getting them to smell the different herbs.

We had interconnecting rooms which were ideal for a family. Whilst the rooms aren’t over- large, they are well furnished and make good use of the available space. Cleaning was efficient and a turndown service was provided (complete with chocolate!) Safes are provided free of charge, the mini-bars are large enough to add your own shop-bought drinks and there is an ethernet network connection in each room providing free wired internet access. The hotel prides itself on its environmental friendliness and towels will only be changed if they are dropped in the bath rather than left hanging.

The main pool is a good size and surrounded by plenty of sunbeds. On arriving at the pool each day, we were always brought 2 pool towels each. There was no problem getting sunbeds at any time of the day although the hotel’s occupancy did seem surprisingly low, given the time of year, for much of our stay. However, the pool was colder than it need have been and younger children especially may struggle with the cool temperature. Also, the entire pool is much deeper than it need be and, in particular, the shallow end becomes out of reach for many children – even my own children at 8 and 6 struggled to touch the bottom. It seemed ironic that the adult only pool in the spa area was not only warmer but a much better depth for children – but they weren’t allowed to disturb this peaceful haven.

The key attraction for children over the summer months is the hotel’s Kinder Aventura Kids Club and especially the trips to the nearby Loro Parque. This is normally charged at 30 euros per child, including a packed lunch, but we had 3 free days per child with Sovereign holidays. The ladies who took the kids were great and the kids loved it – they even made us pay for a 4th day! They got to visit many areas of the Parque and touch some of the animals that are normally out of bounds to visitors. Botanico guests were often chosen to take part in the dolphin show too, including my daughter (yes, I was jealous!). For just an extra 6 euros the kids club staff put together a CD with hundreds of photos of my kids’ days at the Parque.

This, of course, gave my husband and I time to try out the spa area. We thoughly enjoyed our visits to the free thermal circuit and also revelled in some massages. Highly recommended!

We did not eat in the hotel restaurants other than for breakfast. The usual 5 star fare, with egg dishes to order, is available – although we did feel the layout could have been better as many similar items were to be found in separate areas. Bar prices reflected the 5 star status too – around 8 euros for 1 large and 1 small beer although the complimentary plate of nuts was welcome.

There are a few shops and restaurants within walking distance. Cafe de Botanico, opposite the botanical gardens, was our most pleasant local find for restaurants at a reasonable price and offered some variation from the normal tourist fare. Magnolia was better than average too but avoid the Zebra. Many of the restaurants in this area have a distinctly German feel. There is a large supermarket in the basement of the commercial centre just up the hill from the hotel. We did take advantage of the courtesy bus service into Puerto de la Cruz a few times – a taxi was 4 euros for the return trip. For above average restaurants (and prices), the streets around Calle el Lomo and Calle Cruz Verde (not far from Plaza del Charco) are worth a look.

Overall,we had an an enjoyable stay. We were kindly allowed to keep on one of our rooms free of charge for an extra four hours to tie in better with our departing flight too. I would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sandsy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your extensive review, all our staff is working hard to give to our guests the best service and quality. We're planning some improvements in the pool area, that we hope you can enjoy, on your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Once again the hotel did not disappoint in terms of its room facilities and the Spa Complex treasures!!

We were however not overly pleased with its Italian eatery but “drooled” over the Thai restaurant. We would just welcome with open arms a rule that says no one may smoke in the entire complex ---- mean I know ---- but that’s how we feel about the habit!!

Make sure you use the Spa to the limit when there and if you want to be pampered you must get a volcanic rock massage ---- it the “bees knees” as we say her in GB.

Staff will make sure you get a good service even if you ask for things late ---- as I did for flowers just one evening prior to the day I needed them.

We’ll be back again and again

Make sure you try this hotel you will be cared for in style!!

Room Tip: Go for a pool and Teidi view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tory123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Manager at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind contribution, all our staff is working hard to give to our guests the best service and quality. We will be expecting your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

A great hotel, where we were treated like royalty. Starting from their perfect spa and ending with the reading lounge it is was the perfect time to spend with my wife.
Pros: - food is great
- service and staff
- facilities
Cons: - far from airport

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beba2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Manager at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind contribution, all our staff is working hard to give to our guests the best service and quality. We hope you will visit us again in your next holidays.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

A bit sceptical from reviews a hotel could be so perfect but now can add a 5 out of 5 rating of our own. Room beautiful with panoramic view of El Tiede and hotel gardens which are so lovely you could just sit in them all day. So relaxing just looking at the plants, birds and butterflies I barely even read my book! Food was wonderful and staff really efficient and friendly. Immaculate putting green to pass a pleasant time on before dinner. Bus stops near hotel for exploring island under your own steam if you don't like organised trips. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to even the most hard to please people.

Room Tip: We loved having the garden view but other people quite liked the sea view so guess it is personal ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Manager at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your review. We hope your suggestions will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community members to visit Tenerife, and enjoy our wonderfull hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here for a week at the end of August and loved it so much. From the moment you arrive you are looked after so well, greeted with a drink and a swift check in.

Our room was lovely, with views over the main pool and Mount Teide.

The main pool is very nice, but the spa area is so much nicer and more peaceful, we spent so much time relaxing there. There is an indoor pool with jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, ice room etc and two outdoor pools, one with a waterfall and one with hydro msage beds. Also outdoors there is a jacuzzi in a cave. We had some treatments and they were very good.

We ate in the restaurant/pool bar a few times and enjoyed it, great service too. The breakfast buffet is very varied and again lovely.

It's a 20 min walk downhill into the old town, we walked down in the evenings and got a taxi back for less than 5 euros.

I would very much recommend this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and left feeling very relaxed and pampered.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire-Biggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director Comercial at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Mrs. Claire-Biggleswade:

Thank you very much for your beautiful review. All our staff is working hard to give to our guests the best service and quality, and we hope your suggestions will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community members to visit Tenerife, and enjoy our wonderfull hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing