We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Once a year I travel to Tenerife to visit clients and after many tries finally found this hotel three years ago. It's ideally located in La Laguna and gives easy access to Santa Cruz de Tenerife, the South and the North eareas of the island. Although the hotel has its own carpark (5 euros/night), street parking nearby is always easy. The cafeteria and restaurant are first rate. I've never had breakfast as I tend to leave the hotel before it starts at 7 am. I would be happy to use this hotel as a base for a travelling tourist (as oppoosed to the one hotel all inclusive type tourist in the South). The prices are correct. There are two buildings, the second 20 metres across an open air plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maignon48b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 424 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

We planned to stay 3 nights, but extended to 5.

We had a room with a kitchenette, so didn't do breakfast at the hotel. We had dinner in the hotel one night, on the 18 Euro fixed menu, which was good, and good value. Hotel is in a great location, and La Laguna a good base for exploring the rest of the island via the excellent bus service.

The staff were helpful and friendly. The bar area was very relaxed - on your own, or wiith others.

If you're a sensitive sleeper be aware that there is a bit of noise from people passing in the corridor. However, the bed was very good - a firm mattress, with lovely clean white cotton. Our room was in a separate annexe, so you went across a public courtyard area to get there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlstroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We had a “Noble” room which was large and included a kitchenette with a large fridge with a selection of complimentary soft drinks. We were also given a bowl of fresh fruit. But there was not a tea / coffee tray.

There is a restaurant in which we only had breakfast – a buffet with an above average choice. There is also a “cafeteria” – a bar that does snacks and extends out into a pleasant indoor terrace.

Two recommendations if you stay here:
1. By car by far the easiest way to find this hotel is to leave the motorway TF5 at junction 8A; take TF13 for aobut 1.7Km until the two lanes divide; take the right lane; turn left under the TF13 then follow the round some bends and it goes straight into the square with the hotel on your left.
2. To visit Santa Cruz take the tram which is cheap, frequent and hassle free (buy tickets before boarding at a machine on the platform or in the kiosk at the terminus).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We've stayed twice at the Hotel Nivaria, and both times we've had a great experience. The first time we had an appartment room with a bedroom and sofa bed which comfortably slept 2 adults and 2 small children. The second time, we had two adjoining studio appartment rooms with a connecting door, as the children were older and wanted their own room.

Both types of room are very comfortable. The kitchenettes are are well equipped, the bathrooms are of a high standard, and the cleanliness is excellent. Breakfast was also very good.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of La Laguna, near museums, shops and parks. There are a number of good restaurants within 10 minutes walk of the hotel, and some lively bars much closer. If you like a walk and you have only hand luggage, you can actually walk up to the airport from the hotel, although a taxi is only about 10 euros.

Our only reason for not returning in 2009 was the price. Although the hotel is very good value for money, and worth the expense, we just couldn't afford it this year with sterling being so weak, and the euro exchange rate very unfavourable to UK visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Booked on the internet and first introductions can be misleading. The main part of the hotel faces a nice plaza on the edge of the old town of La Laguna. However, we were at the end of the annex wing which backs out onto a busy roundabout - really noisy.

They also made me pay up front (looking at the rooms they give you - I guess this avoids conflict).

Breakfast looked nasty, so we gave it a miss.
Tried to get a nightcap at 11pm and the barman refused to serve me (even as a resident)
Lights in the room weren't very bright.

Wished we had stayed somewhere else frankly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Nivaria for one night in mid-September. We spent the week prior in Playa de las Americas and came up north for our return flight home from Los Rodeos airport. After appoximately a 90 minute taxi ride, we checked in late, around 6 PM. Now let me first say that there was only 2 reviews for this hotel here on TA, and one was over a year old. I was skeptical... nervous in fact! This hotel came recommended to me by the TA expert for this area, and he was spot on. I wanted something clean, comfortable, and a short ride to the airport... I got all that and was pleasantly surprised.

We had a very large room/apartement with a king size bed, sitting area, and kitchenette. It was immaculately clean and although it was old style, it was restored lovely. The hardwood cherry floor matched the floor to ceiling wardrobe closet. The king size bed had soft linens, and a small down comforter in place of the normal thin blankets most hotels used. The bathroom was clean and updated and had some great toiletries there for use. The only negative, and a small one is although there were plenty of clean towels, they looked worn and could be replaced. The window in the bed area had shutters on top that opened to the side street and a ceiling fan. There was no air conditioning - and it did get a little stuffy in the room. Once we were settled in we headed out to get some dinner. The girl at the front desk spoke good enough english to map us out some places for a meal and some drinks... she was very helpful. We found everything within a very short walk. We awoke early the next morning and checked out before having breakfast. Breakfast had GREAT coffee, toast, rolls, fruit... might have been some hot food there, but I did not eat it, so I can't comment. The person at the front desk called us a taxi - and it was about 8 Euro for the ride.

I tried to take plenty of photos of the room, the lobby, and the exterior. All in all, I was only at the Hotel Nivaria for a short time, but it left an impression on me and if I should ever find myself in La Laguna again, I would not hesitate staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cristal333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Stayed here on a business trip. My host selected and paid for the hotel. I had a room with a kitchenette. They provide basic utensils, some pots, cups. A fruit plate is provided on the first day. There is no dishwashing liquid and you have to clean up yourself each day. The room is comfortable, although the air conditioning did not work during my stay. The hotel was under renovation. Stayed in the building across the courtyard from the front office (see photo). The front office staff was helpful and there seems to be at least one person there who can speak English. Breakfast came with the room and it was quite ample-- good selection of hot and cold food, cereal, and breads. There was a good coffee machine. Bed is firm, but comfortable. No internet, but an internet store is across the street. The hotel is at the edge of the old section of La Laguna. Many restaurants nearby. Colorful, historic area. Taxi to and from the airport is about 7 to 10 euros. Be careful about the laundry service. It takes 2 nights and 3 days to get your stuff back (but there was no warning about this). There is a tram nearby and you can take it to the city of Santa Cruz on the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank poidog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Cristobal de La Laguna
0.2 mi away
La Laguna Gran Hotel
La Laguna Gran Hotel
#1 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,955 reviews
0.2 mi away
MC San Agustin
MC San Agustin
#3 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,163 reviews
4.2 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#3 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
638 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa

Address: Plaza Adelantado 11 | San Cristóbal de La Laguna, 38201 San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Cristobal de La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Cristobal de La Laguna
Price Range: $96 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laguna Nivaria is situated in one of the most charming 16th century mansions of the city of La Laguna , the latter of which is proud to be the only world heritage city of the Canary Islands. With a total of 79 rooms, including 14 suites, all rooms are spacious, cosy, colonial style, Hotel Laguna Nivaria offers an elegant restaurant with an extensive menu for lunch and dinner along with a cafeteria and sun terrace. The hotel also has conference rooms for events, free internet point for guests, room service and all the necessary services to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. This hotel enjoys prime position on the town's emblematic main square. The rooms and apartments vary according to how much you want to pay, and range from pleasant to perfect. Dating from the 18th century, the building has retained many Canarian features. This is a beautiful traditional building; the former home of a marquis. The facade is washed in burnt sienna with wooden balconies and window frames. Beyond the beamed reception with its stone arches and stained glass there is a pretty central courtyard. There are two classes of room here and if you are ready to flash your cash, the superior is worth it. They are exquisitely done up with elegant furniture, leafy plants and earthy colours. The bathrooms are fashionably mosaic tiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing