We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed good points and bad points.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Best Semiramis
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mixed good points and bad points.”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is built into a cliff so is 'upside down' - Reception on the top floor, dining area one floor down and bedrooms below that. It is situated in La Paz, a suburb of Puerto. It's a 15 minute walk down some 200 steps, though these are interspersed with cafes for coffee etc. Alternatively you take the 'service' lift to floor zero and cross under the main road and climb the metal steps up to the road. Not recommended for those less sure footed. Then it's a 15 minute walk on the pavement on the side of the main road into the main shopping area and lido.
The hotel rooms all have a sea view but face north, so no "sundowner" on the balcony in the setting sun. In fact the sea view is just that, miles of sea with nothing to see! The room we had was large (702) with two double beds, and large bathroom with shower and bath. Masses of hot water. Excellent maid service daily and the room was impeccable each day. The downside were the hard beds and unforgiving mattresses.
Hotel food was varied, well prepared and displayed and was excellent. We were AI so had the Rioja wine at dinner and beers at lunch time. The pool bar served these drinks, plus tea and coffee. In fact the pool bar was the only place to have decent cup of tea as it used boiling water. The restaurant used 'hot' water from a dispenser and the tea was vile as a result. In addition it also only served coffee in various forms and no hot chocolate as an alternative. All the serving staff were helpful and courteous to us, because we were courteous and civil to them. I'm amazed how visitors seem to think by taking their frustrations out on the staff they can expect to then get good service!
The main pool was icy cold as for the majority of the day the pool area was shielded by a huge apartment block built behind (and south) of the hotel. The apartment block looked as though it had been uplifted from East Berlin and was a most unattractive vista from the pool. There is a heated spa pool and spa bath, but it can get crowded and noisy.
Good points? Food, staff and AI wine and beer. Bad points? Position away from the town, the walk in or 5 Euro taxi ride, the cold pool, the shaded pool area, sunless balconies and the boring sea view. (A sea view is great if there's something to actually see!)
When there are so many other hotels on Tenerife to choose from in better positions with better facilities, would I come back to this hotel? No.

Room Tip: Low floors are near the main road and noisier with the traffic. You do hear the waves on the rocks f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshtdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear AshtdMan,

Thank you for your detailed review about Best Semiramis.

We are glad you mentioned the good service from our staff, especially the Houskeeping Department good job, the Gastronomy offer at Buffet Restaurant, the helpfulness of the staff and the good choice of drinks in All Inclusive.

On the other hand, we are very sorry to know that you didn't like the location and that you didn't enjoy the stunning views from your room, as the sunset from our location is one of the most renowed of the island.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you change your mind.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    405
    246
    87
    65
See reviews for
252
557
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice situation, excellent rooms. View over the ocean, along the cliffs and across to the edge of town is also excellent. There is a road below all the rooms so take earplugs if you are likely to be affected. There are balconies, but as the hotel faces north, the sun will not shine drectly on to them. Check the pillows; the standard ones seem to be quite hard but were changed without problem or fuss. The recurring comment about the restaurant is correct. The staff in there are very good, but there seem to be too few of them. Maybe this is a reflection of lower staffing levels at this time of year. The resort is pleasant and laid back, but has some life to it but it is a bit of a trek from the hotel and involves using either many steps on the route, or by using the metal ladder to get to and from the lower entrance to the hotel - not so good for vertigo sufferers. Lovely cava on offer in the hotel and great red wine, but the house white (yellow) is a shocker.

Room Tip: If likely to be a problem sleeping above a road, ask for a room on one of the higher floors. Do chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear djbcam,

Thank you for taking your time in posting your review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are delighted to know that you judge your whole stay as very good.

Although the hotel is facing north, those stunning views wouldn’t be possible in other way, the premises offer a lot of areas where you can enjoy the sun and the views: the swimming pool area, the garden and the several terraces.

I hope the rest of TripAdvisor’s users can appreciate your good tips and remarks.

Kind Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We booked a senator room to make sure we had a good room, Internet and some amenities. After booking we also signed up for a membership of Best Hotels.

When checking in we had to wait an hour before we got our room and it did not have free water, newspaper or fruit as advertised. Because we had to wait an hour for our room the receptionist gave us twi spa tickets which we tried the next day. It was pathetic and the turkish steam room smelled of fungi. We left quite fast. Better to enjoy the free "spa" outside instead of in their special spa place.
The plates and glasses in the dining area was not properly washed and the food was very average without taste.

It rates itself as a five star hotel, dont be fooled.

Room Tip: You should stay above level 10 to get Internet. If you become a member of best hotels you should get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Jonathan V,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We deeply regret that it wasn’t fulfilled your expectations.

As the Head Receptionist answered to your message, by means of the Quality Department of Best Hotels, we are sorry that the fruit and water weren’t in your room as supposed.

In reference to the newspaper, we usually ask our guests, upon his arrival, which one he wants to be ordered during his stay, in order to provide it in the very next morning.

As your stay was only for one night, you could have had it on the departure day,

The SPA facilities are up to date in all the legislation about hygienization and maintenance.

As Mrs. González, our Head Receptionist, told you, we will be pleased if you inform us about your next visit to Best Semiramis to have an especial attention with you.

Best Regards

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The worse mattresses we ever had in a hotel. They where like concrete, very hard and the iron springs hurting your back. We didn't had one good night rest over there, which affected our holiday a lot. Due to this and the massive military food production during diner and breakfast (waiters are only concerned in clearing and cleaning tables), we didn't enjoy our stay in this hotel at all. Staff was also quite arrogant once confronted with the mattress issue. Hotel manager was nowhere to be found (hiding behind the front desk). This is definitely not a 5 star hotel, 3 stars at maximum, they can not even afford good mattresses, which is the most important thing of a hotel.

Room Tip: Not in this hotel, unless they change the mattresses. Please be so smart to find another hotel, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Machiel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Machiel B,

We are deeply sorry to know that your stay in Best Semiramis didn’t meet your expectations.

In Best Semiramis and in Best Hotels we have a program of renovation of mattresses and they are regularly changed, in order not to have a mattress older than five years. My sincere apologies if you felt that the staff didn’t assist you with this issue. We will check our internal procedures to avoid this could happen again.

It would have been a pleasure to have met you during your stay, and probably you have seen me in the Restaurant at breakfast, lunch and especially at diner. I try to be present in every diner service, as that give me the opportunity to talk with our guests informally. For those who want a more formal talk, they only have to ask for me at Reception.

Best Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for our first two nights in Puerto de la Cruz and it was a very beautiful room overlooking the ocean and Playa Martianez to the left. It is within walking distance to Playa Martianez (the beach) and all the shops around there, however, you may want to rent a car to get to the rest of Puerto de la Cruz. The breakfast that was included was very good; it had a large variety of food to choose from as well as coffees, juices, and (most importantly) mimosas!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madisonthompson_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear MadisonThomson,

Thank you for choosing Best Semiramis you to spend your holidays.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and especially our amazing views from the rooms and the offer on the buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Semiramis on your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my first break at this time of year travelling with Saga .have to say this hotel lives up to all the reports I have heard excellent location very hard working staff still smiling although they seem to be constantly under pressure.
Requested a room high up because of road outside was put on 10 th floor fantastic room all that I could ask for .
I have had no complaints about the food which always seems plentiful the pool area is lovely and Karen the events organiser is brilliant and I have had so much fun even though I am not usually someone who joins in much .i have made lots of friends which is really nice and can say that this is one place I would definitely recommend and somewhere I hope to revisit.
There is free wi fi in the reception area which is great as this is the way I communicate back home reception staff again very helpful if you have a problem

Room Tip: If you are a poor sleeper ask for room on higher floor as there is a road in front of the hotel all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear David F,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed so much with the activities organised by Karen, the location of the hotel and the service from all the staff.

To know that you are thinking about a second visit is our best reward. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Best Semiramis.

Kind Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is spotless, our room was incredible with a beautiful view of the sea. We even slept with the doors open to hear the crashing waves! The restaurant was clean with a wide variety of choice and the staff are so friendly and kind.
The internet connection is rapid. The pools are large and clean with darts/table tennis/pool/air hockey etc!The bar was so cheap we didn't need to leave!
The hotel is located in the perfect place to walk into town and quaint bars are on the doorstep. We travelled to Loro Park which is just the other side of town on a free shuttle train and the volcano summit is about an hour away. We visited a lot of the island whilst in Tenerife and I would say that this hotel has the best location on the whole island. We had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceritregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ceritreg,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are delighted to know that you had a fabulous time in the North of Tenerife and that our hotel and staff was part of it.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,608 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#14 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,828 reviews
0.8 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#27 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Semiramis

Property: Hotel Best Semiramis
Address: Calle Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Best Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Semiramis is a confortable establishment of five stars located in the quiet residential area of “La Paz”, 1.5 km away from Puerto de la Cruz and leisure complex “Lago Martianez”. It offers wonderful views of the sea and the north Coast of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Best Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Semiramis Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Best Semiramis Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing