We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but no Iberostar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is a nice hotel and you get what you pay for. We paid less than £2000 for three adults and one twelve year old, all inclusive, so can't complain. Classed as a four star but would rate it more a three.The staff were generally friendly but found some of the bar staff particularly slow. Having to wait almost an hour for a drink on one occasion was a little disappointing. I agree with an earlier comment in that the red arm band is a disadvantage when it comes to being served. Food is good but a bit 'samey' after a while. The entertainment was very limited but this may have been down to it being April. We had a clown who did balloon tricks, a magician whose tricks were about 20 years old and a Tenerife dance troop who tried to sell you photographs and a CD prior to their performance. The acts would not be out of place at a children's party. The other four nights we had a combo of a chap on a Yamaha and a couple singing songs from the 80/90s. The scenery is very attractive but If you have any mobility issues then this is not the place for you. Hotel is on a very steep hill.That said however, the taxi to and from the hotel is reasonable at 3 Euro each way. Finally, be advised that the 'All inclusive' does not include cocktails, drinks like Irish cream equivalent, etc. Snacks during the day consisted of pizza or potato bread. Both very nice but after day four, would like to have seen a little more variety. There were no day time activities so be prepared to occupy yourself in times of inclement weather. We had 3/7 cloudy days and struggled to find something to occupy us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolyn081964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

Having spent quite a bit of time on the trip-advisor website I would strongly recommend this Hotel. I went with my father, wife and teenage daughter for a week and am pleased to say we all found the hotel to our taste. We went half board and the quality of the food was both sufficiently varied and of a high quality, well worth the extra. The dining area was light and large with helpful staff on hand. The hotel was quite full, with a lot of Germans, in the main quite elderly. The pool area was clean and attractive, with a second pool further up the hill. The furniture in the lobby and throughout was cane and we thought the hotel very tastefully decorated. The reception was efficient. The hotel is quite large with about 300 rooms but we didn't feel constrained. The rooms were large enough, carpets a little worn, but very clean. My father was impressed and felt he had not been in a better hotel. The evening entertainment was unobtrusive but quite good, local singers, dancers and balloon clown. On the down side next time I would take a transfer from the airport rather than hire a car, as the drive both ways was fairly stressful, not easy to find the Hotel on the way there and on the way back thick fog descended as we crossed over to the south part of the Island. The location of the hotel is set back from the beach, and the walk down is a good ten minutes and the walk back too strenuous for my father, but he is 85. A taxi back is about 3 Euros. The weather on the north side is definitely not so good we had overcast days but the town is attractive and the tour to the top of the mountain worth a trip. Not so much for our daughter to do, but she was quite happy with her own room and ipod.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra, although alternative ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DMW0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel looks as if it has been recently renovated and was clean and tidy throughout. Our room was high floor with a sea view. The place is not on the sea-front and as there are other hotels and buildings in between, a high floor gets the best view. Our room was spotless and decently furnished and very quiet. Breakfast was extensive, staff were generally very friendly and knowledgeable and the place has the feel of being well run. There are two pools, the main one is very attractive but can get a bit busy. The second is up a long flight of steps, but quieter. This is our first stay here and we would definitely return. Although not right in the heart of the old town, it is a good location and there is a car park. Though this was full on one evening, local parking is fairly easy and there are plenty of decent restaurants within a ten minute walk. Considering the (very) reasonable price we paid, we were extremely happy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richardb0wles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We have visited this hotel for thirty six years and from day one the most outstanding thing has been and still is without any exception the lovely friendly greeting offered to us by all the staff of "Welcome to your Tenerife home". and to know it is truly meant
.
The hotel staff from the Director Snr. Hernandez right to the bottom of the staff ladder are the most friendly and helpful hotel staff we have ever met over many years of travel and be it Reception staff, Room Maids and the House Keeper, Dining room staff, The chefs and kitchen staff, Bar staff, Pool attendants you have only to ask and whatever your request it will always be met with a smile and attended too if it is possible to do so right away.

Many of the staff have to our knowledge been working in the hotel right from our very first visit and it is always a pleasure to be amongst them, have a chat they all speak good english and always a laugh.

Over all these years we have seen many changes and refurbishment programs to the old Melia and must say the latest, the re-facing of the balcony fronts, this is super and has made a vast difference to the appearance of the hotel. But it is only one improvement of many over recent years and to mention a few, the two swimming pools and surrounds, the reception area and lounge which along with the Bar are all light and airy, but without doubt the refurbishment of the bedrooms and bathrooms was first class so bringing them all up to date with their lovely wooden bedroom floor and tiled bathrooms, along with new room lighting and doubled glazed balcony doors this helping to bring the hotel in its lovely garden setting and super location right up to date.

Overall the very experienced, helpful, hardworking, and extremely friendly staff in every department of the hotel, outstanding level of housekeeping and cleanliness throughout, and very good roomy accommodation is one of the hotels great plus assets and keeps us coming back year after year after year. Thirty Six of them so far and now looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarDav186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have visited this hotel 11 times since 1999, bringing at various times other members of the family, as we know it is truly excellent. On this occasion my wife and I brought along my brother and sister in law for their first visit and we were all warmly "welcomed home" by the Director and his staff on arrival. Every comfort was provided and anything you needed e.g. more pillows, you only have to ask!

Although it is difficult to criticise the hotel, it would be a bonus if tea making facilities were available in the rooms, and at breakfast many people comment about the queues at the tea/coffee machines and the fact that the water isn't very hot. The food is excellent, and the staff in the dining room are, as usual, very hard working but could be increased to deal with the high number of people holidaying here.

Rest assured, though, nothing will deter us from continuing to visit this hotel as regularly as we can. We regard it as home from home, and it must be a good advertisement for the hotel that we have noticed over the years that we always meet the same staff year upon year - They must be equally as happy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthony_p_harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Return visit by mature couple to large 4* hotel with experienced and helpful staff. Accommodation is to a good standard, with cleanliness and good maid service. Food variety and quality is very good, although restaurant can be very busy with large groups.
Pleasant pool areas and modern lounge with some night entertainment. Located part way up from the front (apx 150 steps) however it is easy to reach the La Paz area at same level.
Would not recommend for families with young children.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooper-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We have stayed now 3 times at this hotel, and 4 times in Puerto de la Cruz, travelling with older family members. We are always welcomed. The location is ideal, and it is easy to find a parking space. It is near to the "Abaco" villa, which is ideal for evening entertainment, and in any case, every 2 days the hotel provides this free. If you arrive late and miss dinner (we had half board), the hotel is so friendly and put a cold meal in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letizia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,703 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#39 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerto de la Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto de la Cruz

Address: Avenida Marques de Villanueva del Prado, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $78 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puerto de la Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Puerto de la Cruz is located in the residential area of La Paz of Puerto de la Cruz, with fantastic views towards the sea or towards Mount Teide. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is surrounded by a splendid subtropical garden with a large variety of regional plants.It is situated 10 minutes from the city centre and from the Martiánez swimming pool and artifitial lake complex, creation of the lanzaroteño artist César Manrique.The capital Santa Cruz is 35 km away and the airports Reina Sofía (south) and Los Rodeos (north) are 96 km and 25 km away respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Puerto de la Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Puerto De La Cruz Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Puerto De La Cruz Sol
Hotel Puerto De La Cruz Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing