We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel but!!”
Review of Hotel El Tope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Tope
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited this hotel during the first two weeks of February 2014 having not visited Northern Tenerife for some years. A lot of previous reviews make reference to the place being 'tired', with some threadbare bits of carpet and bathroom taps and the likes which were wobbly. Well, it's true but shouldn't spoil your stay. The good things are spacious bedrooms, balconies and bathrooms with balconies on the west getting the sun and views of Teide but the east facing ones have nice views too. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are kept very clean but take your own toiletries unless you want to use the generic ones fixed in place. The towels too can be a bit tired which is more relevant than worn carpets.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Full marks to reception for sorting out my internet access and the maintenance staff when we got locked into our bedroom when the electric lock did a wobbly.
The location is great notwithstanding the steps up from the main part of the resort. The pool area is good, the attendant very helpful but there could be a shortage of sun beds at busy times. The cost of beverages whether alcoholic or coffee is very reasonable and not over-priced.
The clientele is mostly German so English speaking folks might find that there aren't a lot of people to make small-talk to but we found everyone we spoke to friendly and tolerated our linguistic shortcomings.
The big disappointment was with the food especially dinner. The food was edible but uninteresting and bland. There was a lack of variety, it was repetitive and desserts especially were poor. Lots of reviews make similar comments but when you have a hotel which is obviously popular and busy there probably isn't an incentive for the hotel to up it's game in this respect. It may also suit the palate and age group of the majority of guests.
All in all, I'd give El Tope 4 stars for customer care but 2 stars for food. That said, we enjoyed our stay in Puerto de la Cruz and would come back to the area but to another hotel.

Room Tip: West side, upper floor are better for afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emaness_crowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your detailed report.

We are happy to hear that all in all you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you also for the positive mentioning of our reception and pool staff.

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding our buffet and that it will prevent you from coming back to us. Please be assured that we take your evaluation seriously, we are always making efforts to improve our services.
Although we realize we might have lost you as our guest we do hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you will be visiting our wonderful island. You are truly valued!

With kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 899 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

We wanted somewhere warm, comfortable and reasonably priced for a week of winter sun. This was going to be a week doing very little except relaxing so we didn't really mind where it was. We chose Tenerife and the El Tope having given our requirements to a travel agent. We got pretty much what we asked for. 

The hotel is well run, comfortable and has friendly staff, who deal admirably with mainly German and British customers. (Although we are British, we live in Germany and booked with a German agent. There seemed to be very few British people there during our week.) The hotel is extremely clean, beds are comfortable, (and this is often an issue with us) and there is plenty of space, with good wardrobes and lighting. The bathroom was large and there was plenty of hot water. 

The hotel was almost entirely occupied by middle-aged or elderly people - not that we are spring chickens ourselves - but this is not a place for young children or teenagers, or even young couples. It is very sedate, and I can't imagine that children splashing and laughing or younger adults being noisy in the pool would be tolerated. I got the impression that there were many repeat guests who, like us, were looking for a week of peace and sun.

 Pleasant though it was, this is not a 4-star hotel! (I'm not sure who gives the star rating - Thomson? Tui?) It could easily be, and is crying out for some investment. The public rooms are large and impressive, with marble floors and Walls, sweeping staircases, good lifts and a nice pool area. But in places it is tired and shabby, with worn carpets in the public areas, and old-fashioned ones in the bedrooms. The bedroom decor is 1990s pink and green, lots of patterned curtains and bedspreads. The bathrooms are also tired and quite bleak (though I must stress now clean they are and how good the shower is) but our taps were cranky and there were no toiletries other than the ubiquitous wall-attached dispenser of generic soap and shampoo. We knew this from other Tripadvisor posts and brought our own. No water in the room, empty mini-bar, cheap plastic chairs and table on the balcony, hard to open sliding metal door to the patio, and thin towels. I don't mind it not being a 4-star, and we didn't pay 4-star prices, but it shouldn't advertise itself as such because it creates certain expectations. It is worth noting that the toilets in the public areas are modern, spacious and spotless.

The food was fine, not great but good enough. It's a matter of taste and some evenings were better than others. Breakfast was very good, with a large variety of fresh bread, cheeses, pate, fruit, yoghurt, and hot beans, sausages, bacon, mushrooms etc.  Eggs and pancakes were cooked to order at a separate station. Dinner featured plenty of salads but little in the way of vegetables and the chips were dire. There seemed to be a lot of leftovers made into new dishes and it was sometimes hard to identify a complete meal among the various dishes on offer. But the food was warm , as were the plates, and empty dishes were constantly replaced. Service was good but we had to wait a few times for an empty table, albeit only for a few minutes. Drinks were very reasonable and the wine was quite good. We never felt rushed and could go back for as much as we liked, if we liked. There was no option for finer dining, though we were on half board and didn't care to venture out. Our choice, no complaints. 

There was entertainment on most evenings which we didn't stay downstairs for. It took us a few days of recovery to appreciate the historical and geographical assets of the island and if we had another week, we would certainly explore. 

The pool area is clean and safe, with a circular pool, but there weren't quite enough sun beds and no one was enforcing the rule about staking claims at dawn with towels! The area is really too small for so many guests, and the beds were laid out in close ranks, making conversation difficult and privacy impossible. Each pair of beds was about 15 inches from the next pair, and the same from the ones in front and behind. There is an area where you can have coffee, sandwiches and drinks, and on one afternoon we had to sit here because there were no sun beds. Which is why it would have been nice to be able to retreat to our own balcony for sunbathing and reading, but our north-east facing balcony got the morning sun for a very short time and for the rest of the day it was too chilly to sit out there, especially when the wind was up. This was our own fault for not researching properly - we asked for a sea view and that is what we got, on two sides as we had a corner room. This may well be a blessing in high summer but in February we hardly used it. The view was amazing though; huge breakers on one side and endless blue sea on the other, not spoiled too much by the tall hotel in front of us, and although the area is built up, we felt removed from it on the third floor. We asked if we could change rooms for one overlooking the pool and the volcano, but the hotel was full. Lesson learned - research more. 

The were some other things that we weren't too happy with which were no-ones fault but our own: the hotel is a two-hour bus journey from the airport, and after a five-hour flight leaving at 6 am, this was not what we wanted!  I also believe the south of the island is less windy and more reliable in terms of being drier. We only had one night of rain, but there was cloud at some point on most days which really cooled things down and drove us indoors. However I say this bearing in mind it was February. Our last day saw clear blue skies and soaring temperature - typical!

Would we go again? In its favour are the excellent staff (worth tipping though there was absolutely no pressure to do so), a warm ambience which reflects years of experience and looking after guests well, comfortable beds and rooms, free wifi, great position with lovely views, and value for money. For us, the airport transfer was a minus, as was the room facing the north east, both of which we should have checked ourselves before booking. I quite like to see a variety of people on holiday, so the absence of children and young couples was a little weird, but it certainly made for a restful holiday. And I as I write this on our last evening, a waiter has just delivered half a bottle of red wine to our room with the hotel's compliments - a nice touch. Apart from our personal preferences, I can recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
11  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of some circumstances you were not too happy about. It is true that the south of Tenerife in general is warmer and less windy but the north on the other hand is much greener and traditional.

It was delightful to read that you felt comfortable in our familiar ambience and found our staff excellent.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Tenerife and remain until then

with kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We are a couple in our late 20's and stayed at the hotel for a week. We paid about £500 for our half board stay, and felt that this was too much, we would have been happier to pay £400 and that would have been good value. Is this hotel worthy of the 4 stars? I think it's clinging on, just.

On arrival, though the man on reception was pleasant, we felt that he could have provided more information on the hotel facilities. All he told us was when food was served.

The room was nice, comfortable, clean, plenty of space The bathroom was of a good size too. We had a sea view, which was beautiful... I think we stayed on floor 5 or 6? We had paid extra for sea view, and had contacted the hotel directly to request a room on a higher floor, so we were pleased. There was a large fridge in the room which we used to store water and some snacks,
The hotel itself appeared dated, the carpets and furniture in the hallways were worn. We took the stairs on one occasion and thought that the carpets on the lower floors looked really bad. And the hallways were a bit smelly, a stuffy smell.
The pool area was fine, the water was quite deep. On one occasion it was windy and a rubbish bin blew in to the pool, rubbish everywhere, that put me off swimming there to be honest. Maybe the hotel should consider securing the bins. We didn't use any of the other facilities.
We always worried about parking, as the car park isn't very big, but we always managed to find a space, but then we made an effort to get back to the hotel for around 5pm before others would be back.
The clientèle were older than us, and mainly German couples.

We stayed half-board and thought the food quality was mixed. The breakfast buffet was fine but the sausages were very poor quality. It was nice to have fresh omelettes and pancakes cooked on alternating days, really enjoyed these. Range of pastries and cakes but nothing amazing, cereals and yoghurt. The fruit juices weren't very nice.
The dinner buffet - lots of variety, something different every day, some dishes were nice and others were poor. There was only one day when I struggled to find something,and what I chose was actually pretty inedible.
The waiter service was not always good, some waiters clearly had their favourite families/couples, the big tippers I am sure(!), and that's fair enough, but I sometimes felt the waiters were slow to take our drink orders, weren't taking away our used plates for a long time, and we'd be sat around waiting for our bill so we could leave. We didn't tip at all because we didn't feel like it was deserved.

I liked the location of the hotel, away from the main streets - the steps were pretty hard going, my advice is DO NOT try and race up them after a few drinks - big mistake!

Puerto de la Cruz is a good resort, the town is nice, lots of shops and places to eat, it's not as commercial as Playa de las Americas, which we appreciated. We felt that it was a family resort. We didn't find any bars for people our age, maybe we were looking in the wrong places?
We spent a week here and a week in Playa de las, and I think overall PDLC is the nicer area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RhiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for taking the time to write the detailed review.
We are very pleased to hear that you felt comfortable in your room and enjoyed your stay in our wonderful Puerto de la Cruz.
Thank you for your advice regarding the bins at the pool.
We hope to be able to welcoming you again during your next stay in Tenerife.
Until then wishing you all the best we remain

with kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you are single do not book this hotel. The single rooms are poorly maintained . Window nets which have not seen a washing machine in a number of years. Staff who not understand what customer satisfaction actually means. 4 star hotel with 1 star single rooms. Overall appearance of hotel is good. Food choice and overall presentation excellent. My feedback for hotel is check condition of rooms weekly, don't have upset customers through poorly maintained rooms. And resolve any issues for your customers.

Stayed: January 2014
5  Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review and your suggestions.
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. We will take your evaluation seriously and discuss it with the responsible Department Managers.

Best wishes and kind regards from Tenerife

El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I wrote a review when I arrived home but I see you have not printed it I can understand why the reception we received was disgusting booked superior balcony given terrace on pointing this out he started waving his arms about like a mad person I was so taken back I walked away till next day to give him time to cool down next day saw some one else who was trying too solve problem but he interfered again this time stood my ground had key for room 705 I have never seen such a dirty room the rep had too get cleaner too clean it I could go on but I get so upset thinking about it as it was booked to celebrate my husbands birthday you have been warned we went to this hotel a few years back and it was the tops never again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are sorry you felt something about our reception misleading and hereby apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Wishing you all the best we remain

with kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed two weeks over the Christmas/New Year period in room 323. We were here in 2005 on a B&B basis - this time half board with two gala dinners. Quick and friendly welcome from reception. Bubbly and fruit welcomed us to our room. Probaby because this hotel is 'old', the bedrooms are high ceilinged and large. Extremely comfortable beds, lumpy pillows, clean and well presented, including free mini bar. Excellent bathroom. Walk in shower and usual facilities, but no toiletries! Wall fixed liquid soap over washbasin and bath,. Adequate but smells at bit like Lysol. Bathtowels are a let down - hardly covering one's essentials! The room was shabby in as much as the walls needed refreshing and the carpet was faded and worn. But, no problem. The wrap round balcony had the usual chairs and table plus two clean and comfortable loungers, also the noise of a neighbourbood cockerel which crowed from dawn to dusk. We thought €35 was steep for the hire of safety box. Beakfasts were fine with all one needed, but oh dear, I wish the egg chef knew how to cook an egg and heat the plates. Our first dinner was not a success. Why is it that so many hotels cannot cook fish, chicken or meat without it being tough and do not provide heated plates. So apart from the Christmas and New Year Gala dinners, we ate out. The Christmas Gala was in the Festival Room and well laid out and decorated, but a free for all for seating. The buffet (usual food as far as I could see) had huge queues due to all guests dining the same time. Plenty of free wine. We were not impressed. However, the New Year Gala was excellent. The management had a seating plan and everyone was seated with guests from their own country. Five courses, all well cooked and presented, apart from the beef wellington which we found tough. Fee wine flowed plus champagne. Paper hats, streamers, novelties and fireworks made it a fantastic evening. Not a hotel for those with walking difficulties. 125 steps (I counted them) down to sea level, or a winding road to do same, or a short exceedingly steep walk up to catch a bus. However, taxis are plentiful and sea level to hotel is €3 without tip. We didn't partake in the entertainment, simply because we found it too noisy. Bar area, lounges and pool bar area seemed pleasant. The hotel advertises Wifi in every room. Ha ha. The IT expert on reception told us it would only work up to floor 3, but we found it very hit and miss. However a venue near Charco Square, Compostalan Plaza had good reception and we used this several times and they do great food and booze.. A big plus point to El Tope for supplying daily newspapers. This is a four star hotel, but I wonder if it is really a good three star. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful, so all in all we had a good time.

Room Tip: If you want sun on your balcony do not ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lanterntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for your detailed review.
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the dinner buffet.
Please be assured that we will take your evaluation seriously and discuss your critical remarks with the responsible department managers.
Thank you very much for your kind words about our service and staff.
Wishing you all the best and hoping to be able to welcoming you again one day we remain with

warm regards from Tenerife
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just back from a wonderful Christmas break 13/12 - 27/12 to the Gran Hotel El Tope, Puerto del a Cruz, Tenerife, firstly and sadly not Grand any more, very tired decor, sofas in bar hall a bit tatty in places, sweeping grand staircase but very worn carpet also patched in some hallways, although some rooms have been updated most are in need BUT very very clean throughout. Lovely big showers in place of baths, but why do you only get one comfy chair per room and someone has to sit on the bed if relaxing or reading? (not only El Tope) again rooms a little worn but very clean.
It was my birthday and a bottle of cava in an ice bucket and glasses delivered to the room compliments of the Management.
Food in dining room was adequate both at breakfast and evening meal, always eggs, bacon, omelettes being cooked freshly and other hot (warm) foods plus breads, cereals, fruit, evenings fish and meat freshly cooked and a large buffet not as hot as it should be plus salads and desserts and also four different ice creams!!!! (a very happy Husband) plus cheese and fruit but best of all the waiters are wonderful,
happy, friendly,helpful.
The Christmas Gala meal was fabulous, superior to daily meals and lots of good wines well done El Tope.
We had room 523 corner room double balcony facing El Teide, fab with snow on top and hot and sunny on balcony, the views all round are excellent but good things cost and the steps or pathways from the hotel in most directions are steep but managable and exercise for extra food and wine usually consumed on holiday, main downside of mountain view side a large gully runs past hotel and its full of cockerels and chickens! Lots of lovely walks and parks and Loro Park and trip to Mt Teide a must for first time visitors.
The south of the island is bland but sunnier, the north is greener, more spanish and prettier.

Room Tip: watch out for standard rooms below ground no lift, seaview little or no sun this time of year
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue-Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our service and restaurant. Thank you for your kind words about the Christmas Gala!
Hoping to be able to welcoming you again at our hotel and wishing you a happy and healthy New Year we remain with

best regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,937 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#30 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tope

Address: Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $71 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing