We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good 4 star hotel.”
Review of Valle Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valle Mar
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good 4 star hotel.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location right in front of the promenade [no car traffic] next to the sea.
The hotel is very clean and all the staff are extremely helpful and kind. We had nice breakfasts,
buffet style, and brilliant buffet style evening meals, a very good variety of different dishes.
There is a very pretty smallish swimming pool next to the restaurant on the top floor, and there are
wonderful public swimming pools in beautifully designed gardens, palm trees and other
sub tropical plants, on the other side of the promenade, just by the sea. We certainly will use
this hotel again as we enjoyed our stay very much. i nearly forgot to say: the rooms are very
nice and spacious with bathroom, and they are also very clean with towels being changed
frequently. The town has a large number of shops all selling camera equipment, so I would think that a good deal can be gained in camera equipment purchase .
Mr D.R.Burton.
Eastbourne. U.K.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have better views , but we were quite happy with our room at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    124
    64
    11
    9
See reviews for
45
195
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have stayed a few nights at the Valle Mar in May, 2012. The hotel is mostly adequate, but the bathroom emitted a strong odor of sewer gas at times, and the plumbing occasionally makes huge banging noises. When I asked at the front desk to have a room change, I was denied. The man behind the desk first told me how bad a day he was having, then told me that the hotel was completely full (clearly, not true), and only offered to have a maid come and install a stick in the bathroom to cover up the smell. The maid said that the smell happened when the weather was hot and the sea backs up the sewer. Ha. Clearly the sewer lines are vented into the ceiling area of the bathroom. There is NO exhaust fan for the bathroom. Based on this experience, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Try La Turquesa in Puerto de La Cruz. I have stayed there for more than a week with a totally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ticoticomooche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

had a cistern leak.responded within 5 mins.couldn.t repair immediately so upgraded us to a seaview room.bigger and jacuzzi bath. also sent up a nice bottle of red wine.excellent.food was good too ,always a table in the restaurant.

Room Tip: lovely top sea rooms,modernised. but can hear muic from venues on the prom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank artistic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We booked a sea view room for our 28 night stay. The view was wonderful but the location has some drawbacks - more of than later. We stayed from mid Jan to mid Feb.

The hotel itself is fine, the public areas have been obviously updated and some of the rooms have been improved too, as was visible from the corridors. The staff work very hard indeed and nothing appeared too much trouble. Our room had not been updated but was fine, quite large with a balcony. Of our 28 nights, 21 were half board and it was with some relief to step outside for a meal elsewhere for the remaining 7, although we were not obliged, of course, to eat at the hotel any night for dinner. The (buffet) food is fine but nothing out of the ordinary sometimes but there is a huge choice and you can have what you wish. The cold prawns, though, were excellent for the 'exotic' buffet Quite often the food was not particularly hot but we did not complain.

There was entertainment most nights which was enjoyable. The clientele is mainly older German guests but, if you have done your research, that will not be a surprise. It did not bother us at at all. Internet is not free (one computer in the lobby) but is available far cheaper from any number of nearby internet cafes.

To return to the room itself. This hotel is 'L' shaped; the inside rooms get all the sun (in the winter time) and face towards the town and hills beyond. The seaview rooms that are located on the long part of the 'L' face directly onto the promenade and those that on the short part of the 'L' are over a side street. This was the problem. There are bars, restaurants and cafes on this street that seem to be operating into the early hours. Even with the balcony door closed - and using Boots wax earplugs - the noise still was audible. We asked on four occasions to move to one of the front rooms but this never was possible. Additionally, should you visit in the winter months, as we did, the rooms overllooking the side street get no sun after 9 am in the morning and take the full breeze off the sea. I would think twice about paying the considerable surcharge for a seaview room unless you were guaranteed a room directly over the promenade (note, these rooms do get sun from around 15.30 onwards). We really did not get any benefit from the balcony.

We liked Puerto de la Cruz very much and intend to return next year but we have already found a quiet apartment..

Room Tip: If sleep is important then consider having an inside room, which is also far sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Harvey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

In mid-October, 2011 I spend two nights at the Hotel Valle Mar, as a walk-in with no reservation. The room was adequate; not spacious, rather dated looking, but comfortable enough for two nights. The best part was the location and view; it's right smack in the middle of the waterfront area. I paid a few extra euros for the ocean view, well worth it. With the promenade out front, there are endless people-watching opportunities, and I was mesmerized watching the waves roll in to break on the rocks.

Downside: this place charges deposits for the safe key and the tv remote. The wall-mounted hairdryer is ancient and useless, but you can request a more current model from the front desk. Bring your own soap and shampoo unless you are content with the wall-mounted all-purpose detergent dispenser.

Upside: location, location, location. Easy walking all over town, a very good bakery/patisserie around the corner, great views from the oceanfront rooms.

In the evening the live music from the bar downstairs provided lively and loud entertainment until around 10 pm. I enjoyed it, but if you prefer quiet evenings, this place is not for you.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
181 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We have stayed twice at this hotel. It's perfectly situated and the breakfast is very good. But you have to like the sound of old-fashioned music till 11 pm. The cleaning is good but the rooms need renovation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arn043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have just returned from a three week relaxing holiday mainly due to the Valle Mar Hotel. Puero de la Cruz.. Tenerife, it's staff and it's facilities. The hotel has the best view of the Promenade, the Lago Martianez bathing complex and the sea in the entire town, this is when viewed from one of the front seaview rooms, although the rear garden rooms are quiet and ideal for garden lovers. The rooms are large, comfortable, clean and relaxing, with good bathroom facilities ample wardobe space, excellent beds. and efficient cleaning staff.
The food is served buffet style with something for everyone. Breakfast could if you wish tide you over for the rest of the day ( although removing food from the dining room is not allowed and not necessary) A full English breakfast accompanied by a huge choice of fresh fruit , toast ,tea or coffee will set you up for a busy day sight seeing or a relaxing day sun bathing in the garden complex or on the roof top pool area. Dinner in the evening is excellent and as a fish lover I had at least three varieties of fish to choose from including swordfish , halibut and hake, nuff said. I must add that the dining room staff were excellent they gave you the impression that they knew you personally and if you liked a particular wine it was waiting for you each evening.
There is entertainment three or four times a week at this time in the season which is enjoyable but a bit repetative. There is a library with lot's of modern english books and the bars are as good as most of the outside competition. The only criticism I have on the bar is that it cannot compete with the Cafe de Paris next door. I'm sure that with a little effort the outside bar could be greatly improved.
Finally I would like to compliment the staff on their friendly and helpful assistance during the whole of our stay. Ana and Andres on the front desk were cool calm and helpful whenever we saw them.
This is my very first trip advisor review and I thought it might end up a bit over the top but on reflection NOT SO Hal & Ve Kerr..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Hal91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,761 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valle Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valle Mar

Property: Valle Mar
Address: Avenida Cristobal Colon 4, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valle Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Valle Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valle Mar Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Valle Mar Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing