We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location.”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Just stayed overnight while paying a visit from Adeje, extremely charming overlooking the plaza, we were lucky enough to get a room with balcony overlooking the plaza on the third floor.
Had buffet dinner and would say it was value for money, nothing to rave about but at €70 for 2 partial board we would not complain. Great terraces for taking the sun with fabulous views, however been there done that and probably would not stay here again, but is definitely worth one visit if you get one of the front rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 423 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

Our first time in Tenerife and we chose this hotel because it looked traditional rather than a hotel which could be anywhere. First impressions very good. The palm lounge with the wooden balconies around is lovely. Our room was disappointing - we had paid for a balcony on the sunny side. Unfortunately our room was at the back so we had a balcony but not one ray of sunshine penetrated it. The room was very average and the bathroom needed refurbishment. The water pressure in the shower was very low so I never felt I was having a good shower.
Some of the staff were friendly but on the whole we found the reception staff to be rather grumpy.
As for the food, the breakfast was great with a good selection and nothing to complain about apart from the 'juice' which is not juice but some fruit drinks. Why can't hotels serve 100% fruit juice rather than this synthetic rubbish? We were on half board and were very disappointed with the buffet dinners. Most of the meat and fish were overcooked, probably because they were standing on hotplates so carried on cooking all the time they sat there. There didn't seem to be any thought to the menu. For instance, one night there was goulash but no rice to go with it, meatballs but no spaghetti. The desserts were not good either - too much synthetic 'Angel Delight'. On several occasions we went to dinner only to find that some of the plates on the buffet were empty - food should have been replenished much quicker. One night we were told to wait 5 minutes for a new batch of chicken.
As for Puerto de la Cruz, it's a nice town and we enjoyed our stay. The weather was great for winter. Probably we'll go back but I think to a better hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

2nd time here. Lobby is beautiful w/4 story atrium. Staff friendly and accommodating. They skimp on a few things. Pool NOT heated. Hot tub TEPID at 36 degrees C & no way to increase temp. Rooms basic. Flat pillows. You must pay for use of in room safe and fridge. Biggest problem: your key card is what keeps the electricity on in your room. Take it out of the slot on the wall and the electricity goes out. If you're paying for the fridge, everything goes warm if you are out for the day. There is a way to get around it though, as we discovered with a bit of ingenuity. Excellent value $63/night incl 2 meals. Food great.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed in a spacious bedroom with balcony ( I think those without a balcony might be small), it was a little old fashioned and the bathroom was in need of refurbishment. However both were very clean and comfortable and the bed was spacious too.
Buffet breakfast was a meal we looked forward to every morning, the variety and quality of items available were excellent.
The Monopol is a lovely old hotel and favoured by mature guests - you may feel out of place here if you're in your 20's (or Puerto for that matter)!
The staff are great, nothing was too much trouble for them, polite, friendly and above all professional.
If you drive here as we did you will need to park your car somewhere as the Monopol fronts the pedestrianised church square. We parked behind the hotel in the underground Plaza Europa car park at 15 euros per day. This is very safe, secure ( about 25% is used as the Police car park!) and very convenient for taking your luggage to the hotel. You could always park here just for a short time and then move your car to the free outdoor carpark just down the road at the harbour.
Would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HossinGlos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We had pre-booked a room with balcony (also rate was for this kind of room) with the request to have a view to the square via booking.com. When we arrived to the hotel we were given a room from the lowest floor (-1) with a view to the beton wall so what a disappointment for us. Also the bathroom was smelling strongly of moisture and mold that it was not convenient to use the room. I went to discuss about the matter and I could get the room changed but only on next day (they could not do anything on the same day). The second room was on the first floor facing to the square so it was then what we've ordered originally. The balcony and view were nice but it was noisy during the night around 3-4 am when the people were returning back from the restaurants. The service in the hotel was average (we were not compensated from the first night) and nothing special. The hotel was full of elderly people (+65 people) so in our opinion it is not a place for the younger travellers and we did not felt welcome in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

For our eighteenth visit to The Canaries and our tenth visit to Puerto de la Cruz, we chose Hotel Monopol for our winter break and delighted we did. Room 313 facing the church was large, comfortable, well appointed and with masses of storage space. The church bells peal every quarter of an hour day and night, but with excellent double glazed balcony doors this is not a problem at night. Cleanliness throughout the whole building was excellent. Breakfasts were good, apart from an inability to cook a fried egg to our satisfaction! Hotel staff were friendly and the reception staff helpful to an n'th degree. We loved the public rooms, particularly the main lounge, with palm trees and cheese plants that grew to the top of the fourth floor. The galleried landings were full of antique furniture, bric-a-brac and paintings. Situated almost in the centre of Puerto, made for easy access to all parts of the coastal promenades. For inland areas which are hilly, a taxi ride is cheap. The bus station is a ten minute stroll away, but BEWARE. Pickpockets abound and it's easy pickings for them during the crush to board a bus, as we found to our cost.
Eating out is great. Like tapas for lunch? Try ARCON just round the corner from Calle Blanco. The best in town for an evening meal is REGULO just before Calle el Lomo - expensive, but you get what you pay for. In the Parque Taoro area, is LAS FLORES RESTAURANT. Set in a lovely garden, you can relax in comfortable basket chairs with your aperitif. Eat on the terrace or inside from an unusual and excellent menu. Dinner is expensive, but their set lunch menu is available for around 15 Euros. For the best and certainly the cheapest espresso and cortado coffee, try Cafe de Paris, which is near the Lido. Sit and watch the world go by.
Bus trips to Garichico, Santa Cruz and Oratavo make for a good day out and if you purchase a Bono ticket for 12 or 30 Euro, this give you up to 30% off regular fares and can be used on the trams in Santa Cruz.
We love Puerto de la Cruz for it's lushness, views and wonderful fresh air. I can't ever see us getting tired of this part of Tenerife and we shall certainly stay at Hotel Monopol for our winter holiday next year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanterntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 16, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#29 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#40 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#31 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Address: Calle Quintana 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $46 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monopol 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing