We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but there are some drawbacks”
Review of Hotel Aguere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Aguere
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but there are some drawbacks”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is located in the center of the old town, in a ancient house which is somewhat charming. Lobby is virtually non-existent, being occupied by the tables of a cafeteria which is not exclusive use of the hotel, but it is open onto the outside. It has Small tables and not so comfy chairs. Breakfast is served there and one is given a choice of just one drink/one bakery item/ one yogurt and a bottled juice glass. Our room was large but gloomy, no air-con but an electric heater, very very small bathroom. All in all not value for money, we felt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
45
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in La Laguna historical center (a way better place to stay than Santa Cruz) and 15 minutes away from the bus station. The staff is nice and the breakfast pretty good. I believe the only problem with the hotel is that the rooms are a bit old and could use some freshing up (paintings, beds). It's a bit pricey (70 Eur) for the value you get but all in all It's a good choice for a day or two

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you decide not to stay in the southern Tenerife tourist center, this is a place to go. It's located in the historical center of La Laguna (UNESCO heritage site) in a very nice historical building. The courtyard is gorgeous, rooms are comfortably big and if you're lucky and meet the young receptionist (as ar as I know there are three) who speaks reasonable english, you'll get infinite number of tips for restaurants, places to see etc. He is amazing in this (I stayed while I was looking for an apartment in La Laguna, he even helped me organize the 'apartment hunting tour'). And the breakfasts are plainly awesome. On top of that, the cafe in the hotel (it doesn't have restaurant, but there are plenty of restaurants around) is very nice and sometimes hold a concert (jazz, blues... usually pleasant music which just makes your evening perfect).
Apart from the great service, hotel does have minor flaws... like absence of an A/C (none of the houses in La Laguna have one since the weather is pleasant all year long, except for calima season, at that moment, A/C would be handy), too thin walls (honestly you hear everything your neighbors are doing) and some rooms have problem with wireless (which is free), especially in the second floor. Also the bathrooms may need a renovation, but no dirty feeling. For the price (90 euro per double room with extra bed), it's a great deal.

Room Tip: If you need wireless, go for the first floor, it seemed to be more reliable there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janapka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Tenirife was the only place in my itinerary where I didn't reserve a hotel for online. It didn't seem there wasn't any close to the airport so I decided to wait and find one when we got here. We were only going to stay on this beautiful island for a day. When we got to Tenirife's ferry station we took a taxi with hopes of him recommending a good one. This is when the adventure of finding a suitable place for my mother started. The nice taxi driver took us to three different places before we finally decided on the last one. He honored the estimated fare even though it was by a a few more euros. The Hotel Aguerre ISN'T EASILY ACCESSIBLE BY CAR, so the taxi driver left me a few blocks to check it out first. My mother agreed that it was a fine hotel when she saw the atrium dining area surrounded by columns and the spacious room with antique clothes drawer. This place wasn't always a hotel and has been here for centuries. It is in a shopping area of town. The room was nice but I soon found out after we checked in that there was NO AIR CONDITIONING. The front desk gave us a vertical fan which helped a little but I couldn't get it so that both beds were receiving the cool air. The bathroom obviously was a newer addition to this antique hotel. Watch your step! This was the only hotel in Spain where there was NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE FOR BREAKFAST--the food was nicely presented, delicious and with good variety. One of the friendly front desk staff with good English was knowledgeable about the island and even gave me genealogical resources to research an ancestor who came from the Canary Islands. We are still in contact via Facebook. It was the only hotel of our vacation where I took photos of inside and I posted them here.

Room Tip: Don't go during the hot months of summer because of the lack of air conditioning of this antique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed just the one night en-route to La Palma. It was just an €8 taxi ride from the airport.

The building is truly beautiful and has a certain WOW factor on arrival. Rooms are functional rather than elaborate and clean. Bathrooms are very dated and ours was tiny. They need replacement but was hardly a major issue due to our length of stay.

The breakfast was brilliant for the rate we paid, fresh and delicious. You eat in the glazed courtyard served via the cafe on site.

Would recommend for a short stay. It's a lovely historic town with local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week at the Aguere in February and it is a charming old world hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, the shower room small and basic, with beautiful street views and the theatre opposite it was like a step back in time, in a nice way. Breakfast is a fairly basic affair but then you don't go to Spain for the breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff and no extra charge for the room safe. The rooms overlook a central covered courtyard with potted palms and ornate features which is a real delight. Set on a pedestrianised street we could still bring our hire car up to unload luggage. Parking is quite expensive in the paid carparks but with a bit of perseverance you can find an on street space which is free. A lovely old town to wander around, nice bars and restaurants and feels very safe and unthreatening, just a short walk from the tram down to Santa Cruz. Two nice beaches we visited in the north are Las Teresitas and Bajamar both about 25 minute drive from La Laguna. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys old world charm, it's not a mod cons hotel and if you are a late riser you may not appreciate that the hotel wakes you up when it wakes up, just the general noise from other rooms etc. The flip side is that there are very few city centre hotels at which you can leave your bedroom window open all night and hear no traffic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank contactsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Excellent service and a delightful hotel. Beautiful and with lots of character. Reception staff particularly helpful. This was very good value for money and full of old world charm but with all necessary facilities including free wifi. The central courtyard houses a lively but quiet cafe and we enjoyed a free short concert there one night. The hotel is in the centre of the old part of La Laguna which has lots of lovely traditional buildings and good tapas bars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delesseria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Cristobal de La Laguna
0.4 mi away
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Laguna Gran Hotel
La Laguna Gran Hotel
#3 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
MC San Agustin
MC San Agustin
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
997 reviews
4.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,788 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
#8 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aguere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aguere

Property: Hotel Aguere
Address: C/ La carrera, 55, San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Cristobal de La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Cristobal de La Laguna
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel Aguere. A remodeled hotel located in the former house of the Marquis of Torrehermosa. Our building is declared Historic-Artistic Heritage and it is located in the old town of San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife. We offer a personalized and the best service in our 23 rooms. We are strategically located just 10 minutes from Tenerife North Airport (TFN), less than 15km from the capital Santa Cruz de Tenerife and close to hiking areas, natural pools, golf courses and horse riding zones. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Aguere Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing