We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired hotel!”
Review of Hotel El Tope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Tope
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A tired hotel!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Hotel El Tope may have been grand ten years ago, now it is tired! Thread bare carpets wallpaper hanging off the walls and a general feeling of neglect.
The staff on the whole were very polite and always obliging. The breakfast and dinner food was always plentiful with a wide choice, but never hot.. Sad as it could so easily be Grand again with some money spent on it! Would I return ... No. Would I recommend it.. No. There is a wide choice of other hotels in the town offering better and more up to date facilities with a better range of entertainment.
The town itself was attractive with a wide selection of bars and eating establishments. Taxis are very plentiful and cheap enough to get around in as the town has many steep hills. A visit to Loro Parque is a must for any visitors. The Orchid gardens whilst tranquil, offer few orchids that cannot be seen in Tesco's.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very sorry for not having been able to meet your expectations and having lost you as our guests.
Wishing you all the best we remain with

kind regards
El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    362
    154
    72
    39
See reviews for
122
496
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I shall try to make this review as accurate as possible from my perspective.

I traveled with my eldest Son.

I booked, online, as a late deal for 2 with Thomson, to stay at the El-Tope for a weeks duration from the 24th of September 2013.
Arriving late from from the airport we presented ourselves at the hotel reception to be allocated our room. We were given our room card by a male receptionist who was very business like but lacked a sense of welcoming. This initially was off putting as I would have expected a less formal reception welcome as a paying guest and a more friendly encounter would have made for a better start. However, I was on holiday and assumed that due the late arrival the reception staff member may have been at the end of a long shift and tired.

We had paid for a twin room with balcony, shower and air conditioning. We were allocated room 039 and found we had been given exactly what we had paid for.

The room was clean and fresh, the beds were spotless, there was no indication of anything being left from previous guests.

We found that a food provision had been made in the room for our arrival and we thoroughly enjoyed the foods on offer, which consisted or large salads, a selection of cheeses, a selection of meats and bread.
Our room had 2 armchairs, an outside plastic table and chairs, bedside tables, small fridge, television and sufficient wardrobe and cupboard space. The bathroom was sufficiently large and included a toilet and bidet. The shower was excellent and hot water was abundant.
The air conditioning unit worked but perhaps not as good as it could have done.
The television was limited to about 4-5 channels in English but being on holiday who wants to sit all day watching television.

I did have to hire a kettle at 2 euros per day as it did not come as standard.

I have to state that the room we stayed in showed some signs of tiredness but it did not cause any need for concern as it was only very minor.
A lick of paint here and there would have remedied most deficiencies.
Nonetheless, I was satisfied with the room and enjoyed a sound nights sleep.

The hotel is located within 10 minutes walking distance from the beach and 5 minutes from a local supermarket, which matched or bettered prices in the UK.

Many reviews documented the fact that the hotel was located on a hill and you had to climb a fair number of steps to access the hotel. This is indeed true but after a day or two you hardly notice the climb. Mobility impaired will however struggle in my opinion.

So back to the hotel, we awoke early the next day, undisturbed by any noise, refreshed and headed up for breakfast, a few more stairs to climb. The choice of breakfast was fantastic, the provision likened to Buffet style self service, with a chef actively cooking as items were used. There was the traditional English as well as continental choices and plenty of it. I would advise you to get there early as the food is likely to be hottest but again the facilities were excellent.

I have to comment now with regards to the waiting staff.
All staff were professional and courteous. One staff member named SANTIAGO deserves high recognition for his conduct. He went out of his way to help me learn simple Spanish and his assistance enabled me to improve my communication with staff and locals. Not withstanding the excellence of his colleagues he shone out beyond them all.
We were always welcomed with warm smiles and warmth of heart.
On our last day, after we had checked out, being unaware of our standing we were invited to enjoy a final meal prior to our departure with the same smiles and professionalism as before.

The pool, although not overly large, is excellent with ample facilities for refreshments and sufficient sun loungers. The atmosphere around the pool was relaxed and friendly. We met couples and families from many different countries who openly tried to communicate and involve themselves with others. The pool itself was unheated, cool and refreshing. It was very welcome when temperatures and humidity were high.

The hotel Wifi was hit and miss and could have been better. Internet provision via internal computer were more often than not down.
On the reception we were able to purchase postcards and stamps. We were also able to post them there too. Particular praise is to be given for the conduct of the female receptionist, and my apologies but I have forgotten her name, for her assistance was fantastic.
Excluding the off putting experience upon arrival all members of the reception staff were extremely warm and professional.

We did not use the Gym or any other facilities other than the pool so cannot offer an opinion on them but the Gym looked as though it was sufficiently stocked for the diehard user.

Outside of the room in which we stayed everything was clean and fresh. We watched the cleaning staff daily keep the areas clean and tidy.

Outside the hotel there were outlets to buy excursions and many bazars to browse. Nightlife was sufficient but not as extensive as the south of the island. You will be approached by representatives of outside establishments trying to win your custom but if you are not wishing to be disturbed by them a simple no with hand held up usually stops them from overly pressuring you.

Public transport is available to the south of the island and a discount card, called BONO, is available and this saves you up to 10 Euros per trip. The discount card is widely available in many retail outlets.

For those who like churches there a 3 very beautiful Catholic churches within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Laundry service is available in the hotel but a cheaper alternative is an outside laundrette 5 minutes from the hotel that charges 8 euros to wash and dry a single load of clothes. Loads are completed within 3 hours.

One tip for the unwary, don't walk on the sand in bare feet as you will likely as not burn them. It is very painful, believe me.

On the day of our departure we found that the hotel possessed digital scales which allowed us to ensure that our luggage was weighted correctly so that we did not exceed our allowance.

On the whole I conclude:

On the whole a good quality hotel.
The odd issue of tiredness in the hotel but nothing to worry about.
Clean rooms.
Clean facilities.
Very good staff.
Very good pool.
Good food provision, but better get there early.

All in all a place I would return to anytime.

Thank you El-Tope for ensuring that I had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Although I stayed in room 039 upgrades are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for taking the time to give such a detailed feedback. We feel very sorry for the inconveniences you had on your arrival and want to apologize for that. Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We are very pleased to hear that all in all you spent some nice holidays with us and hope to be able to welcoming you again soon. Until then we wish you all the best and remain with

warm regards from Tenerife
El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived at the hotel quite late and we were left salads, a couple of soft drinks and fruit in the room. First impression of the hotel was good but does need updating. Carpets soiled and worn in places. We were in Room 427 which had a view of El Teide to the left and the sea and pool on our right. My parnter who is a gym bunny was disappointed that the gym was only open at very limited days and times at a fee of 5Euros. My birthday was celebrated with a complimentary bottle of bubbly left in the room which was very much appreciated. As previously mentioned the cockrel was an unwelcome noise so early in the morning but as the week went on we somehow managed to sleep through it.
The choice at Breakfast was more than adequate but the evening meals became a little bit samey and tables were not always cleared leaving us sometimes looking around for a free table. The staff work very hard but because they were so busy they weren't always the friendliest.
We hired a car for 3 days and found the office at the bottom of the steps offered the best rate. If you are hoping for a quiet drive it isn't the case these days as the roads are very busy - sometimes like rush hour on the M25! However worth doing as you get to see most of the island that way. I would recommend this hotel but probably wouldn't go back there myself as I never return to the same place twice.

Room Tip: The location of Room 427 means you get the sun all afternoon until it sets. A corner room with larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enfys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We will take your critical aspects into consideration. We thank you for your recommendation, wish you all the best, and remain with

kind regards,
El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have visited this Hotel on many occasions and have recommended it to friends and family. We can no longer do so. On our last but one visit to the Hotel in May 2013 there were clear signs of a decline in standards. This visit (September 2013) shocked us. Terrible breakfast choice and quality. Staff numbers cut. No pool lifeguard at times. Threadbare stair carpet. noisy shaky scary lift. Stained and worn hall carpet. High mileage, worn out beds, Record breaking bar prices. Overcrowded dining room. Overworked staff almost in tears at our disappointment. Caters now almost exclusively for the lowest end of the German tourist market. Stay away!

Room Tip: If you like wood chip on the walls and rickety old furniture any one will do. The Superior rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We feel very sorry about having you disappointed and having lost you as our guest. We would be very pleased if you gave us the chance to prove that we are able to keep and improve our standards.

Kind regards
El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the El Tope during the first week in September for a week. both in our 60's
I emailed the hotel 2 weeks before our stay, asking for a corner room on the third floor, and this is what we got.
Arriving late at night we were left a good selection of meat and salad in our room, also a bottle of fizzy wine which we left till the following day.
The room was on a corner facing the mountain and the tennis courts, because of the double balcony, it had the sun for most of the day, and even though the weather was a bit overcast, we managed to get a good tan.
The superior room was a lot smaller than it looked on the website, it was probably taken with a wide angle lens. This would be our main complaint.
If we stayed here again we would still go for the superior room option, as long as we got a corner room, we really did like the balcony.
We liked the room and the walk in shower but it was let down by not having the tea/coffee facilities replaced each day, not to much of a problem as we replenished with supplies from the restaurant. Water was only supplied on the first day.
The room was hardly peaceful, as there were dogs barking, cockerels crowing, traffic noise, and tennis players shouting a lot of the time during the day, not much the hotel can do about this, but i would think all the rooms at the back would be the same.
The cockerel needs to learn to tell the time.
There was no noise at night except for Saturday, when we could hear music from a nearby bar.
The hotel has only 2 lifts, and at meal times gets a bit busy.
The meals are not really up to 4 star standards, but edible, they could have more choice and also be a bit warmer.
Breakfasts were good with a small container to put rubbish in on the tables, and there was fresh filter coffee and hot milk at various places around the room
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The WIFI worked perfectly, and was usable from our room on the third floor, only drawback was the need to get a fresh ID and password every day.
The snack bar did good meals at a fair price during the day.
The walk from the hotel to the seafront was quite easy via the steps, but hard work coming back on a warm day, the weather was around 28/30 deg most of the week.
Taxis worked out at 3.20 to 3.80 euros for the trip back.
There is a good supermarket at the bottom of the steps.
Would we stay here again? probably yes, it wasn't as bad as it sounds from this review.
We did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikentl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for your detailed feedback. Of course we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but also want to thank you for the critical remarks. With pleasure we will forward your kind words about our staff. We would be delighted to be able to welcoming you again in the near future and remain with

kind regards
El tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a week staying here with hubby and daughter. We shared a triple room which was maybe a little dated but very large and clean and had everything we needed. I had upgraded to a sea view superior room and was given room 107, it had the biggest patio area ever with a table and 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers, perfect for sunbathing as you get the sun from early morning til 12 then back again about 5 and it had a wonderful view all round.
The room has a digital safe at a cost of 2.50 euros daily (payable in advance at reception), a fridge to use FOC, free tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and plenty of sockets. Free wifi is available but you must get a code daily from reception. Room key is inserted just inside main door to operate electric.
We reported to reception the patio door had a lock that didn't work and just a chain to keep it shut which we didn't like. This was sorted out straight away and a bottle of sparkling wine left for our inconvenience.
To use the gym and spa you have to pay 5 euros each time, so we didn't bother. The pool area is lovely and clean with plenty of beds and manned by a lifeguard 9-5. The pool is not heated though and is freezing, so I didn't use this which was a shame. Pool towels are 5 euros each added to your room account which is taken off when you return the towels.
Food choice was relatively good, but if you have a picky one can be a bit limited. As previous reviews some of the food was just warm and not a great choice of deserts. Full breakfast available though even fried bread, funny toasters used, bread needs to go round at least 5 times to get any colour on! An assortment of fruit juices and hot drinks available from help yourself machines.
Entertainment wasn't our cup of tea, a show of wild birds, a singer and flamenco dancer.
Yes it is 125 steps down to the town, which was a lot easier going down than coming up, which we did at least twice a day, kept us fit though, but once down that's it your there, doesn't take more than 5 mins.
We really enjoyed our stay, yes in parts hotel shows signs of wear and tear but overall nothing even worth mentioning. This hotel is suitable in my opinion for the mature person (at least over 40) not children or anyone with walking difficulties, anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday and it does attract a lot of German clientele.

Room Tip: room 107, first floor corner, sea view, massive patio area and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola090963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guests,

we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your positive review. We also thank you for your critical remarks as we are constantly making efforts to improve our service. Hoping to be able to welcoming you again soon we remain with

kind regards
El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from a last minute deal to El Tope, via Thomson's 5th floor room looking to Volcano. just about hour from South Airport via mainly motorway. Great view to sea too, a bit obstructed by 20 story flats in distance. Have done the 125 step down to the local centre at least once a day both ways, gets easier as the week goes on. its only 110 to the 5th floor , so exercise done for the day before we start.
Food has a wide selection not just European market, although practice some basic Spanish as most of the waiting staff only want to speak Spanish even if they understand some English. German is more common spoken. Food is help yourself, both breakfast and dinner, Although these are ease of use , I found this can often lead to some food being out that is not so hot, or even cold on occasion, although if this was mentioned to the maître dee he quickly sorted it. with fresh hotter food. Rooms clean and acceptable although carpets wear showing.
Had a range of entertainment on most nights except Sunday , from birds of prey to a local Spanish speaking singer, a great pianist who loved what he was was playing as well as the guests and was great to see someone enjoying what he was doing, not just doing because it was work.
The hotel was full when left but had a great free courtesy room and show for freshen up before long flight home.
The hotel is showing signs of wear since recession, carpets are thread bear in places, which detracts from the overall good service , rooms are clean and towel changed at least three times a week. beds sound and able t get good sleep on, air con works ok on medium setting, for room, Safety deposit is combi electronic for 2.5 euro a day and having a salad out for us in our room when arrived at 12.30 am was just what you need for a late snack.

Pool is large round but is very deep one side 2.35m and 1.20 other so it is not good for little ones , it is mainly an adults only hotel , only seen one 6 year old there who was very good with grandparents. Life guard about and attentive from 9-5 after that , it well signed that it not monitored.
Thomson's have got in with blanket trip people who are offering free trip to west and north of island, OK for free trip to see other bits island, at zero cost if you remember to bring pack lunch, up and down mountain roads in coach can be a bit bouncy but overall a few sites too see on way. Lots to see in town, some good churches with decorative insides. If you want a cheap camera or electronics, or perfume suss out models and cost before you go as there are a lot of similar models about that are the slightly older versions at looks like fantastic prices, but can vary a fair bit then have extras added on but still cheaper that UK .
Drinks fair price at hotel and good measures with shorts.
Enjoyed break, last day in sea at volcanic beach black sand and Atlantic ocean, sea can be surf and wavy a bit , nearest to hotel, has varying depth rocks shortly after sand drops away and depth varies a lot. Strong current, but their is a lido close by and also more shelter areas to get in the sea with 5-10 min walk.

Room Tip: High rooms scenic side see mountain /volcano and sea ,k although local cockerels get up at sun rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for taking the time to give such detailed feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,729 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tope

Property: Hotel El Tope
Address: Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing