We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rural Costa Salada
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very friendly staff
Loads of antiques (furnitures)
Very quiet (almost feel guilty to speak)
spooky smell
very ice food
horrible coffee
scenic
Isolated in a tree Plantation
No Internet available
Double bed are Joint twins
Each room got a terrace
Only Boiled eggs
Lots of Character
Nice swimming pool
Tiny Sauna
You must like the sound of crashing waves

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimJimBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
13
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The photo's really don't do justice to this beautiful hotel, you will need to hire a car It is quite remote but well worth the drive. The staff are lovely and the restaurant very nice. We had a room with a balcony over the sea and could almost feel the spray when the waves hit the rocks below. Perfect for a relax holiday or you can drive all over the Island which is not large and there is a lot to see.We asked the locals for advice and ate in some fabulous local restaurants the owners were so friendly we came home most nights with some fruit from peoples gardens or a bottle of home made wine. Fantastic sea swimming pools in some of the villages to the north and great fun driving around once you get the hang of the one way systems.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hello,
I went to Costa Salada to visit and book.
I could not visit the rooms because there was nobody to show them ... but I took for you some photos...
It is very very very calm : you can write a book, prepare an examination or simply rest.
The city center is far, very far.
Happy holidays

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoineAmelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have just had a great break at Rural Costa Salada. I admit the approach left us a little worried but the view was amazing, the sea crashing onto the rocks reminded us of Cornwall but it was so much warmer! We had upgraded to a superior room with great seaviews and indeed loved the peace etc. so much we stayed in all day. The evening meals were very good and all the staff lovely. Would certainly come here again.

Room Tip: Do pay extra for a room with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roonie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENERIFE
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great place to chill, relax and unwind!

And Cory who works there is the best!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Living on the South Coast of Tenerife, it's nice to get away once in a while and this little place was so relaxing and homely that I will try to return again very soon.

Print out a copy of the directions map directly from the hotel website before you drive, and you'll find the place with no trouble - even I managed it! Oh, and as you're almost there you'll drive through a banana plantation - without a doubt, don't turn round because you are on the right track.

Reception is in the main car park and you, complete with your luggage are driven down to the main building on a Golf buggy.

The Hotel has an oldie world charm about it with lots of antique type furnishings. Bedrooms are fairly small with a spacious bathroom (well, ours was) and very clean. There is Spanish TV, a minibar (which is very reasonably priced and well stocked with drinks/snacks) and there was lots of hot water - so no complaints there.

I had taken a bottle of my own wine to the hotel but couldn't find a corkscrew. The staff were very helpful and the receptionist went out of her way to get a corkscrew, then tracked me down to the pool to hand it over to me.

The restaurant food was deliciously different in the evening, although portion sizes were a little on the small side, and the buffet breakfast was well stocked with a mixture of hot and cold foods.

One particularly nice touch is that the hotel offers free tea and coffee throughout the day which you can help yourself to in the restaurant.

Take suitable shoes for walking and you can explore the coastline here, or take a good stock of reading material and lie back to relax by the poolside. There isn't much else to do, which is exactly what I wanted! Heaven.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecolonelskeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

we spent three nights in this remote and ouite hotel. we were not prepared for such a place where the roaring sound of the sea waves govern its atmosphere..
we had a hard time finding the place, bacause there was no exact address we could put into our gps, but once we were there we couldn't ignore it's charm. we drove through narrow paths and by walls of banana groves, and if we hadn't known the hotel must be somewhere there, we would have retreated back to the lit areas.

the main hall of the place is warm cosy and well taken care of, and the ajacent dining room is overlooking the rough sea. the place has some sort of a pub, and a beautiful veranda outside the house. the pool is perfect, very inviting and beautiful.
the one less perfect point was the room we got. kind of "spartanic, and very minimal. how shall i say - it was not that inviting to jump into bed.. the blanket of shining stars we could see from our room veranda compensated some, but didn't change the feeling that the room was dull, like a regular basic simple beach room.

for breakfest we had fresh rolls right from the oven, eggs made especially for us and good coffee. we liked that!

the place is no doubt special, but i would recomend it only to those who want to get away from the rush and crash of the city to desolve into the sounds of nature and the simplicity in style.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Cristobal de La Laguna
4.7 mi away
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa
Laguna Nivaria Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in San Cristobal de La Laguna
381 reviews
3.0 mi away
OCEANO Hotel Health Spa
OCEANO Hotel Health Spa
#1 of 3 in Punta del Hidalgo
158 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,740 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
535 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Costa Salada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Costa Salada

Property: Hotel Rural Costa Salada
Address: Camino la Costa. s/n. Finca Oasis, 38270 San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Cristobal de La Laguna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Costa Salada 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rural Hotel Costa Salada is situated on the north coast of Tenerife. Set in an horticultural paradise of Canary Island flowers and plants it sits in a commanding position on a cliff top looking out over the ocean. With only 12 rooms this property offers an intimate enviroment in peaceful and relaxing surroundings. For the more energetic there are numerous walking opportunities.The hotel has swimmingpool,jacuzzi y saunaAll rooms have direct dial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rural Costa Salada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Costa Salada Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing