We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Best Semiramis
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Alconbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days following a wonderful cruise on the Braemar. We were looking forward to our stay at this hotel, but it was SO disappointing. Our room was on the 10th floor and was a good size. To charge for using the room safe is archaic. Fortunately we received wi-fi in our room, but rooms below floor 8 didn't!

Bathroom: The towels were hard and felt like sandpaper and there were no rails or non slip mats in the bath. There was no ventilation either.

Dining Room: Could only be described as chaotic. Understaffing was obviously an issue and the few staff were totally overworked. It was always hard to find a vacant table and they were never cleared quickly enough. The food was monotonous and never more than lukewarm, even when arriving as soon as the restaurant opened for lunch!

A la Carte Restaurant: there was no sign indicating that reservations could be made, but would you really want to sit in there on your own?

Bar: Totally understaffed especially prior to main meal times. Waiting for 15 minutes to be served for a drink is certainly not acceptable. Clearing of tables in here was also very slow. After dinner is was virtually impossible to find an empty seat to have a drink or watch the entertainment.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithAylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Aylott,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We really regret that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations, despite of the good size of the rooms and the WiFi free (one of the improvements we are working on nowadays to extend it to all the rooms).

None of the bathrooms in our rooms have a window, but it doesn't mean that they aren't ventilated, as the construction regulation determines, by means of forced ventilation.

We are sorry to know that you found the Buffet Restaurant chaotic, as our Head Waiter is at the main entrance to assure a clean and properly table for every guest upon arrival. For my experience, some guests don't have the patience to wait for two minutes to be assisted by the Head Waiter, causing the chaos you describe.

The Restaurant à la Carte (not included in the regular meal board) is open with previous reservation for a minimum of guests. The Reception Department manages with the bookings.

The Lobby Bar has a maximum capacity of 300 people, enough for the maximum capacity of the hotel. Obviously, the best places on some special entertaiment shows's evenings are taken in fist place.

We take good notice of your comments in order to improve the satisfaction of our guest, as this is our real aim.

Best Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    373
    227
    83
    55
See reviews for
226
510
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed for a week in January and despite it being advertised as a 4-star it was more 3-star and rather shabby.
The room was OK. Food was very poor. All meals buffet style and nothing was ever really hot.
Hardly any staff in the dining room and tables weren't cleared very quickly.
As it was January the pool was not really an option, but there is very little space to sit and relax in the sun.
As it's built into the cliffside, the hotel only has a front and reception is on Floor 16 and all rooms are lower down. There is a lift to ground level and a tunnel under the road. This leads to a very rickety metal staircase that takes you up to the main road which leads into the town. It looked and felt unsafe.
No wifi in the room, although this was advertised. Even signal in reception was poor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank choosybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear customer,
Thanks for posting your comments, we are glad to know that the room was to your liking, we regret that our restaurant food is not to your taste. Concerning the space to relax and sunbathe inform you that we have about 400 meters of solarium pool area and 1000 meters plus yard about 15 feet away from the pool with sun loungers. Finally I inform you that the metal staircase leading to the city is in perfect safety conditions.

Best regards

Jaoine Bilbao
Directora
Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon,U.K.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after a very disappointing two weeks..The hotel seems to be run on a shoestring with evidence of penny pinching everywhere.The food is boring to say the least,and totally without imagination.The A La Carte restaurant was never open and the two set meals we experienced would have been criticised if the NHS had served them...The 2 swimming pools were so cold that they were virtually unused.Our TV went up in smoke and the room was so noisy at night,we hardly ever slept.Of the greatest concern is how a lot of old people could get out in the event of a fire ,if they had to climb 16 floors with no lifts.In fact the lifts were all out of action for part of one day.This is definitely one to miss.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brownheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Brownheat,

We deeply regret that your stay in Best Semiramis didn’t meet your expectations.

From 2011, Best Hotels is making a great effort in the refurbishment and improvement of different areas of Best Semiramis: new show-cooking area and refurbishment in the Buffet Restaurant, completely new decoration and carpets in several floors, new outdoor equipment for the terraces and swimming pool area. We will keep on in with these improvements until the complete renovation.

The Best Semiramis hotel offer two swimming pools: the outdoor one is not heated, but the one semi-covered on 14th floor is heated at 30ºC (twice a day checked).

In reference to the À la Carte Restaurant, we would like to inform you that it is not included on the regular contract with any touroperator, so it opens for a minimum of guest with previous reservation. In fact, every week there are days when the À la Carte Restaurant is reserved.

Thank you for expressing your concern about the fire procedures in Best Semiramis, as this gives us the opportunity to inform you that Best Semiramis, as every hotel, is under the strict European Regulation on this matter. The alarm and extinguish equipments are checked and maintained with the frequency that the regulation determines. The staff is trained every year in basic and advanced fire procedures, which include a fire alarm evacuation training.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas from Best Semiramis

Jaoine Bilbao
Directora
Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

LOVED the hotel ... Rooms VERY spacious. Staff all friendly and helpful from cleaning staff to bar staff to restaurant and reception.
Views are SPECTACULAR in almost every direction and it's an easy downhill walk into Puerto del la Cruz and for the lazier traveller (that's me!). It's a taxi back for 4 euros. There are also shops and bars in the streets around the hotel.
There is noise from the sea and the road below the hotel but - to be honest - I found it restful. The food .... Well ... I was there for 28 nights .... Didn't eat the same meal twice .... and always went for what was being cooked fresh each day.
For me .... I would return ....tomorrow!! LOVED every minute. If I am to be at all critical it would be to say that sometimes the bar and restaurant were understaffed - though that was only at it's busiest times.
The activities run by Karen during the day were great and varied ...and I got to know not only other British guests ...also some fabulous people of different nationalities.
If you're looking for peace, fabulous views, friendly staff and great huge rooms ...this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: All rooms face north so balconies are in the shade for the entire day. There are 17 floors and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Kathryn L,

On behalf of all the staff of Best Semiramis, thank you for your review about your stay with us.

To know that you have loved every minute of your 28 days stay in Best Semiramis is the best reward we can hope and the reason we work for.

We are glad that the words "peace, faboulous views, friendly staff, huge rooms and plenty of choice in our Buffet Restaurant are the definition of Best Semiramis for you".

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis.

Kind Regards

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkhurst, Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Five stars, apparently! Yes - the rooms are big and comfortable but the housekeeping isn't perfect.

My biggest gripe is the food. If you're on "all-inclusive" as I was, you certainly won't starve. I stayed four nights and the best dish, morning noon or night, was DEFINITELY the yummy scrambled eggs at breakfast. Bread good too ...

Apart from that, I felt the food was really pretty poor. Turn up for your first meal on "all-inclusive" and you think ... WOW! Second meal ... looks rather similar ...

Within a day, you begin to see that, especially with the puddings, there's really not much change, day to day.

Fresh vegetables in the buffet? - yuk - probably best NOT to comment. I ate MASSES of tomatoes - difficult to muck about with tomatoes.

All-inclusive DRINKS. House white and rose wines are more or less undrinkable. The red isn't much better ... but someone told me that I should have asked for other wines, also on the ALL-INCLUSIVE menu. DAMN - I missed out here.

FOOD. The main thing (it seemed to me) was that in this supposedly five-star hotel, at EVERY POINT, the cheapest option had been taken. In the UK, a five-star hotel might provide jam where the chef will have personally peeled each strawberry. Here, at the SEMIRAMIS, the breakfast "jam-type-substance" offered provided reminded me, in its texture, of ... well, certainly NOTHING to do with JAM!

Don't expect a "Mediterranean diet": you won't find yummy green vegetables as they will have been frozen, boiled into submission.

Sliced "ham" and other meats come SQUARE or ROUND.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Eduard1956,

Thank you for taking your time in posting your review in TripAdvisor about Best Semiramis.

We are sorry to know that the choice in the Buffet Restaurant didn’t meet your expectations. We offer a wide variety of fresh vegetables, not only raw ones at the salads station, but also cooked ones as part of our dishes.

In the dessert station you can find: puddings (egg pudding, bread pudding and rice pudding, alternatively), jellies, assorted cakes and sweets, fresh fruit (bananas, kiwi, apples, grapes, kaki, pears, oranges…), sliced fruits (melon, papaya…), as well as caned ones (peach, pineapple) and assorted icecreams.

The All Inclusive wines in Restaurant offers D.O. La Rioja and D.O. Valle del Duero in the white, rosé and red varieties. There are a list of the wine selection for All Inclusive in the Restaurant main entrance and at the disposal of our guests.

We are glad that you appreciated the comfort and space of our rooms and the choice of scrambled eggs, omelettes and the wide range of breads in breakfast.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is built into a cliff so is 'upside down' - Reception on the top floor, dining area one floor down and bedrooms below that. It is situated in La Paz, a suburb of Puerto. It's a 15 minute walk down some 200 steps, though these are interspersed with cafes for coffee etc. Alternatively you take the 'service' lift to floor zero and cross under the main road and climb the metal steps up to the road. Not recommended for those less sure footed. Then it's a 15 minute walk on the pavement on the side of the main road into the main shopping area and lido.
The hotel rooms all have a sea view but face north, so no "sundowner" on the balcony in the setting sun. In fact the sea view is just that, miles of sea with nothing to see! The room we had was large (702) with two double beds, and large bathroom with shower and bath. Masses of hot water. Excellent maid service daily and the room was impeccable each day. The downside were the hard beds and unforgiving mattresses.
Hotel food was varied, well prepared and displayed and was excellent. We were AI so had the Rioja wine at dinner and beers at lunch time. The pool bar served these drinks, plus tea and coffee. In fact the pool bar was the only place to have decent cup of tea as it used boiling water. The restaurant used 'hot' water from a dispenser and the tea was vile as a result. In addition it also only served coffee in various forms and no hot chocolate as an alternative. All the serving staff were helpful and courteous to us, because we were courteous and civil to them. I'm amazed how visitors seem to think by taking their frustrations out on the staff they can expect to then get good service!
The main pool was icy cold as for the majority of the day the pool area was shielded by a huge apartment block built behind (and south) of the hotel. The apartment block looked as though it had been uplifted from East Berlin and was a most unattractive vista from the pool. There is a heated spa pool and spa bath, but it can get crowded and noisy.
Good points? Food, staff and AI wine and beer. Bad points? Position away from the town, the walk in or 5 Euro taxi ride, the cold pool, the shaded pool area, sunless balconies and the boring sea view. (A sea view is great if there's something to actually see!)
When there are so many other hotels on Tenerife to choose from in better positions with better facilities, would I come back to this hotel? No.

Room Tip: Low floors are near the main road and noisier with the traffic. You do hear the waves on the rocks f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshtdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear AshtdMan,

Thank you for your detailed review about Best Semiramis.

We are glad you mentioned the good service from our staff, especially the Houskeeping Department good job, the Gastronomy offer at Buffet Restaurant, the helpfulness of the staff and the good choice of drinks in All Inclusive.

On the other hand, we are very sorry to know that you didn't like the location and that you didn't enjoy the stunning views from your room, as the sunset from our location is one of the most renowed of the island.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you change your mind.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice situation, excellent rooms. View over the ocean, along the cliffs and across to the edge of town is also excellent. There is a road below all the rooms so take earplugs if you are likely to be affected. There are balconies, but as the hotel faces north, the sun will not shine drectly on to them. Check the pillows; the standard ones seem to be quite hard but were changed without problem or fuss. The recurring comment about the restaurant is correct. The staff in there are very good, but there seem to be too few of them. Maybe this is a reflection of lower staffing levels at this time of year. The resort is pleasant and laid back, but has some life to it but it is a bit of a trek from the hotel and involves using either many steps on the route, or by using the metal ladder to get to and from the lower entrance to the hotel - not so good for vertigo sufferers. Lovely cava on offer in the hotel and great red wine, but the house white (yellow) is a shocker.

Room Tip: If likely to be a problem sleeping above a road, ask for a room on one of the higher floors. Do chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear djbcam,

Thank you for taking your time in posting your review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are delighted to know that you judge your whole stay as very good.

Although the hotel is facing north, those stunning views wouldn’t be possible in other way, the premises offer a lot of areas where you can enjoy the sun and the views: the swimming pool area, the garden and the several terraces.

I hope the rest of TripAdvisor’s users can appreciate your good tips and remarks.

Kind Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Semiramis

Property: Hotel Best Semiramis
Address: Calle Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Best Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Semiramis is a confortable establishment of five stars located in the quiet residential area of “La Paz”, 1.5 km away from Puerto de la Cruz and leisure complex “Lago Martianez”. It offers wonderful views of the sea and the north Coast of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Best Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Semiramis Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Best Semiramis Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing