We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and price only redeeming features”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Puerto Azul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puerto Azul Hotel
Ranked #54 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Location and price only redeeming features”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location, the fact it was cheap and we only wanted to stay one night. We were given the keys to a room on the fourth floor only to open the door and find ourselves in a completely unmade room, bedding strewn all over etc. My partner then went back downstairs to find out what was going on, and came back up with the owner who just acted completely surprised by this but didn't really give a good explanation, just seemed to try and make out that someone must have crept in and used the room without anyone knowing! So he then gave us 2 sets of keys to rooms on the second floor and asked us to take our pick, they were both pretty similar except one had a double and the other 2 single beds. We chose the double bed room and it has to be one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in, ridiculously small and there was a door leading to what a would describe as a wide ledge rather than a balcony with the only view being of the internal courtyard. Also another thing I didn't like here was constantly having to hand the keys in and collect the keys when coming in and out. Also our room really needed a bit of sprucing up, there was paint peeling off the ceiling in the rooms and the bathroom door needed shaving at the bottom as it was really difficult to shut. The location of this hotel is great, but having said that there are other places here which are just as cheap that are much better, I wouldn't stay here again, I'd chose pension Rosa Mary which is only in the next street, over this hotel any day.

Room Tip: We were in room 204 which is a double room but really cramped and tiny, the balcony is just a wide l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thewanderingwinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Puerto_Azul, Gerente at Puerto Azul Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry about the first room you had when checked-in. I was indeed surprised (not “acted” but trying to keep calm) as on our record, the room was marked as “ready”. Please understand that we would not intentionally place our clients in an un-prepared room, there is no positive reason to do that.
I immediately offered 2 different rooms to choose from within the same budget category you booked for. FYI, our hotel also offers bigger rooms with small balcony facing the sunny pedestrian street, but they are slightly more expensive.
I am sorry that I did not notice this was such a big problem for you and your partner despite an immediate solution, as you seemed very kind and relaxed and did not mention anything you wrote. I hope you have had a nice holiday in Puerto de la Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    21
    14
    14
See reviews for
2
41
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for :) The bed was not a dream, I could feel the springs in my back. But next time I'm in Puerto, I will stay there again ! The staff was always helpfull. And the room was clean. There is free wifi that worked ok in most of the room I was in

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pål Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

What I liked:
Location. The hotel opens out to a really nice pedestrian street with restaurants and with seats and trees along the centre. Probably the nicest part of Puerto.
The staff, very friendly and spoke in whatever language necessary ( German, English, Spanish, maybe more).
nice room and bathroom.
Nice common space for internet etc.
Decent breakfast area, (breakfast extra)
Price: great value for two people!!
What I did not like:
The beds were made up the first day but not for the remaining 4 days and the sheets were not changed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

room was basic (but clean) as I expected so was not surprised. what surprised me was the service of the staff for a 2 star hotel you receive a 5 star treatment never met such nice friendly staff in all my traveling life very happy and would recommend to anyone that does not expect to much from regards to room. very central good hotel and great area the hotel has a hidden gem the rooftop terrace my favourite place as the views are stunning and you can hear the sea, I spent a lot of my daytime up there as it was peaceful and great time for relaxation which is why I went for 3 days and will return in near future. very happy customer

Room Tip: there is no swimming pool that's why I gave it a 1. keep open minded when you consider taking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john06186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pápa, Veszprem, Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location with very friendly service. The bed kind of sucked and there was no TV but I didn't really spend much time in the room so I guess it depends on what you are looking for. I would recommend it to all friends for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Socal434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is in a good location having some nice restaurants nearby and being very central.However it is very sparse.i had booked a balcony room and it is the only place we,ve stayed where the wardrobe was bigger than the balcony.Also from the balcony you can see in the room next door which was not very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My son and I stayed here we were here for new years eve as this is only a small hotel it was very nice of them to supply drinks on the roof at midnight on new years you dont get that very often in such a small hotel this is one of the most friendliest hotels ive ever stayed in the staff are brilliant nothing is ever too much trouble no matter what time it is day or night it is like home from home my son is going back with his girlfriend I would definatly recommend this hotel you even get free wifi me and my don had a brilliant holiday and I would definatly recommend it to anybody. From kim and boyce xx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#43 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trovador
Hotel Trovador
#62 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#58 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#32 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Don Candido
Don Candido
#44 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Azul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Azul Hotel

Property: Puerto Azul Hotel
Address: Calle Lomo 24, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puerto Azul Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four-storey hotel is situated in the heart of the old fishermenʼs quarter of PDLC, in the charming and quiet pedestrianized street (no traffic noise) of CEL. We have a roof-terrace where you can relax and sunbath. From there, you can enjoy beautiful views of the surrounding mountain range, especially Mount Teide - Spainʼs highest volcano. The hotel is small, comfortable, and familiar. Thereʼs free WIFI in all rooms. Internet computer, satellite TV and Wii in our common room are also free for all guests to use. There is also a small library, hot drinks (Nespresso) corner and vending machine for cold drinks and snacks. The reception is open 24h with multilingual receptionists who will be more than happy to share with you information about Puerto, the island and activities you can do. If needed, we can also help you print flight tickets or send a fax. There is a Spanish school in the house offering private and group classes for all levels. Breakfast (€5 extra) is served between 7:00 and 14:00 in a pleasant and light-filled room on the ground floor. It includes: tea, coffee, bread, yogurt, salamis, ham, jam and cheeses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerto Azul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Azul Hotel Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing