We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smile would change everything”

Restaurante Escondida
Reserve with
Restaurante Escondida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,687 of 5,100 Restaurants in Tenerife
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the peaceful fishing town of Alcala but still within easy reach of West Tenerife���s most popular tourist resorts, you���ll find Escondida, a chilled out lounge bar and restaurant with a young, funky feel. Wide windows offer stunning sea views while deep colourful sofas are the perfect place to relax with a delicious mojito before moving through to the restaurant, with the same views but a more formal setting. The compact but varied menu offers everything from tapas dishes for a real taste of Spanish food through to blackboard specials, made using in season local ingredients. Every dish is beautifully presented and a real treat for holidaying foodies after an authentic experience.
Morey Saint Denis France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A smile would change everything”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Restaurant has great location, kind of fun interior ( Buddha with candles) and well cooked fresh fish at reasonable prices. But like the other reviewers, the staff seemed pained by our arrival at 14.00.

It sin' called the hospitality industry for nothing. We know it is a hard and exhausting one. But guests need to feel welcome. A little enthusiasm would change everything.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    30
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perhaps we were there at the wrong day…”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

When we entered the restaurant ‘Escondida’ that day at noon you could see on the face of the waiter he was not interested to see us coming. The interior however was nice and worth a visit.
We decided to try the paella and were told that it could take approx.. 45min-1 hour.
As we knows that’s not unusual we agreed as we had time enough during the afternoon.
We then ordered a bottle of house-wine and a bottle of water for which we also had to wait more than 20 minutes....although there were only few people in the restaurant.
It really seemed that the waiter was tired of doing his job and certainly wasn’t friendly at all as well as for the people at the table just beside us.
When the paella arrived which was nothing special and we certaily would'nt recommand anywone else we knew that this was the last time we would visit this restaurant even though there was a special signboard which mentioned : ‘Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence’ ???
Or perhaps we were there at the wrong day…

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank will_7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Miserable serving man”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

we popped in for a drink. Would have eaten but the choice was poor for vegetarians- only paella ($24 euros) to eat.
The waiter then asked us to sit on couches at the back of the restaurant because we only wanted a drink- begrudgingly served up 2 beers. was quite rude when my Husband asked if any of the Tapas was without meat or fish "No" with a dismissive hand gesture. And you wonder why all the tourists are going all inclusive in the hotels- take a guess. has good views over the jetty, but the lousy waiter leaves a bad taste in your mouth, and it wasn't the cheap beer.

nos metimos en para una bebida. Habría comido, pero la elección era pobre para acceso de sólo vegetarianos paella ($ € 24) para comer.
El camarero se nos pidió que sentarse en los sofás en la parte trasera del restaurante, ya que sólo queríamos una bebida-a regañadientes servido hasta 2 cervezas. era bastante grosero cuando mi marido preguntó si alguna de las tapas era sin carne o pescado "No" con un gesto de la mano desdeñosa. Y uno se pregunta por qué todos los turistas se van con todo incluido en el alojamiento que tomar una conjetura. tiene buenas vistas sobre el muelle, pero el camarero malísimo deja un mal sabor de boca, y no era la cerveza barata.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arramattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slow, unattentive service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Little old, run down place that could use some renovation. Staff seems uninterested and a bit arrogant. And extremely slow, although they said in the end that half of their staff was sick that day, so it could be that. Food was really good though, kids had chicken on skewer, the adults seafood which was fresh and very well prepared. The choice for vegetarians quite poor, I ate taboule ( which tasted really good, but a bit small to be a full meal), otherwise they had veg paella, but it was two persons minimum.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Break12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear customer,

First of all thank you for your comment. I want to apologize abaut the slow of the service the night you has your dinner in our restaurant, the thing was as you said in your comment that two of our waiters this night were sick as we told you. We informed you this night that to be a Little bit patient but you order also for the childrens some food special that were not on the menú and we did it.
You also say that you order Taboule for your full meal, and that it was good but a bit small for a full meal, you have to understand that Taboule is a starter Salad and not a Main Dish.
You also said that we don´t do Paella for 1 person, And you have to understand that first of all Paella have to be prepare at the momento at they take at least 30 minutes to prepare and to cook, and as you saw in our Menu Paellas are by "order in advance" and for a minimun of 2 persons.
Anyway we apreciate that you liked our food and hope to see you again in our restaurant in your next trip.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, disappointing service”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Well located with views out over the jetty, this restaurant has a lot going for it. Encouraged by other reviews we visited for an evening meal.
The food was very good and the meal reasonably priced but there was no atmosphere (just one other table) and the waiter was lacking in humour and seemed disinterested.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GabiThomas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Sr.,

Sometimes happen that we just open the restaurant and you are one of the first tables or also happen that some days is quiet and not to much guest. We can´t do nothing abaut that....
The important thin is as you said the food was good.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Escondida also viewed

Alcala, Guia de Isora
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 
Alcala, Guia de Isora
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 

Been to Restaurante Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing