We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with great location”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great location (right in the centre of Puerto de la Cruz, but still on the quite calm street), close to seafront quay (with all these restaurants and tourist shops, Lago Martianes), right in front of church. Charming design inside of hotel, nice room and very attentive staff on the reception.
If you get room in front of church you should be aware about clock ringing (really load) every 15 min. It takes pause for silence only for night time - from 11 p.m. till 7 a.m.
Free parking is 5 minutes walk to the port, yet just over the corner there's a parking for money.

Room Tip: to sleep well do not take room with church view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zhurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    180
    79
    24
    9
See reviews for
63
190
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The hotel was our worse hotel experience on Tenerife. The only positive thing is its location. We hoped to live in a small family-run hotel but in fact the hotel is not small – there are more than 90 rooms there. We asked for a room with the balcony and sea view as we read that the room with the cathedral view is a bit noisy because of the sound of the bell every half an hour. We got a booked room. The room was really very-very old and shabby. The was an awful constant smell in the room and we couldn’t do anything about it – a mixture of cigarette smell (though we asked a non-smoking room there was an ash-tray there) and canalization. I couldn’t take a shower as its flexible part was broken. If you want to have a shower with light – be ready that rather cold ventilation will be working and the only way to stop it – just to switch of the light. For the first time in my life I saw the fridge with the lock! When I asked for the key at the reception they kindly told me it is empty – I really still can’t understand the purpose of the lock! We asked for one double bed and got twin beds. The beds were very uncomfortable – especially pillows. The bed linen was very cheap and old. The room had a balcony with a sea view but the balcony also had a door exit to the swimming pool. As most of people went sightseeing or to the beach during the day only family with kids stayed near the pool. It means that it was awfully noisy because of children in the pool. As my husband felt not well the first day we came back to the room earlier than we planned before – so it was not possible even to open the balcony door and relax. We travel a lot but the breakfast and dinner was the worst we had ever had. It was the case when there is no empty place on the table because of food but you can’t eat anything – the quality of food was awful. I asked for fried eggs and was told – that I can get them at the table – cold! If you are looking for a small hotel with old charm and personal attitude (like small family-run hotels in Turkey, Greece, Spain, Italy Hungary or France ) it is definitely not the place. But if the location is the main thing you need and you want to stayhere for not longer than a couple of days – I would highly recommend the place - at least it is not very expensive!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alissa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a week half board in this hotel in mid May and we were very impressed with the location , cleanliness, and friendliness of this hotel and its staff. Good rooms with a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea, the hotel was never crowded and although there are limited sunbeds around the pool we never had any problems getting some. The only downside is the choice of food at both breakfast and evening meals, very limited choice of usually a meat dish or fish, eating out would be a better option although obviously more expensive. We would all definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: would suggest 2nd or 3rd floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

An oldfashioned but updated colonial hotel with a family ambience. Extremly clean and well kept with two grand sun decks on the roof of level 3 & 4 on top of a poolarea with bar room on the second floor overlooking the Atlantic ocean. Most of the night the guests are invited to the lobby area for various entertainments. The lobby as such is well decorated and the hotel invites its guests to free internetconnection in that area, where the main hotelbar is located next to the lobby on the way up to the poolarea with its own barroom.
Every single day the owner of the hotel arrives to decorate her hotel with fresh hibiscus flowers. From entrance to the reception plus the lobby area plus the toilets in the public areas.
Great breakfast with a wide selection. First class personal service in a nice reasturant .
We can recommend this place for anyone who wants to stay right downtown with everything close by but with no car traffic allowed on the main street just in fron of the hotel. No place for people lookin for nightlife though.
Thanks,

Gunnel & Jim;
Pleased guestes from Sweden.
Nini: thanks for all your support fixing the harddisc to my computer.- Highly appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We wanted to stay in a hotel with a bit of character and we were not disappointed. The central lounge area was beautifully cool and each day the entrance steps were decorated with fresh flowers. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was clean but fairly basic. Definetely worth paying for a balcony, especially in the hotter months. Having a swimming pool was a bonus. The hotel is quiet in spite of being near to the main square and lots of restaurants. Finding the hotel in the first place was a bit of nightmare as we hadn't realised that it was in a pedestrianised area and the nearest road is part of a complicated one way system. My advice would be to park up in a nearby free car park then find the hotel on foot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed here half board for one night half board booked via travel republic for only £56, so bearing that in mind it was great value for money.
Rooms were basically furnished (esp bathroom) but we had the benefit of a balcony overlooking the square and a fridge. Porter brought bags to our rooms.
If rooms were average this pretty hotel comes into its own with its communal areas, inside its very canarian with an open 'patio' area thorugh the middle with a canopy roof - very pleasant. Outside there is a heated pool and plenty of different balconies on which to sunbathe.
Dinner was buffet and nothing wrong with it, as was breakfast.
Didnt manage to find jacuzzi and Sauna.
Great location in walking distance of hotels and bars. Seems to be a favourite for older guests but clearly well trusted by Thompson Gold and its German/Austrian counterparts.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuartemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed half-board for a week - booked a package deal via Thomas Cook.
We loved the hotel's location and ambience.
Our requirements were pretty simple - we just wanted a break somewhere warm and a comfortable place to stay. Puerto de La Cruz and the Hotel Monopol provided exactly that.
We'll definately go there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#35 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#29 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valle Mar
Valle Mar
#14 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Property: Hotel Monopol
Address: Calle Quintana 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monopol 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing