We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Apartamentos RF Bambi(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$51
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$263
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$51
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
$87
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$231
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)
$113
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$105
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveler rating
348
415
191
82
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
415
191
82
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorsaladmount teideevening entertainmenthalf boardmountain vieworchid gardenmobility problemsloro parquebuffet stylecorner roomsun loungersfood on offerreception staffbreakfast and dinnerlarge balconyplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the El Tope, our double superior room om the 3rd floor was ideal ...view of the mountains and the sea, side view over the pool area,our own sun loungers, service 1st class from housekeeping to reception ..bar and pool area, this hotel is kept spotless. the food buffet style, had lots of choice , we were entirely satisfied with breakfast and evening meal , well done everyone,and, didn t break the bank.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior..and reuest which view you would prefer.we were overlooking the tennis courts and seemed to have the sun most of the day.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lyndaaa065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have stayed in many of the hotels in Puerto and this is regarded as one of the better ones. The location isn't ideal, being halfway between the town and the tourist area of La Paz. I found the staff quite unfriendly. For example, when I arrived and parked the car, a porter came out and was quite rude asking if I was resident then telling me there wasn't any space available as other regular guests needed the spaces! Also found the restaurant staff had bad attitudes. If they recognized you as a regular guest you were treated well but if your face was new you were ignored. Facilities and rooms need updating. Basically, if your a regular visitor then you probably love this hotel. If youre new to the resort then you can do better elsewhere!

Room Tip: Its worth paying extra for room with a view of the mountain.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

On arrival at the hotel the first impressions were good. Check in was efficient and our rooms were ready so luggage was left in room and we went straight down to the pool area. The pool was rather small and the sunbeds a bit grubby however the pool staff were very efficient and attentive. A small deposit is required if you wish to hire towels.
On return to our rooms to unpack, i feel that its unacceptable to charge 17.5 euroes to hire the safety deposit box. Its the first hotel i've stayed in to have that kind of penny pinching policy.
The room itself was spacious and comfortable with a huge balcony giving both sea and Mount Teide views from the 7th floor position.
The restaurant throughout was a little shambolic during dinner with the waiters clearly not paying attention to any form of customer service and food was ok but the hot food was never hot and the plates were always cold. Desserts were frankly a mix of bland mousses, tinned fruit and near melted ice cream. All of the food was from a buffet which was topped up regularly throughout.
Breakfast service was somewhat better but the selection left a little to be desired and again the hot food was cold and the fruit juices were either squash or liquidised tinned fruit.
The best service recieved during the whole stay came courtesy of the bar staff and pool staff, always polite, efficient and attentive.
The so called entertainment consisted of an organ player most nights and a vocalist crooner and always finished by 10.30-11.00pm.
I was a bit put out that my room never seemed to be hoovered and my bedding never got changed in the whole 7 days of my stay, not very 4 star service.
All in all a dissapointing stay let down mainly by poor restaurant service, poor food (rarely if at all hot), poor housekeeping and slightly dated room/decor and poor entertainment.
As a first impression of holidaying in Tenerife i think this hotel lets it down on nearly all the key areas which is a shame because Puerto De La Cruz is a nice resort but don't go if you want wall to wall sunshine. The weather is generally cloudy with sunny outbreaks. The south of the island is the place to go it seems for sunshine.
Would i stay at the El Tope again? sadly not. More 2-3 star than 4 star.

Room Tip: choose a top floor room with Mount Teidi views and sea views. also quieter on higher floors.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Plymbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week holiday.Lovely relaxing holiday made better by the bar and pool staff who I can't praise enough,however the reception staff not so obliging.Lovely food and again staff excellent.Rooms in desperate need of a makeover but were kept spotless has was the whole hotel.Ten minute walk to town down steps but much easier coming back up the road.Visited Loro Parquet which is well worth making the effort to.All in all a fab holiday but I wouldnt recommend it for children unless they are happy in the pool all day

Room Tip: Try or a higher floor room has you get a better view
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Olwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

we returned as a couple to our uk home on the 24 july 2012 from the tope,,,,,,,,, its our 4th visit , ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the first was with children in 2000, a no go hotel,, no ball, no lilo ,no music, it is still the same , today since then. we have gone as a couple, with myself and my , my wife.it is a very relaxed hotel , we are in in our late 40 years, the hotel is ,, very good and the service is exceptional, our room was cleaned every day,, a superior room , whch was on the 1 st floor,,, room 123 , a large terrrace 20 ft square, but was over looked by the floors above, ie floor 2 , 3 , 4 ,,,, so not so private as you would , think, but a lot of , scope to relaking on the sun loungers provided, we did not do any entarement at the hotel, i dont think its a popular done thing,, the bar on the enterance level was never open on an evening ,, 7.00 pm to 11.00 pm on any of the days we stopped , however for any travelers a taxi from the town square is a maximum of 4 euros, food was reasonabily priced , a good meal aout, say di canios an italion just of the square,, was 2 starters, along with two mains, with a one litre of house wine was 39 euros , into the square the posh looking bars with table clothes were more expensive, than the caffe bars on the other side, ie bar caffe central ***** a must do on your stay ,,,,,,,,all in all the tope is a good hotel, the breakfast as previous advisors are correct about the food temperatures at breakfeast microwawe would be an ideal soloution, bread and juice are re plenished freaquently but not beans, sausage etc,, only speaking after attending breakfeast at 9.15 am with a finishing time of ten 30,,,,evening meals were ok,, soups a bit strange, with the wordings, but good food on offer at all evening meals,, overall a very good hotel, being refurbished at this, time, but if all the rooms were as a standard of a superior you would book , all day long,, top quality bathroom, a fitting to any half a million pound house in the uk, yes i mean it,,, ps free wi. fi another added bonous,,,, this is a good standard 5 xxxxx hotel with no ratings on arival, it is an old thompson gold, with no showings of it,under 40 years old a very good hotel for 7 days, any older, clientel, you must now your way around,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, el tope is a friendly , helpfull hotel and i would reccomend a stat at anytime, plus contact me for any honest advise , that i can offer ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, m.ram61@blueyonder.co.uk

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shayman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews