We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as good as previous reviews”

Restaurante Escondida
Reserve with
Restaurante Escondida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,753 of 5,215 Restaurants in Tenerife
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the peaceful fishing town of Alcala but still within easy reach of West Tenerife���s most popular tourist resorts, you���ll find Escondida, a chilled out lounge bar and restaurant with a young, funky feel. Wide windows offer stunning sea views while deep colourful sofas are the perfect place to relax with a delicious mojito before moving through to the restaurant, with the same views but a more formal setting. The compact but varied menu offers everything from tapas dishes for a real taste of Spanish food through to blackboard specials, made using in season local ingredients. Every dish is beautifully presented and a real treat for holidaying foodies after an authentic experience.
Plumley
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as previous reviews”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had the pepper onion and hot cheese starter it was awful really cold burnt onions my husband had fish soup which he said was really nice. The mixed fried fish was a plate of hard batter hardly any fish the sea bas was badly cooked and swimming in garlic with awful Spanish vegetables the side order of frozen chips was awful. I would never go there again no ambience. They also never returned my phone call to make a booking

Helpful?
1 Thank RClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
sentimos mucho su desagrado en su ultima visita a nuestro establecimiento. Le sugiero que en el futuro comunique en el momento de su cena su desagrado con cualquier plato, para poder buscar una solución y poder hacer de alguna manera que usted no se vaya descontento de su visita.
La ensalada de pimientos asados que usted comenta y dice que estaba fría, es asi fría!!, lo único que es caliente en esa ensalada es el queso a la plancha, el resto ha de ser frio. El pescado lo hacemos a la plancha y le echamos un sofrito por encima de ajo, aceite de oliva y vinagre, típico del país vasco.

Me reafirmo y sentimos su mal recuerdo, pero espero que si vuelve a visitarnos en un futuro se vaya con mejor sabor de boca

La direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    33
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place !!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great time, best views and nice food friendly served!!! We will return for dinner and lounge time...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edusurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your visit and for your kindly comment.
We look forward to see you again.
Receive our best regards

La direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very good restaurant we had paella which was lovely the only problem was there was no one else in the restaurant and the staff need to smile a bit more but ver enjoyable food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, sometimes happen that everybody comes to dinner at the same time or they come for lunch or late by night, anyway the important thin is that you enjoy our Paella. Hope to see you again in Escondida and I will find what happen with the smile's waiter.

Thank you and best regards

La direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice resturant”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited during the Island festival and had a lovely 3 course meal and service was great. Wonderful view over the harbour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank woody5479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment, and also for having different meals in our Restaurant. Hope to see you back again in Tenerife and in Escondida.

Merry Christmast and happy New Year

la direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuisine Cooked Properly”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Fantastic restaurant serving fresh fish in a lovely location, if you like me have stayed at the nearby Gran Melia Palacio de Isora or Abama Hotels you must visit this gem of a place. I prefer not eating hotel food so always look for good local places to eat and this certainty fits the bill. Great value for money and service with a smile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpertReviewer_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Elia,

Thank you very much for your comment, and thank you for your visit and your kindly words. I hope to see you again you and your family in Escondida.
Please give my best wishes and Merry Christmast to your Mom and Dad.
Hope to see you soon, receive my best regards.

Happy New Year,

Gorka Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Escondida also viewed

Alcala, Guia de Isora
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 
Alcala, Guia de Isora
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 

Been to Restaurante Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing