We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
$99
H10 Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$139
$120
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$101
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartamentos Alta(Puerto de la Cruz)
$56
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Palace(Puerto de la Cruz)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Garoe(Puerto de la Cruz)
$138
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$53
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveler rating
323
409
286
117
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
409
286
117
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper poolsteep hillswimming pools arebbc worldhalf boardreception areacourtesy busbar staffhotel caterssaladstay at this hotel againall inclusive packagepublic areasevening entertainmentbreakfast and dinnervisited this hotelclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We booked our getaway through the hotel website. Don't be fooled as we were. The truth is that this hotel is very run down and surrounded by ongoing road works!!! The entrance is inaccessible and the hotel car park has no direct access or lift into the foyer or hotel at all.. We were asked to pay for five nights up front without even seeing the room. We asked to view the room which, again had seen better days and the carpets both in the hallways and rooms appeared faded and not too clean.
We decided that we did not want to stay but were charged for two people for one night anyway. The sound of hydraulic drills was prevelent when leaving the hotel and considered ourselves lucky that we managed to find a beautiful hotel not far away at only 2 euros each extra per night!!!!! I would not recommend the Hotel Sol to anybody and would recommend that the Melia Group take a look at it in order not to ruin the reputation of the chain of hotels which they run!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvrilLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Nearly excellent. Rooms were fine. Clean and well cared-for; as were the bathrooms. Beds were okay if seriously lacking in pillows and the rooms had decent views from either side of the building. The staff hadn't a great deal of English and I hadn't a grat deal of Spanish, but seemed cheerful and helpful. The pool area was clean and well-maintained and if it ever became crowded there was a second pool on a raised area to the rear. The main pool area was a comfortable place to relax.
Downsides; They were digging up the road just beyond the boundary wall and the noise could be deadly, plus there was a little walkway to be negotiated to get in or out of the front door and it claimed a number of victims in our time there.
All walks required serious hill-climbing either coming or going, but the immediate environs were very pleasant. Shady avenues and shops going up and the commercial centre and harbour going down.
Food was just okay and not a great variety, but not bad either. In the all-inclusive you wouldn't starve but you didn't look forward to meals with any huge anticipation.
The alcohol followed the same standard, local stuff but nothing wrong with it.
All in all, nothing to stop you going and having a great time. Its a long flight to the island and then over an hour from the airport so plan it carefully. We went with Thomsons and everything went as advertised but we never saw a rep. There are none in the north of Tenerife. Wish I was going back in a month when I've got over this one.

Room Tip: Seaward or North-West facing rooms are quieter, overlooking the old town down to the port. The inland, more southerly side, looks out on the pool area and then the main road and on towards the volcano. No apparent differences in room size anywhere, that I could see.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ricanold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one week in May, all inclusive. Had a lovely room overlooking sea.
Food was ok, not gourmet style but fine and just what i wanted. Nice reception area, barmen very friendly.
Night entertainment wasnt for me, but as most customers is slightly older than me, they were quite happy with it. Location - walkable to main area, down steps
Overall a nice week, and Id certainly come back

Room Tip: worth paying supplement for sea view if you'd like it
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank irishmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have just rturned from a week at this hotel. Would never travel with Thomsom again. We arrived at the airport and were put into a taxi. 1 1/2 hrs later we arrived at hotel. Hotel did not have any booking for us but as I had he paperwork and they were virtually empty acepted us.

We never saw a Thomspn rep for the whole week we were there, so much for customer service!!

The reception area was nice but the room were shabby and the air conditioning did not work. After requesting it be mended 3 times hey offered to move us but the same thing in the new room i didnt work.

We did get a bowl of complimentary fruit as an apology, suprising as we were all inclusive.

The area was very quiet and not suitable for anyone liking nightlife. The trek into the town at night was ok as it was down the 158 steps, but coming back up it was a killer.

The weather was overcast for most of the week. This is gthe 3rd time we have been to the Canaries and have the same problem every time. If you like the sun do not go to the canaries!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jennyandbruce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just come back from a 5 night stay at the Sol Puerto De La Cruz as a cheap pre-holiday getaway.

The hotel structurally is an easy 4 star, with a lovely reception area with straw seating, and big windows with views out to the main pool surrounded by greenery. The restaurant area is also very nice, again big windows looking out to the pool and roof is turfed, very eco! There are steps from the main pool to the second pool, which isn’t heated like the main, but is much quieter with fantastic views of Mount Teide and some sea view too! Also to mention there is a lot of lizards hiding the plants around the area, really amusing to watch.

In terms of everything else I would give the hotel a 3 star. The room looked tired, with paper thin walls and ceilings. We were half board and personally didn’t think the food was great, some of it over cooked so much you couldn’t stick your fork into it. I have visited a 3 star Sol in Majorca, and thought that the food was better quality there. Another complaint was the fact that the waiters seemed a bit peeved at us using a different plate each time we went up to the buffet (which we would usually do in any other buffet restaurant) we was on our third course before they collected the plates with much angst. We soon changed out ways to avoid the trouble!

The local area is nice, lots of souvenir shops, perfume shops and an old town. I wouldn’t recommend this area for people coming for a beach holiday, as there only little patches of beach that gets very over crowded. There is a water area which seems to make up for the lack of beach called Lago Martinez.

We didn’t pay much for the hotel, the half board add on was only £30 each, so got a good deal for what we payed. We enjoyed our stay but wouldn’t return simply because of the weather, most of the days were overcast as the clouds from the Atlantic seem to get stuck over the mountains. We ended up going to Siam Park in Playa De Las Americas, for a decent day of sunshine, so if I was to return to Tenerife, that’s probably, were I would go.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jadelihy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews