We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrid beds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monopol

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Horrid beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had visited Puerto de la Cruz many times and looked forward to having a pleasant weekend at the Monopole Hotel during our annual three weeks holiday in Tenerife. Whilst the staff were friendly and the charm of the historic lounge area rather special, the bedrooms are tired and the beds and bedding unworthy of being offered to paying guests. In simple terms the metal framed beds were similar to old army beds and the bedding, including the paper thin pillows, non of which matched, were quite beyond belief. Breakfast was adequate if you were prepared to ignore the cold bullet like fried eggs and cold fried meats. The location of this hotel is its saviour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 338deAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    173
    75
    22
    8
See reviews for
60
179
61
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Monopol in Puerto de la cruz over new year. We have stayed many times at this Hotel as we find it so friendly and relaxing.
If you want a 5 star boutique hotel do not book here. It is full of character and old world charm. Many of the facilities and bed rooms could do with being refurbished but the whole atmosphere would change. It has wonderful Canarian wooden balconies and a beautiful lounge area where tropical creepers and palm trees climb up to the glass roof.It is this truly unique setting that attractes many returning visitors. Some people have been for over 30 years to this Hotel which has been run by the same family for over 75 years.The food is very good with a good choice it is not fantastic but there is always plenty to chose from.
The staff are second to non, they remember guests from one year to the next. The main square Plaza de la Inglesia is opposite so there are church bells ringing but to me this adds to the atmosphere. It is not far from Plaza del Charco where you can sit out even in January have a drink and watch the locals dancing to the nightly live music.
Highly recommended if you wish to sample true Tenerife.

Room Tip: The sun is on the front of the Hotel over looking the beautiful Plaza de la Inglesia. yet in Summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked for one night in December 2012. 58 Euros including breakfast.

The welcome was friendly, the room was ready early and we had a porter to take our bags. The hotel is right on the doorstep of everything in Puerto de la Cruz. A great location.

Our room was adequate. On the ground floor at the side. A bit dated and the balcony was very shady with no view. It didn't matter for one night but if we return we'd try to get a higher room with a sea view and a bit of sun.

Breakfast was perfectly good. None of the massive fresh fruit tables that five star hotels offer, but no complaints. We'd go back.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor facing the sea or facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siam Reap Cambodia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Small clean room with a balcony that overlooked the pool and out to sea. This is a place for old people. Most of the customers seemed to be on an organised trip. Hotel is in the center of town and the only place to park nearby is public car park. The reception area has lots of plants and the steps into the hotel and covered with picked flowers. WiFi in our room did not work but good receptionj in lobby. There was even entertainment in teh evening by a group of local girls dancing!!! Buffet breakfast was ok but the juices and tea were of a poor quality. But for 58 euros what do you expect.
Would we stay here again I doubt it.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the square it has good views of things going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent hotel. Perfect location, few minutes from promenade, sea, shops. Friendly staff. Clean. Lovely courtyard to relax in. Pool, jacuzzi and bars. Lots of character and interesting antiquities along corridors on various floors. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view - then ask. Usually accommodated. Extra charge for balcony with table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loulouWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was impressed with the reviews for this hotel on trip adviser. However I was disappointed with my room. I could not access a room with a balcony on the internet so telephoned the hotel directly. I was told that I could not book a room with a balcony, that I would have to wait until I arrived to see if one was available. I did think this was strange but decided to accept the terms. The first room I was offered did have a balcony which faced the police station! Also the room was called a "suite" The room was certainly large but extremely basic for a 3* hotel. I was told there was another smaller room so I decided to look at that . It was also very basic, but was slightly better. It did have a small balcony albeit facing a wall with plants! It was overlooked by many rooms and did not get any sunshine. It had an outside light but not strong enough to read with. I decided to take the room and did have a reasonably comfortable stay. Pillows were very thin with mismatched covers. Be aware there are no toiletries in the bathrooms except for a very small cake of soap. As for the rest of the hotel, it is very traditional and attractive and although the rooms are clean they are seriously in need of being updated! I did ask the receptionist re. my telephone booking booking but he could not give me an answer.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was satisfactory, pity about the rooms! I can only assume they do have better rooms, just dont know how to book one!!

Room Tip: I wish I knew!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny1scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenerife
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just stayed here for one night on a mini break in the summer, it's very conveniently located in the heart of Puerto. It's a lovely historical building with lots of character and very well kept and maintained, the pretty flowers placed down freshly every morning are very pretty.
The room was large, very clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean and along the coastline. The bathroom is however a little dated. As with most Spanish hotels dont expect tea and coffee making facilities, I take my own travel kettle.
The breakfast was fine and had plenty of options to suit most people. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracye71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#31 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#29 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#35 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#6 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Property: Hotel Monopol
Address: Calle Quintana 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monopol 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing