We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast in charming hotel.....but, dated bathrooms.”
Review of Hotel Aguere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Aguere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed just the one night en-route to La Palma. It was just an €8 taxi ride from the airport.

The building is truly beautiful and has a certain WOW factor on arrival. Rooms are functional rather than elaborate and clean. Bathrooms are very dated and ours was tiny. They need replacement but was hardly a major issue due to our length of stay.

The breakfast was brilliant for the rate we paid, fresh and delicious. You eat in the glazed courtyard served via the cafe on site.

Would recommend for a short stay. It's a lovely historic town with local restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aguere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week at the Aguere in February and it is a charming old world hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, the shower room small and basic, with beautiful street views and the theatre opposite it was like a step back in time, in a nice way. Breakfast is a fairly basic affair but then you don't go to Spain for the breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff and no extra charge for the room safe. The rooms overlook a central covered courtyard with potted palms and ornate features which is a real delight. Set on a pedestrianised street we could still bring our hire car up to unload luggage. Parking is quite expensive in the paid carparks but with a bit of perseverance you can find an on street space which is free. A lovely old town to wander around, nice bars and restaurants and feels very safe and unthreatening, just a short walk from the tram down to Santa Cruz. Two nice beaches we visited in the north are Las Teresitas and Bajamar both about 25 minute drive from La Laguna. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys old world charm, it's not a mod cons hotel and if you are a late riser you may not appreciate that the hotel wakes you up when it wakes up, just the general noise from other rooms etc. The flip side is that there are very few city centre hotels at which you can leave your bedroom window open all night and hear no traffic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank contactsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Excellent service and a delightful hotel. Beautiful and with lots of character. Reception staff particularly helpful. This was very good value for money and full of old world charm but with all necessary facilities including free wifi. The central courtyard houses a lively but quiet cafe and we enjoyed a free short concert there one night. The hotel is in the centre of the old part of La Laguna which has lots of lovely traditional buildings and good tapas bars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delesseria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Huge rooms with all the character of the lovely old buildings in this town. Central but parking is a bit hard to find ( especially with the bizarre one-way system where no other rules apply and there are no signs to anything anywhere!). Good for one or two nights to explore the town, eat some good food and to drive to the Anaga mountains nearby. We did have to complain about someone downstairs who's TV was on very loudly for the second late night running. The staff were very helpful though. Noise seemed to carry - someone, somewhere was snoring all night. The room was very clean but the shower leaked quite badly onto the bathroom floor and it was evident when someone else was having a shower because yours would end. Good coffee at breakfast (a large choice) but I would prefer an option of having my eggs without red peppers and ham.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room to avoid wooden floor noise.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

If you want a quirky, very Spanish, old fashioned hotel this will be for you. Pleasant reception, lovely courtyard, decent size room and bathroom, clean towels. BUT noise from other guests echoes due to the central space and the breakfast is just adequate. Fantastic location in this beautiful World Heritage city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Only stayed one night. Taxi driver found it a bit hard to Locate but once we got there the service was friendly enough. It could use an elevator!! Our bedroom was on the 1st floor and had huge double doors. Clean room. Nice window seat overlooking pedestrians only street. Very central.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave-n-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed one night in this hotel and the room was really nice. It was big and well furnished. The hotel is very nice in an old building right in the center of the city.
The only disadvantages if I could say so are the breakfast, not so great and if you have a car it is very difficult to park in La Laguna, specially close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coline_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Cristobal de La Laguna
0.4 mi away
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Laguna Gran Hotel
La Laguna Gran Hotel
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
MC San Agustin
MC San Agustin
#3 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
4.1 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B la Laguna
B&B la Laguna
#1 of 10 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aguere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aguere

Address: C/ La carrera, 55, San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Cristobal de La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Cristobal de La Laguna
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel Aguere. A remodeled hotel located in the former house of the Marquis of Torrehermosa. Our building is declared Historic-Artistic Heritage and it is located in the old town of San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife. We offer a personalized and the best service in our 23 rooms. We are strategically located just 10 minutes from Tenerife North Airport (TFN), less than 15km from the capital Santa Cruz de Tenerife and close to hiking areas, natural pools, golf courses and horse riding zones. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Aguere Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing