We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four star rating is in correct - it should be 2/3 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I just got back from staying at the Sol Puerto Playa in Tenerife. The hotel does not deserve its four star rating. The hotel is old and needs to be refurbished to warrant a four star rating. The twin room I shared with a friend had no fridge. The hotel staff said non of the rooms had a fridge. The safe was a old fashioned key style safe. The breakfast chief does not know how to cook and omelette. The air conditioning had to be adjusted to get the maximum use out of it. The hotel receptionist refused to accept my Thomas Cook cashpass port for any financial transaction. No proper reason given. The cashpass port was used at Gatwick Airport and the tourist shops in in Santa Cruz with no problem.I expect to pay for alcoholic beverages with my evening meal not for water or juices for a so call four star hotel.

Room Tip: To get value for money when book a holiday through a travel agent do you own research first. I asked...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Jefa de Calidad at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear sadie s,

I would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to let us know your impression about your stay in our hotel.

We regret that our hotel didn’t meet your expectations, especially because we are always trying our best to satisfy our clients’ wishes and requests.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 599 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

I think the only time this hotel has seen a four star rating was in 1974. Faulty towers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Jefa de Calidad at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear Nicola K,

Thank you for your remarks.

We regret that our hotel didn’t meet your expectations. We are always trying our best to satisfy our clients’ wishes and requests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We needed an overnight to fit with our flight schedule so booked this hotel due to its location close to all major attractions and the reasonable prices. Based on reviews here on TripAdvisor we were "warned" that this establishment might not appear as a 4-star property as advertised, so expectations were low. But it was worse than we had thought... sadly enough. This is not a 4-star or first class hotel in any way but rather a mere tourist/economy class place well worn out with old and shabby furnitures and no frills.

We had booked an oceanfront room and were allocated a room on 2nd floor, which indeed did overlook the ocean - only you had to look across either a full size soccer field or a public sport pool. This stretch of the coast is rough and with a barren gravel path with campervans parked overnight. The balcony of the room is tiny and holds only two small plastic chairs, so this is not the place you would like to spend your day soaking up the sun, sorry to say. Must say though, that late afternoon the sun did reach the balcony and we watched the sun set in the ocean, which is always lovely. The room itself was average size with only the basics and with shabby older furniture. The bed was OK though with clean nice sheets. The bathroom is old but was clean and the hairdryer worked.

The lobby and lounge is huge but likewise furnished with very old and tired furniture and so absolutely no life... The breakfast room is located in the basement and is dark, large and uninviting. They serve a buffet - and as such you find more or less what you expect - but it looked as though the food had been out for a very long time. The fried eggs were totally cold. The fruit was all canned. We had a late breakfast and hadn't fully finished when we reached closing time, and as the very first thing they closed the coffee-brewer so no way we could get a fill-up.

The hotel has a tiny garden area and a small pool. The pool is indeed nice - but the deck is an old concrete one with plastic chairs and sunloungers and a ping-pong table in the corner. All fenced in hence giving you no views of any kind in spite of its close location to the ocean. So this is not a place you would enjoy lazying around for long.

The location of the hotel is at the Western edge of the town in a rather quiete area but as initially stated very convenient. A leisurely 10 min. stroll takes you to i.e. the Charco Square and the old town with lots of local restaurants.

Would like to emphasise that our stay was made pleasant by the very nice and accommodating young receptionist who helped us check in. Unsolicited he brought us a city map and offered to show us some good places to visit and wine and dine. His recommendations were perfect and hence we had coffee at a very lovely little local place and he made dinner reservations for us at one of the best restaurants in the city. He was smiling and helpful, so we felt welcome.

At EUR 64 one shouldn't expect much luxury - so you can say that product and price match to a certain degree - but it's very incorrect that the hotel keep marketing themselves as a first class 4-star property. We were ok for a night - but we would have hated to stay there for a full vacation.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms do offer a view of the ocean but are not first row. It is possible to enjoy a bit o...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I can honestly say I would never have gone on this holiday if I knew we were going to be put in this awful hotel. We booked all inclusive allocation on arrival in Tenerife to have it switched on us into this "nothing more than a B & B" Hotel. No drinks, no staff, nothing going for it. The staff said they were too busy doing other things like preperation of food, to serve drinks. The pool is poorly positioned, the sun does not shine til 11 am. The food was at best below average. The one night there was entertainment on, only two people in the bar apart from us.? That was a quiz which started late. We went out to the beaches and spent an absolute fortune on food and drink, anything to escape the sinking feeling of returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: simple, dont go there
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Disapponted, Not a 4 star ? Clean but shabby, no entertainment, could not get a drink or coffee till after 4 pm. Asked to go to a whelcome meeting but the courier could not speak a word of english, food not too bad but mostly cold, recycled napkins on tables gray looking not very pleasing to the eye, organisation poor, iit is a shame realy because it is in a good position near the beach and shops, good pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Have just returned from two weeks spent in a ????four star hotel with no tea/coffee facilities during the day, no evening entertainment except for just two Saturday nights when there was a quiz. The food was cold and boring, if you like pork or rabbit you were fine. Breakfasts were another thing every 3rd day you could have bacon, undercooked and cold baked beans, undercooked eggs, I just hate eggs with slime on the top!! oh and chips for breakfast too!!!! Dinner the cabbage came out swimming in water, carrots were cold and tinned. The hotel was so cold, we had to have extra blankets to wrap around us if we stayed in our room for any length of time. The wind just went through the hotel and up the spiral staircase to the 7th floor like a tornado from the front door which was constantly open. We were met with indifference by the staff who pretended they didnt understand,-- if you were Spanish or German you got loads of attention. We are a couple of advanced age, i.e 77 and 72 so we really didnt have an axe to grind, but in the whole of our experience, this has got to be one of the worst hotels we have stayed in. On the upside, we had clean sheets every 3rd day and clean towels every day. I cant believe we spent two weeks here if we hadnt have paid, we would have gone~!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea do not get the sun.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lighwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hotel is very old and need refurbishment urgently. On arrival we were waiting 40 minutes before get any attention. Staff - unfriendly, unhelpful and almost rude. Hotel was full of teenagers running around and in the hotel making a lot of noise. Looks like a youth hostel. Rooms - without fridge or tea and coffee facilities and unfortunately with strong cigarettes smell. Four stars for this hotel is far to much..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alluzja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parque San Antonio
Parque San Antonio
#28 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#29 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
#34 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#36 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Puerto de la Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Puerto de la Cruz

Address: Jose del Campo Llarena, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#22 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $60 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Puerto de la Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. The hotel TRYP Puerto de la Cruz is set at the heart of the tourist resort of Puerto de la Cruz, in the north of Tenerife. Set overlooking the sea, you can enjoy excellent views from the hotel. Stroll down to the Playa Jardin beach from this hotel, cool off in the Atlantic and relax on the volcanic sands. TRYP Puerto de la Cruz Hotel is equipped with a sun terrace and outdoor swimming-pool set in a beautiful garden. Take a walk from here to the Plaza del Charco and the small, fishing harbour of Puerto de la Cruz, popular destinations in Tenerife. Loro Parque is only 1km away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Puerto de la Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Puerto Playa
TRYP Puerto De La Cruz Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing