We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay, not to eat in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Tropical
Ranked #74 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel during our visit to Tenerife. The room was clean (although smelled of disinfectant during our all stay) and rather spacious.

Our two concerns were:-
- the windows and balcony looked at the main city square where in the restaurants they held very loud concerts every evening till mid-night.
- the breakfasts were not suitable for vegetarians, no choice at all apart from muesli and cheese, but moreover all dish-ware was very unclean.

So if you decide to stay here, ask to have a room not facing the square and don't have breakfasts in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ignaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 90 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great location in old town near seaside, beaches and bus station to take a bus for hiking trails and to Santa Cruz.
The entrance to the Hotel Tropical is NOT Puerto Vuejo 1! You have to access the Hotel Tropical through the Park Plaza Apartments C/ Jose Arroy 2! IT SHOULD BE MENTIONED in www-site or in your booking! The building is old and over the time, full of senior citizens from Scandinavian countries. My room had sea view without balcony. It was impossible to sleep without earplugs because of really loud noise from the square, Plaza Charco. Live music every night until late in the restaurant below and at square, in the wee small hours the cleaners started to clean the square. Kitchenette was dirty and floor was not cleaned well during my staying. Sunbathing area at roof top was fine but senior citizens reserved all deck chairs early in the morning. The swimming pool was grubby. At least the view was great at the roof.

Room Tip: Three star hotel by Spanish standards???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Only stayed here for a night and at the price paid (18 GBP) for a twin room - could not fault it. Shower was powerful, room was clean, bed comfortable, a full working fridge & kitchenette - what else do you want? The location was great - right on the edge of a lively square full of bars & restaurants, 5 min walk to bus station, 3 min walk to small beach. If you only need a clean room with comfy beds & good shower - go for this hotel; if you like sitting in your hotel room all day - forget it, you will not like it as rooms can be on the small side, the balcony is tiny and the balcony doors are a bit dodgy. This is not a modern hotel, age is showing but it is clean & comfy. Did not have breakfast or eat at the hotel as there were plenty places in and around the square. Did not use the swimming pool so cannot comment about that either. Reception was very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldRoamer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good value for the money and near to everything.
Loud music from the square every evening but downtown is downtown...
Pool high up,breakfeast more than enough.
China restaurangen next to the hotel very good

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmtStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

just got back after 8 days in puerto de la cruz, our first visit here....this part of tenerife is much more beatiful nature wise, & more laid back ..this is my favorite island in the canaries, the tropical hotel surprized us with is quality.. it looks like the room & bath was newly restored.nice kitchen with fridge & a small balcony with 2 chairs & table(a must for smokers). room claning every day & nice staff. had a room facing the plaza whitch was nice overlooking the sea. you should be prep. for some music from the bars nearby. the carneval was on when we were there...lots of fun , but a little trouble to sleep as they was playing loud to 6.30 am. we rented a car & did some sightseeing around the island, beatiful nature & mountains( do this). the Loro animal park is 10 min walk from the hotel, & is well worth the wisit...the temp. was not on our side this week 16-20 degrees & mostly cloudy..so take some warm clothes for the evenings. little long trip from the airport ca. 2 hours....but all in all it was a nice experience....we would prob. go back to de la cruz some other time for a break in the cold nothern winter.........

Room Tip: choose a room facing the sea....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BergenNorwayJog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Booked a week at the Tropical, left after 2 nights. The room was tiny and the balcony was smaller than a window box. Our room over looked the square which was pleasant. We had ants on the balcony and in the room. The swimming pool was grubby at best and filthy at worst, there was slime all around the tiles, tho it had an excellent view! The staff were pleasant enough but did not understand when we voiced our concerns.

Room Tip: Stay in an other place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mspurrrrrfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Tropical was a nice hotel, staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was great but sometimes nosiey but that is expected if your in the centre of the Plaza.Lots of places to eat and drink. Hotel pool was often empty so meant we had it to ourselves,nice views from the pool as it was on the roof.We were self catering so we used the two ring hob in our room,it was sufficient for cooking on.Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheekymonkeyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#65 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#50 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Pl...
#56 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#63 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel
Puerto Azul Hotel
#62 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#61 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Tropical

Address: Lugar Puerto Viejo 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $32 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aparthotel Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Aparthotel Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing