We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tenerife Ving(Puerto de la Cruz)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$137
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$48
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $41/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$102
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$228
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$51
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)
$80
$78
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveler rating
349
415
192
82
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
415
192
82
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorsaladmount teideevening entertainmentmountain viewhalf boardloro parqueorchid gardenmobility problemsbuffet stylecorner roomfood on offersun loungersreception staffbreakfast and dinnerlarge balconyplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I went for two weeks in January 2013. We found the hotel very pleasant being only a short stroll from the town. The room was very clean and comfortable.All the staff we very pleasant and friendly. The food was exceptional with a very good choice both at breakfast and at dinner. The reception staff and the waiters deserve a special mention as nothing was too much trouble no matter what request we asked. We would like to praise the relations manager Kati as being exceptional. We previously came for two weeks and are now returning for four weeks on the 9th of January. Once again our compliments to the management and staff.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank jaguar123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for taking the time to write the review and for your very kind words.
We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely and pleasant stay with us.
Wishing you a happy and healthy new year and looking forward to your return visit we remain until then with

warm regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was our ninth visit to El Tope Puerto De La Cruz and by far the worst. Everything we enjoyed about staying at this hotel has deteriorated to the point where we will probably look for alternative accomodation next time. The evening buffet was very poor with the selection of food much reduced. Only one soup, meat was either pork or chicken and the fish was always the same. The sweets were the same every night and the vast choice of fruit normally availble was none existent. Mostly we had to clear our own plates from the table and get our own cutlery from the work station if we wanted anything. The waiters work hard but there is not enough of them to look after you and give the service we have come to expect. By the end of the first week we were almost dreading going to the dining room because of the tasteless and bland food on offer which is completeley different from previous visits. We decided to eat out on several nights to get a nice meal. The Toucan at the top of the hill near the health centre is well worth a visit.
Our room was on the first floor and looking well worse for wear. The toilet seat was too small for the bowl and the water did not stop flushing unless you stood and pulled the handle back to the original position, the shower gel/soap provided was awful and smelt terrible. We had resident cockroaches in the bathroom on visiting the loo during the night.
The stairs to the first floor where the carpet is threadbare in places was a big risk to take because all the rods holding the carpet in place were loose and a real hazard.
The staff at reception were very distant and were not very welcoming towards us at any time regardless of what we required from them. A nice smile and some conversation would be nice to start your holiday. This hotel was fantastic but is now a shadow of it's former self and the Management need to do something positive to change this trend or they will lose many loyal patrons like us very quickly.

Room Tip: Worst rooms are the ones on the first floor facing the sea. Would prefer the one below ground to these and anything from floor 2 upwards
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chazscaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear guests,

first of all thank you for taking the time for the detailed review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment and that we could meet your expectations this time. Please be assured that we take your evaluation seriously. We would be very grateful if you give us the opportunity to show that we are able to improve our standards.
Wishing you a happy festive season and hoping to not having lost you as our guests we remain with
warm regards from Tenerife
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Firstly I would like to say that the only thing holding this hotel together is its staff, they are extremely good at their jobs and almost make up for the tired hotel they work for.
We stayed from the 5th to the 12th November 2013.
As for the rest of the Hotel the carpets are threadbare and badly worn,the pool in November is not heated so is freezing and colder than the sea,so is unusable.
my bed had darned sheets (not very grand ) and we were unable to sleep very well because of the feral chickens that lived in the baranco outside our window and crowed all night and most of the day as well. whilst not the hotels fault if it had been mine I would have done something about it a long time ago.
The food was definitely not up to standard with the fruit going mouldy the temperature of supposedly hot food left a lot to be desired, burnt, tepid hamburgers in tomato sauce is not what I would expect from this class of Hotel or in fact any Hotel.
My wife also had food poisoning by the time we left from a lobster salad that was in fact fish sticks and salad that was not kept at the correct temperature.
We have stayed at this hotel before,but sorry despite the excellent staff we will not be returning again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very sorry that this time in your opinion we were not able to keep our standard. Thank you for your critical remarks that will help us to improve our services. We are very sorry that your wife did not feel well by the time you left but it was definetly not a food poisoning because there would have been more guests affected. During some periods of the year there are virus going round.
We are very grateful for your kind words about our staff but also sad to have lost you as our guests. Wishing you the very best we remain with
kind regards from Tenerife
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Location to the town is very good - hotel is a bit dated but has very friendly smiley staff - food very good & lots of choice from the buffet, we asked to be moved to the rear of the hotel away from the road traffic which was quickly arranged for the following day. We are returning in January 2014.......that says it all !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted to be able to welcoming you again soon!
Wishing you a happy festive season and a healthy year 2014 we remain until January with

warm regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Mary and i have stayed at the el tope for the past 5 years and have always enjoyed the food,that they have served from the buffet, this however has changed, things have really gone down hill. the management are letting the staff down badly , as they do try to give very good service. the breakfast is ok, but the evening buffet is a total disaster , we stayed here on the 12th to the 26th november 13 and only two of the buffet dinners were worth eating, such a disappointment .
Mary and I will not be recommending the el tope, and will stay some ware else next time,sorry el tope you have lost the plot, robert.

Room Tip: high floor great views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0grassman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We are very sorry for not having been able to keep our standards in your opinion.
As we offer a buffet for breakfast and dinner there should always be dishes for every taste, unforntunately we did not manage in your case.
It is a great pity that we have lost you as our guests!
Wishing you all the best we remain with

kind regards from Tenerife
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews