We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Can't Beat Staying at the El Tope”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Tope

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Tope
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We Can't Beat Staying at the El Tope”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I had yet another great two weeks stay at the El Tope (our second visit to the hotel in the last three years). We paid for one of the superior rooms with larger balcony, which meant that we could get the sun there until about 3 p.m. Our room was very quiet, beds were very comfortable and the room was serviced every day. On the couple of occasions that we needed to report a minor fault (a faulty bed-side lamp and a problem with a leaking hair-dryer tube) the faults were fixed within the hour. We arrived tired in the early hours of the morning to find a very welcome cold cuts buffet, fresh fruit, fruit juices and a bottle of Cava waiting for us.
As usual the hot and cold buffet choice was good and a chef is always on hand to cook fresh food at both dinner and breakfast. Head-waiter Santiago and his restaurant staff did an excellent job as usual, clearing tables quickly and complying with requests and they all spoke both English and German (the two most numerous nationalities of guest). The pool area was never too busy and a lifeguard gave you towels, mattresses and sun-umbrellas on request. Instead of sampling flamenco and local singing in the hotel we went into town for a stroll and drinks in the evenings. We often enjoyed a quiet drink at the Plaza de Compostelana Restaurant, in the Plaza de Charco, listening to Bob Marley and Eric Clapton tribute acts. We found that by far the best night-time entertainment was at Molly Malone’s Irish pub, down by the harbour. There, friendly mine host Des Reid, gets to know all his visitors on a one to one basis and entertains his international audience with a mix of Irish songs, Country and Western, and international ballads. Lots of his customers join in with singing and instruments and the night could feature talented musicians from Ireland, the United Kingdom, Spain, Holland and Germany amongst other nations. We normally walked down to town and back, but there are around 140 steps up from the Pyramids de Martianez Shopping Centre to the hotel. There is also a steep windy road as an alternative route up and down to and from the hotel. My wife and I are both in our mid-sixties but didn’t find the slope any problem. However, for those of more limited mobility, taxis in Puerto de la Cruz are well-regulated and cheap, with a fare of only 3 Euros into town or from town (which was exactly the same as three years ago).
The best option for exploring the island is to buy a 'Bono' bus card from the main bus station for 15 euros, or 25 euros respectively, which gives you greatly reduced bus-fares. You can travel from the bus station in town, westwards towards locations such as Icod de Los Vinos or Garachico. If travelling eastward you can walk up the slope from the hotel for a few minutes to a bus stop near Zum Zum and catch buses to places such as beautiful la Orotava, the Tenerife capital Santa Cruz, La Laguna, etc. Fares are extremely cheap and you can travel for an hour for around three euros.
Best days out include the unmissable bus-trip to El Teide National Park (the breath-taking volcanic calderas) the world-class zoo of Loro Park (with its dolphin and Orca shows, penguinarium, gorillas and chimpanzees. More locally you can walk to the Jardin Botanico (the Botanical Gardens, the Jardin Orquidea (Orchid Garden) and the Jardin Taoro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedManNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you ever so much for your positive feedback and your kind words. We will of course forward them to all our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be pleased to be able to welcoming you again in the near future! Wishing you all the best we remain with

kind and sunny regards from Puerto de la Cruz,

El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    358
    150
    67
    34
See reviews for
118
482
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a lovely week at El Tope. It is true, at the moment it is definitely set up for couples and evenings are very quite after the evening meal. However, our family room was spacious, immaculately clean and the staff were welcoming and friendly with my husband and I and our 13 month old son. The dining room and communal areas are very well presented and the service we received, excellent! Would possibly need to be more lively for older children, although the main town is only a fifteen to twenty minute walk away along lovely promenades. Only down side on a hill. Not a problem for any one fit enough. Even though we arrived very late in the evening, a cold meal was ready for us with refreshments and fruit - much appreciated. The small pool is perfect for couples and surrounded by rose gardens, but within walking distance there is an excellent lido facing the sea. Great for a change and perfect for families. We found we had the best of both worlds. Nearby beaches are clean and well serviced. The best being another ten minute stroll from the centre.

Room Tip: 1st floor facing the sea had a lovely big balcony, safe for children with a solid wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear guests,

we are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time and we would be glad to have you back visiting us. We of course take on board your advice and comments and will certainly take them into account when improving our services.

Kind regards,

El Tope Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have been to this hotel 3 times in the last few years.
All the comments re nice staff & cleaniness is correct .It could do with having some refurbishment eg.carpets & new mattresses for beds as we could feel the springs.
We felt the last time that the food let it down, I am afraid this time it was no better if not worse,food was lukewarm I asked if they had a microwave the answer from a customer was NO
So we will not be returning to the Gran El Tope Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for taking the time for your feedback and the constructive comments. We are of course disappointed that in your view we have not been able to keep our standards. Nevertheless we hope that you give us another chance to prove ourselves in another light.

Kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz,

El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our first visit to Tenerife - really liked El Tope hotel. Very welcoming and friendly staff. As we arrived late at night, there was a cold buffet meal awaiting us in our room - a lovely touch. Room was very spacious, carpeted rooms mean that sound from the other floors does not travel, so we got plenty of peace and quiet.
Mostly couples or groups of friends staying as guests - a mixture of German, Spanish & British guests. Lovely restaurant and staff - plenty of food and even something for a fussy vegetarian like me!
Grounds of hotel very well kept, nice pool - not big, but seemed fine for the number of guests around/using it.
Steep path or steps down into the town - fine for fit and mobile persons; may be restrictive for people with mobility difficulties but there were plenty of taxis at the bottom of the hill!
Really liked Puerto de La Cruz - had a traditional Spanish feel to it. Mostly cloudy during our stay but that was fine as we prefer to sight see. Great trip to Masca, Garachico and Icod. Fabulous trip to Teide via Orotava - a lovely Spanish town. We were above the clouds near Teide - magical. Would definitely hire a car and walk in the national park next time; although the coach trip was very informative and a great way to see places for the first time.
Had a lovely day at Loro Parque - get there via the free mini road train from Puerto (near McDonalds)
Would definitely recommend this hotel and resort! Thank you El Tope!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind words and for praising our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping to be able to welcoming you again in the near future we remain with kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This visit was our fifth to this hotel, the previous visit being in late November to early December 2012. Whilst the general hotel areas are still satisfactory, certain areas of the hotel and our room on this particular occasion were certainly in need of some refurbishment but it was kept beautifully clean at all times.

Our biggest disappointment however, was that the quality and variety of food on offer had deteriorated considerably in the few months since our previous visit. The special Vegetarian Bar selection was no longer available after our first few evenings and the variety of fresh fruit both at breakfast and evening was noticeably less than we had ever seen on our previous visits.

We did speak to other returning guests on occasions and found that we were not alone in our observations.

Despite our disappointment, we felt the staff, although it appeared fewer in number, were all very efficient as usual.

Room Tip: One of the higher floors on the pool side, so long as you do not have an aversion to noisy cockerels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is true that we are making some changes on the buffet but do not have less choice as the vegetarian dishes are now integrated in the main buffet. Nevertheless we hope that you had a lovely stay and will visit us again soon. Thank you for your continued loyalty. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a great two weeks stay at the El Tope. The accommodation is basically good although there are some areas in need of updating. Our room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view but the carpet was quite grubby and definitely in need of replacing - a tiled floor would be more suitable. We enjoyed the food. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Bearing in mind that it is a buffet, getting really hot food is going to be a bit hit and miss. However the chef did cook fresh food at both dinner and breakfast. We did not eat the 'English' breakfast but made our own fruit salad with the fresh fruits on offer - apples, bananas, oranges, kiwi, grapefruit etc. to have with yogurt. The scrambled egg was freshly prepared and there was a lovely variety of breads. My only criticism of the evening meal was in the limited choice of sweets. We would have preferred some of the lovely pastries on offer at breakfast to be available as sweets for the evening meal. Having said this, there was a good variety of salads, soup and main courses - no one would go hungry. Perhaps a saving could be made by not having champagne on offer on Sunday morning - would anyone object?
The evening entertainment in the Hotel was variable. We very much enjoyed the folk dancing and Flamenco.
The staff were all very pleasant and efficient - particularly the dining room staff who were quick to remove used crockery and reset tables. They were also good at speaking English as well as French and German.
There are over 100 steps or steep slope to get into town from the El Tope so anyone with mobility problems would need to consider this and be prepared to take local taxis - not expensive for short journeys.
We feel this was a great value for money holiday and would be happy to return to the El Tope.

The El Tope is in a great position for getting out and about and exploring the island. My tip is to get a bus 'Bono' card from the bus station which gives a great reduction on bus travel. Once you have your card you do not need to walk to the bus station unless you are going West. There is a bus stop 5 minutes walk uphill to the main road, which you can catch to get to many places - Santa Cruz, La Laguna, Oratava etc. Fares are extremely cheap. You can travel for an hour for around e3. You can get to Mt. Teide (same bus stop) but this is the only bus you can't use your Bono card on. There is only 1 bus up at 9.15 and one bus back at 4pm. To the furthest stop at the Parador and visitor Centre (past the cable car station) costs around e12 return.
There are lots of interesting places to visit in Puerto Cruz - Loro Park, the Lido, the Botanical Gardens, the Orchid Garden, the town and harbour area, Jardin Beach and gardens, Jardin Taoro. Slightly inland, the town of Orotava is a beautiful place to visit with lots of interesting buildings and park areas. Garachico in the west is also worth visiting.

Room Tip: Higher rooms - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YAG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a detailed and positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to forward your kind words to our staff. Hoping to be able to welcoming you again and until then wishing you all the best, we remain with kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Excellent service, good food with plenty of choice, tranquil and calm, rooms imaculately clean, generous size. Good views over bay or Mt Teide. This is our third visit and we're booking again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you are willing to come back again. Until then we remain with warm regards. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tope

Property: Hotel El Tope
Address: Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing