We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“epic journey”
Review of Volcan El Teide

Volcan El Teide
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.79*
and up
Jeep Safari Tour of Volcano Teide
More Info
$60.97*
and up
Jeep safari in Tenerife: Teide-Masca Route
More Info
$35.86*
and up
Mt Teide Stargazing Experience in Tenerife
Ranked #3 of 392 things to do in Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“epic journey”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

ideal trip by car from santa cruz till mount el teide......beautiful terrain ......stopped car at multiple places to see different breathtaking views.....visiting tenerife and not experiencing his trip by any of two routes is like never visited tenerife.....
well if you want u can pay for lift chair to take you to top but if you are tight in budget ...dun be upset cz the journey worth way more then to go up by lift chair......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank smalee z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,107
    1,757
    349
    95
    64
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Please check if it's running in advance.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

After spending 70 Euro for the trip and lift ticket, we arrived to find the lift to the top not running. Supposedly, due to high winds, even though it was fairly calm. Looked like they were just taking a day off for maintenance. Not a bad thing though. The tour operator stated, that this was not under their control. Truly, understandable if there were actually winds on considerable strength. So... My advice ask the operator beforehand: 1 is it actually running today. 2 If not, is there at least a refund of that portion of the ticket.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Climbing the highest point in spain”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Climbing the highest point in Spain was a good experience. We started from Montana Blanca at 6 and you should expect strong winds during the first hour until reaching the La Rambleta and from there on after entering the slopes it would decreases. after about 2 hours we were at Refugio Altavista and had a short stop. From there it is about 45 minutes to the cable car house and the check point for permissions to access the peak. another 40 minutes and we were at the top. the weather all around the Tenerife was cloudy and but at the top clear. The route from Rambleta to the Altavista camp and after that to the cable car house is challenging although signposted and clear.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faraz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
“Truly spectacular, would love to see when covered in snow.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

It is a great trip up to Mount Teide (Spain's highest mountain.) You can see the landscape constantly changing as you climb higher and higher up to the National Park, with it's almost moonscape appearance. Eventually you reach the base of Teide at around 6,600 feet. Parking is at a premium for the cable car and you may have to be patient. There are also fairly long queues for the cable car itself. It took us about 1hour and 40 minutes to get on.

The cable car takes you up to about 11,500 feet in under 10 minutes. You can no longer walk to the very top of the mountain without first obtaining a special permit (see online for details.) Remember the air is much thinner at that height, so if you have breathing problems, don't go. The views are however, amazing.

I would love to see it covered in snow, the pictures look magnificent. Having said that, it may be difficult to get near it if the weather was really bad.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good views though not so easy without a car”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Going up the Teide in the cable car was a good experience I do not want to miss (you can avoid the queuing by booking the teleferico tickets online the day before. They ask you to print it and to choose a certain time slot but since our hotel in Vilaflor had no printer (!) and we arrived after the scheduled time I couldn't make either - still that was no problem thanks to the non-fussy staff who only asked for a proof of the booking and payment itself, which I could provide on the smart phone). Tickets are 25€ return for adults, 12,50€ for kids up to 14 years (there is a small reduction for the earliest time slot in which case you may have to stick to that slot though). And yes, it is chilly up there so take a warm jacket and sunscreen against the strong sun.
However, traveling the region without a car and with a five year old child I would like to share my experience in this respect, too. Everybody with a car and/or the intention to go on long hikes can stop reading now :)
First thing: there is only one bus daily from the Las Americas region, which is No. 342, leaving Las Americas at 9.15am. It goes via Vilaflor and the Parador to the cable car station, which takes little less than two hours. Since I had read about nice walks in and around Vilaflor, we were planning for two nights at that village. However, all the walks proved to be too much when a kid is taking part because of the distances to actually reach the tours. Again, no problem if there is a car. But without one and basically no buses or even taxis around you are quite stuck. And second -sorry, little flower!- Vilaflor isn't really exciting at all... There is basically nothing to do. And the cafe and restaurant landscape is bleak (with the exception of El Sombrerito where they served juicy and well spiced Canarian goat; and we did not try the much praised Rincon, which must be another exception)... The most disappointing thing was the watery bitterish coffee served everywhere as Cappucino with sprayed cream on top...
So, if you are in the same situation, I recommend the following:
Either, make the Teide a one day trip, taking the bus 342 in the morning directly to the teleferico (where you can also do a little hike in the Canadas Blancas to see volcanic rock formations and the sparse vegetation; bus stop, however, is up the hill at the cable car only so make sure you are back in time) and the (only) bus back at 3.30pm (342). The bus drive will give you an impression of the landscape and good views too.
Or -especially if you want to enjoy the starry nights (which, in Vilaflor itself, was not possible because of the street lights)- treat yourself to one or two nights at the Parador of the Teide National Parc, double room plus one child's bed from 110€. Bus stops there itself, one stop before teleferico. Hikes start from your door. And the sky is unspoiled of any surrounding lights.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcan El Teide also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Tenerife, Canary Islands
 

Been to Volcan El Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing