We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay with a great location!”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I looked at the reviews before booking this hotel and did not find any of the 'negatives' that had been posted. I arrived back today, and as a single traveller felt comfortable and safe. My room was very clean (and cleaned daily) and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a varied choice to suit all which was a nice surprise (cereals, pastries, yoghurt, fresh fruits and in juice, cheese, ham, plus bacon, eggs, tomatoes, potatoes, bread rolls etc).There were all types of fruit teas as well as coffees and juice. The area when you walk into the hotel is a lovely sight and it was nice to just sit in there with a book and a drink and relax! The jacuzzi was lovely and warm and you could swim in the pool and see the sea! The terraces were lovely and relaxing too and kept nicely. Many guests return here again and again and I would do so too. There are old pictures on the walls showing the history of this hotel and various pieces of furniture and interesting bits and pieces to look at.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 307 which was nice and quiet with a sea view and a little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 420 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great way to spend 3 Kings Day (Epiphany) the first week of the new year in a lovely mild climate.The hotel has a tradtion of guests returning often and sometimes annually (from Germany , United Kingdom, other European nations). Few other Americans were here during our stay. The half pension (breakfast and dinner) is a great value and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

You can only but fall in love with this family run hotel. The indoor patio is the central point of the hotel, and there you meet with other guests. The free wifi only works in the public areas, a nice consequence is that everyone is sitting in the patio checking mail, chatting with other guests etc.

We had a room with balcony facing the sea. If you opt for this, you should ask for a room on a rather high floor. If you prefer seeing people you could use any room with a balcony on the street side. The street is pedestrian only, the noise level is acceptable to most guests. The location is ideal to us, close to the sea and Charco and the harbour, yet away from traffic and loud music.

There are many nice things with the hotel. An older member of the family puts a LOT of fresh flowers every day in the entrance and in other places. There are art on the walls, bookshelves and some odd pieces of old furniture.

Some other reviewers have complained about the food. We never tried the dinner. The breakfast however lacks the passion we found in the rest of the hotel. Why not serve local cheese instead of pre-sliced German cheeses without taste? A better quality of the coffee, better juices and more variety of the bread would go a long way.

Yes, we will return. With some improvements of the breakfast it will be an unbeatable combination of location, details that make you feel at home and value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aristofanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The location is very good: in the heart of the old town, eight minutes from the bus station, and just five minutes from the sea front promenade and the modern hotels of the Lago Martianez resort area.

When I arrived, reception seemed a bit overwhelmed by the demands on it. But clearly there is a loyal clientele who come back year after year and who know the staff and are greeted by them as old friends. Checkout efficient. Quoted room rates include tax, so no surprises in the bill.

The main lounge is a covered courtyard. Many of the rooms' doors open onto the balconies of the courtyard. This atrium is a pleasant place to sit. There are also two communal terraces and a separate lounge.

The building is old and has been added to and altered many times. So there are different sorts of room. You need to aim off for that when reading my comments.

My room was large (single occupancy of a double room). Old fashioned, decor a bit dull, scrappy. Ceiling fan (noisy). Fridge. Lots of storage space. Room safe (extra hire charge). Adequate lighting. Lumpy bed where you could feel the springs - not that comfortable. Black-out curtain kept out the light. No internal noise apart from water flowing through pipes; my back-facing room had a certain amount of external noise eg from events on the Plaza Europa. Clean. The one time I came back at 13.00 the room had not yet been made up. Neither of the doors to the balcony could be locked shut, and my balcony opened onto a common terrace through an unlockable gate and a low fence.

Pleasant to sit outside on my balcony, though the "sea view" required looking under the steps that went up to the top terrace and over the terrace and past a building and then there was the sea. Rooms with balconies on higher floors at the back would have a more obvious sea view. Some of the rooms at the front also have balconies - these overlook the pedestrianised street and church.

Bathroom basic. Brightly lit. Effective shower. Cheap soap and shower gel. Washing line for drying clothes. Clean.

Breakfast: decent selection of hot and cold food, indifferent quality, functional rather than a delight, eg imported factory cheese rather than anything from the Islands. Pleasant room, friendly staff.

Would I stay here again? Probably: location would be the big positive, and - apart from the mattress - my negatives are largely a regret that more is not made of the location and the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Currently staying in this hotel (pls also see my previous reviews).

Just to advise that at present the hotel is revamping the entire pool section and is quite a big construction site with all "side effects"

What makes matters worse is the fact that the hotel apparently informed tour operators but not individual travellers who will be up for a surprise upon arrival.

Guests are offered free tickets for the Martianez Pools.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JurgenMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice little hotel, lovely foyer area. Good breakfast, shame about the beds, these need replacing - this was my only complaint at this hotel. Would go back only if the beds were replaced. Was very conveniently located.

Room Tip: If you want quiet get a room with no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronsb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Monopol is a somewhat old fashioned place with querky decor and rooms -flower heads decorate the front steps , reception, the telephone , ashtrays - and almost anything else the old lady decides on that day. Staff are friendly food is very good theres a pool and lots of antiques and paintings of various standard to look at. If you re tired of staying in a square box this is a bit different I loved it ! Some rooms could do with modernising but I do hope that when they do that they won't change the absolute charm of the place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetingpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
220 reviews
0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#37 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#29 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#30 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Address: Calle Quintana 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $46 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monopol 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing