We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel just away from the resort centre.”
Review of Hotel El Tope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Tope
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The El Tope has clearly been a very exclusive hotel, and still maintains a good standard, probably in line with its 4 star rating. Heavily used by Thomson Holidays.
The hotel is a short distance up a significant number of steps from the resort centre, This is an advantage overall, but could be found difficult for less able bodied people.
The food service was a good quality buffet, typical of the type.
On arrival (late at night) the lower ground floor rooms seemed to be a bit labyrinthine, but once the sun rose, the rooms were actually very good, with a view across the sea and town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear guests,

we are delighted to hear that you spent some nice and relaxing holidays with us. Thank you very much for your kind words.
Wishing you a happy and healthy New Year and hoping to be able to welcoming you again in the near future we remain with

kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Tope
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 887 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location lovely service however was more like a 3 star than a 4. We were placed in rooms away from the main hotel. Buffet was the same every 2 nights. But people were lovely. Wifi pass to be renewed every 24 hours very slow and only works in main reception. Pool very small, weather wasn't great but overall ok

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank london_0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.
To avoid an overload of the net we give our guests a password for the wifi access valid one day. This is a free service which we do not charge.
We are very pleased to hear that all in all you had an enjoyable stay with us and would be delighted to be able to welcoming you again.

Best regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The first impression was quite good despite the lack of parking spaces by the hotel. The room was quite good, but there was no kettle and ironing board, which I think 4 star hotels should have. Food was allright for three days, but then we got bored of the same stuff. Hotel staff was 50/50. some of them nice and polite, but some quite ignorant. We came back from a trip with rented car and there was no spaces in the car park, receptionist simply suggested to find a parking space 'somewhere' on the street outside the hotel. We paid 12euros for tennis and it wasn't really great, there was water on the court so we had to sweep it with provided brooms :) Rackets were awful, very old and worn. Half of the balls were unusable. Room cleaners made good impression. Anyway it was quite good value for money, but I wouldn't give this hotel more than 3.2 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aringas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for giving us your feedback. We will take your critical remarks seriously.
Kettles are included for Supior Room Bookings and otherwise for rent. We will take a stock of our tennis raquets and balls and apologize for the inconveniences you had.
Wishing you a healthy new year we remain with

best regards from puerto de la Cruz
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed for a week on a late deal and thought this hotel to be good value. It is a hotel which perhaps does not really excel in anything, but provides overall a very reasonable standard with nothing to be unhappy about. Food was good, large and comfortable rooms and reasonable level of service and cleanliness maintained.
Always like to be greedy at both breakfast and dinner whilst on holiday and able to do so in the large restaurant, particularly when in a window seat where no wish to rush. Food choice and variety was good, catering also for other northern Europeans. Waiters in restaurant were all amiable and efficient, albeit I did not consider there was enough of them at peak breakfast times to keep tables clear. Often had to move plates myself then to enable us to sit at a more favourable table.
On arrival, service on reception was polite and efficient with no queues. Given a choice of room, either one facing seawards or one with good views of Teide. Chose latter as best for afternoon sun and views of sea are obstructed even on fifth floor, because of other tall hotels closer to it.
Entertainment was also well provided, and I found having a "Birds of Prey" demonstation in the lounge one evening to be quite novel. Expected to see the owls which were brought around, but not for a harrier to demonstate how nimble it is at negotiating between peoples heads and legs.
Rooms all appeared to have fair sized balconies, and just a question of how good a view dependent upon where positioned. Beds and mattresses were comfortable with no difficulties here. Also quiet at night, but no tea/ coffee making facilities for that late evening drink so remember your travel kettle. Bathrooms were of reasonable size and clean, although I was not impressed at not having any small bars of soap - only wall mounted dispensers of liquid soap/body wash. Water was hot at all times and towels although not super were quite acceptable.
Regards location of hotel, it is positioned back from seafront part way up a hill and overlooking both the sea (albeit obstructed),Teide and surrounding hills. It is in a very good location, being only 10 minutes walk down to promenade but the steps up did prove a chore each evening, even if not a difficulty. They would prove a hardship for less stronger knees. However, there is a bus stop just 3 minutes up from the hotel, and when travelling higher to the National Park it is easier to alight at this stop and walk down. Similarly when visiting the Botanic Gardens.
When considering this holiday, there was also the choice of the hotel "Catalonia Las Vegas" at a comparable price. That hotel is positioned directly on promenade and would have easily received a 5* for location from myself. Can't speak for what staying in this hotel is like, but my wife will suggest we give it a try next time at Puerto De La Cruz, solely on location and saving her knees.
If hiring a car, there is a good sized car park to front of the Hotel El Tope, which may be better regards access, to staying closer off the promenade. The bus station though is 20 minutes walk down from hotel. Several good options for exploring island being the Teide National Park, Garachico, Los Gigantes (really super views from bus) and La Orotava. The purchase of an Oro card will save a few euros on fares, but first ask at visitor centre how to make best saving.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are popular. Considered any room at rear overlooking Mt Teide to be preferrable to thos...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your detailed review. We are glad to hear that you feld well received and comfortable with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you had in the restaurant, these things should not occur. Although you have reflected about other options we would be delighted to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best regards from Puerto de la Cruz
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I went for two weeks in January 2013. We found the hotel very pleasant being only a short stroll from the town. The room was very clean and comfortable.All the staff we very pleasant and friendly. The food was exceptional with a very good choice both at breakfast and at dinner. The reception staff and the waiters deserve a special mention as nothing was too much trouble no matter what request we asked. We would like to praise the relations manager Kati as being exceptional. We previously came for two weeks and are now returning for four weeks on the 9th of January. Once again our compliments to the management and staff.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank jaguar123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for taking the time to write the review and for your very kind words.
We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely and pleasant stay with us.
Wishing you a happy and healthy new year and looking forward to your return visit we remain until then with

warm regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was our ninth visit to El Tope Puerto De La Cruz and by far the worst. Everything we enjoyed about staying at this hotel has deteriorated to the point where we will probably look for alternative accomodation next time. The evening buffet was very poor with the selection of food much reduced. Only one soup, meat was either pork or chicken and the fish was always the same. The sweets were the same every night and the vast choice of fruit normally availble was none existent. Mostly we had to clear our own plates from the table and get our own cutlery from the work station if we wanted anything. The waiters work hard but there is not enough of them to look after you and give the service we have come to expect. By the end of the first week we were almost dreading going to the dining room because of the tasteless and bland food on offer which is completeley different from previous visits. We decided to eat out on several nights to get a nice meal. The Toucan at the top of the hill near the health centre is well worth a visit.
Our room was on the first floor and looking well worse for wear. The toilet seat was too small for the bowl and the water did not stop flushing unless you stood and pulled the handle back to the original position, the shower gel/soap provided was awful and smelt terrible. We had resident cockroaches in the bathroom on visiting the loo during the night.
The stairs to the first floor where the carpet is threadbare in places was a big risk to take because all the rods holding the carpet in place were loose and a real hazard.
The staff at reception were very distant and were not very welcoming towards us at any time regardless of what we required from them. A nice smile and some conversation would be nice to start your holiday. This hotel was fantastic but is now a shadow of it's former self and the Management need to do something positive to change this trend or they will lose many loyal patrons like us very quickly.

Room Tip: Worst rooms are the ones on the first floor facing the sea. Would prefer the one below ground to the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chazscaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear guests,

first of all thank you for taking the time for the detailed review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment and that we could meet your expectations this time. Please be assured that we take your evaluation seriously. We would be very grateful if you give us the opportunity to show that we are able to improve our standards.
Wishing you a happy festive season and hoping to not having lost you as our guests we remain with
warm regards from Tenerife
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Firstly I would like to say that the only thing holding this hotel together is its staff, they are extremely good at their jobs and almost make up for the tired hotel they work for.
We stayed from the 5th to the 12th November 2013.
As for the rest of the Hotel the carpets are threadbare and badly worn,the pool in November is not heated so is freezing and colder than the sea,so is unusable.
my bed had darned sheets (not very grand ) and we were unable to sleep very well because of the feral chickens that lived in the baranco outside our window and crowed all night and most of the day as well. whilst not the hotels fault if it had been mine I would have done something about it a long time ago.
The food was definitely not up to standard with the fruit going mouldy the temperature of supposedly hot food left a lot to be desired, burnt, tepid hamburgers in tomato sauce is not what I would expect from this class of Hotel or in fact any Hotel.
My wife also had food poisoning by the time we left from a lobster salad that was in fact fish sticks and salad that was not kept at the correct temperature.
We have stayed at this hotel before,but sorry despite the excellent staff we will not be returning again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very sorry that this time in your opinion we were not able to keep our standard. Thank you for your critical remarks that will help us to improve our services. We are very sorry that your wife did not feel well by the time you left but it was definetly not a food poisoning because there would have been more guests affected. During some periods of the year there are virus going round.
We are very grateful for your kind words about our staff but also sad to have lost you as our guests. Wishing you the very best we remain with
kind regards from Tenerife
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,073 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
#34 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#30 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tope

Address: Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $73 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing