We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Apartamentos RF Bambi(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$51
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$47
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $43/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$231
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)
$105
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$105
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
$65
$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveler rating
348
415
191
82
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
415
191
82
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorsaladmount teideevening entertainmenthalf boardmountain vieworchid gardenmobility problemsloro parquebuffet stylecorner roomsun loungersfood on offerreception staffbreakfast and dinnerlarge balconyplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have visited this Hotel on many occasions and have recommended it to friends and family. We can no longer do so. On our last but one visit to the Hotel in May 2013 there were clear signs of a decline in standards. This visit (September 2013) shocked us. Terrible breakfast choice and quality. Staff numbers cut. No pool lifeguard at times. Threadbare stair carpet. noisy shaky scary lift. Stained and worn hall carpet. High mileage, worn out beds, Record breaking bar prices. Overcrowded dining room. Overworked staff almost in tears at our disappointment. Caters now almost exclusively for the lowest end of the German tourist market. Stay away!

Room Tip: If you like wood chip on the walls and rickety old furniture any one will do. The Superior rooms are not much better, but will help you avoid the infamous Dungeon rooms under the pool!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We feel very sorry about having you disappointed and having lost you as our guest. We would be very pleased if you gave us the chance to prove that we are able to keep and improve our standards.

Kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the El Tope during the first week in September for a week. both in our 60's
I emailed the hotel 2 weeks before our stay, asking for a corner room on the third floor, and this is what we got.
Arriving late at night we were left a good selection of meat and salad in our room, also a bottle of fizzy wine which we left till the following day.
The room was on a corner facing the mountain and the tennis courts, because of the double balcony, it had the sun for most of the day, and even though the weather was a bit overcast, we managed to get a good tan.
The superior room was a lot smaller than it looked on the website, it was probably taken with a wide angle lens. This would be our main complaint.
If we stayed here again we would still go for the superior room option, as long as we got a corner room, we really did like the balcony.
We liked the room and the walk in shower but it was let down by not having the tea/coffee facilities replaced each day, not to much of a problem as we replenished with supplies from the restaurant. Water was only supplied on the first day.
The room was hardly peaceful, as there were dogs barking, cockerels crowing, traffic noise, and tennis players shouting a lot of the time during the day, not much the hotel can do about this, but i would think all the rooms at the back would be the same.
The cockerel needs to learn to tell the time.
There was no noise at night except for Saturday, when we could hear music from a nearby bar.
The hotel has only 2 lifts, and at meal times gets a bit busy.
The meals are not really up to 4 star standards, but edible, they could have more choice and also be a bit warmer.
Breakfasts were good with a small container to put rubbish in on the tables, and there was fresh filter coffee and hot milk at various places around the room
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The WIFI worked perfectly, and was usable from our room on the third floor, only drawback was the need to get a fresh ID and password every day.
The snack bar did good meals at a fair price during the day.
The walk from the hotel to the seafront was quite easy via the steps, but hard work coming back on a warm day, the weather was around 28/30 deg most of the week.
Taxis worked out at 3.20 to 3.80 euros for the trip back.
There is a good supermarket at the bottom of the steps.
Would we stay here again? probably yes, it wasn't as bad as it sounds from this review.
We did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Get a corner room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikentl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for your detailed feedback. Of course we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but also want to thank you for the critical remarks. With pleasure we will forward your kind words about our staff. We would be delighted to be able to welcoming you again in the near future and remain with

kind regards
El tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a week staying here with hubby and daughter. We shared a triple room which was maybe a little dated but very large and clean and had everything we needed. I had upgraded to a sea view superior room and was given room 107, it had the biggest patio area ever with a table and 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers, perfect for sunbathing as you get the sun from early morning til 12 then back again about 5 and it had a wonderful view all round.
The room has a digital safe at a cost of 2.50 euros daily (payable in advance at reception), a fridge to use FOC, free tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and plenty of sockets. Free wifi is available but you must get a code daily from reception. Room key is inserted just inside main door to operate electric.
We reported to reception the patio door had a lock that didn't work and just a chain to keep it shut which we didn't like. This was sorted out straight away and a bottle of sparkling wine left for our inconvenience.
To use the gym and spa you have to pay 5 euros each time, so we didn't bother. The pool area is lovely and clean with plenty of beds and manned by a lifeguard 9-5. The pool is not heated though and is freezing, so I didn't use this which was a shame. Pool towels are 5 euros each added to your room account which is taken off when you return the towels.
Food choice was relatively good, but if you have a picky one can be a bit limited. As previous reviews some of the food was just warm and not a great choice of deserts. Full breakfast available though even fried bread, funny toasters used, bread needs to go round at least 5 times to get any colour on! An assortment of fruit juices and hot drinks available from help yourself machines.
Entertainment wasn't our cup of tea, a show of wild birds, a singer and flamenco dancer.
Yes it is 125 steps down to the town, which was a lot easier going down than coming up, which we did at least twice a day, kept us fit though, but once down that's it your there, doesn't take more than 5 mins.
We really enjoyed our stay, yes in parts hotel shows signs of wear and tear but overall nothing even worth mentioning. This hotel is suitable in my opinion for the mature person (at least over 40) not children or anyone with walking difficulties, anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday and it does attract a lot of German clientele.

Room Tip: room 107, first floor corner, sea view, massive patio area and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola090963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear guests,

we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your positive review. We also thank you for your critical remarks as we are constantly making efforts to improve our service. Hoping to be able to welcoming you again soon we remain with

kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from a last minute deal to El Tope, via Thomson's 5th floor room looking to Volcano. just about hour from South Airport via mainly motorway. Great view to sea too, a bit obstructed by 20 story flats in distance. Have done the 125 step down to the local centre at least once a day both ways, gets easier as the week goes on. its only 110 to the 5th floor , so exercise done for the day before we start.
Food has a wide selection not just European market, although practice some basic Spanish as most of the waiting staff only want to speak Spanish even if they understand some English. German is more common spoken. Food is help yourself, both breakfast and dinner, Although these are ease of use , I found this can often lead to some food being out that is not so hot, or even cold on occasion, although if this was mentioned to the maître dee he quickly sorted it. with fresh hotter food. Rooms clean and acceptable although carpets wear showing.
Had a range of entertainment on most nights except Sunday , from birds of prey to a local Spanish speaking singer, a great pianist who loved what he was was playing as well as the guests and was great to see someone enjoying what he was doing, not just doing because it was work.
The hotel was full when left but had a great free courtesy room and show for freshen up before long flight home.
The hotel is showing signs of wear since recession, carpets are thread bear in places, which detracts from the overall good service , rooms are clean and towel changed at least three times a week. beds sound and able t get good sleep on, air con works ok on medium setting, for room, Safety deposit is combi electronic for 2.5 euro a day and having a salad out for us in our room when arrived at 12.30 am was just what you need for a late snack.

Pool is large round but is very deep one side 2.35m and 1.20 other so it is not good for little ones , it is mainly an adults only hotel , only seen one 6 year old there who was very good with grandparents. Life guard about and attentive from 9-5 after that , it well signed that it not monitored.
Thomson's have got in with blanket trip people who are offering free trip to west and north of island, OK for free trip to see other bits island, at zero cost if you remember to bring pack lunch, up and down mountain roads in coach can be a bit bouncy but overall a few sites too see on way. Lots to see in town, some good churches with decorative insides. If you want a cheap camera or electronics, or perfume suss out models and cost before you go as there are a lot of similar models about that are the slightly older versions at looks like fantastic prices, but can vary a fair bit then have extras added on but still cheaper that UK .
Drinks fair price at hotel and good measures with shorts.
Enjoyed break, last day in sea at volcanic beach black sand and Atlantic ocean, sea can be surf and wavy a bit , nearest to hotel, has varying depth rocks shortly after sand drops away and depth varies a lot. Strong current, but their is a lido close by and also more shelter areas to get in the sea with 5-10 min walk.

Room Tip: High rooms scenic side see mountain /volcano and sea ,k although local cockerels get up at sun rise. don't hear much if balcony door shut and air con on. (free) sunny in afternoons until late evening and sunset from balcony too
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for taking the time to give such detailed feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 week on a late deal. On arrival very late at night a very nice salad with fruit had been left in the room. We had a feature view, which we were not sure what to expect, but managed a fantastic view of the sea, some of the town and the cliffs in the distance. Room was comfortable and kept very clean with air con .We were on a half board basis and the food overall was very good. The breakfast had a very wide choice and on Sunday there was even sparkling wine .Evening meals were also very good with a wide variety of salads and a good range of main courses. The pool is good, with a more-than-happy-to-help lifeguard helps set you up for your pool with sun lounger covers, umbrella and towels. He is very courteous.
Staff are polite and helpful at all times. The hotel is clean and the bar has a good selection of reasonably priced drinks.
Overall a nice hotel but just starting to show its age probable ready for a face lift.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msheyworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will of course forward your kind words to our lifeguard.
Hoping to be able to welcoming you again in the near future we remain with

kind regards from Tenerife,

El Tope Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews