We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but wrong area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent a week here in September.
Transfers took 10 minutes if that, it's really close to the airport but far enough not to be disturbed by planes flying over every 5 minutes.

When we arrived we were very impressed with the hotel, very modern and relaxing. Every member of staff that we came across was helpful and spoke a good level of English.

Our room was very spacious, clean and again modern. The bathroom was all marble with two sinks and a separate toilet.
Housekeeping cleaned our room everyday including changing towels and bed sheets.

The breakfast buffet was much better than we expected, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, tea, full English breakfast items, freshly cooked omelettes, lots of different fruits, yogurts, cereals and a continental mix of crossaints and bread rolls.
We couldn't complain about the food at all.
We tried the buffet dinner once it was €18 each, again there was a large selection, freshly cooked lamb, lots of fish.

The view from the pool/bar is beautiful very peaceful and relaxing. Sun bathing space is limited so if you want a spot you need to get down for about 12; the sun doesn't make it round to the terrace by the pool till about half 1 everyday which we found quite disappointing. There is also only an indoor pool which was a bit of a let down.

The beach which is just literally next to the hotel is lovely, the water is crystal clear, but there are no sun beds.

Arrecife is a very quiet non tourist area, there are very few bars to go to. The hotel doesn't put any entertainment on so you're left to wonder around hoping to find a bar that has something going on. We struggled to find good restaurants around our hotel so we ended up at a cheap place across the road which served decent food but was a bit boring after the 3rd time.

We took a day trip to Puerto del Carmen on our last which was fantastic, we caught the bus which cost €3.40 for us both it took 15 minutes, it was worth it as we found a lovely beach which had sun beds and water sports available. The restaurants there were great too, there was so much choice and all of them pretty much face the sea. It felt a bit more like we were on holiday here and we wish we had gone sooner to be honest.

All in all this hotel was lovely but in the wrong location for us. We weren't looking for a lively holiday we wanted to relax but we would have liked a bit more life and a bit more choice of bars and restaurants.

It's not a five star but 5 stars are never actually 5 stars in Europe, I would say a 4 star comparing to hotels in London.

I've read through some other comments and can't understand how people could have had such an awful experience just a week before we went.

I would recommend if you are looking for a very quiet, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: A room with sea view would have been lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hope D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Probably the best looking building in Arrecife but definately not a 5star hotel. I was impressed by this building as it stands out from everywhere. I could see it from the plane as we were coming in for a landing. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and has quite spaceous rooms. Tvs and furniture in rooms could do with an update. I havent seen a tv that old in years. The beds are covered by mattress protection that doesn't fit and cheap bedding that no 5star hotel would dare use. Windows are huge but filthy so sea views are great but not clear. Food was average and drink prices reasonable. The beach is right on your doorstep but not the best for sandy beach lovers due to the nature of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeannetteM555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is not a normal 5 star hotel as we expected. The cleanliness is not the best. We were in the room when the maid was cleaning it and i was not satisfied. She put the mat that we used next to the bed on the bed to clear the floor for mopping. The bin was on the desk till she finished to take the rubbish out. The food is nice in the restaurant but the plates were not too clean. The reception staff is helpful but not on the ball. Probably the first and last stay in Spain as we can find better hotels/area for a holiday for this price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank menyhartniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Me and my partner stayed a week in this hotel after getting engaged. We booked through lastminute.com originally a standard room with city views. We were cheeky enough to email before travelling to try our luck with getting a free upgrade on our room, the reply was that they would try if any were available. To our delight on arrival we were upgraded to a suite with sea views, and moments after entering the room a lovely member of staff brought in a bottle of cava on ice for us. The room was very lovely the views were spectacular, we were thrilled. The hotel overall was very professional, definitely a more coupley vibe than a family hotel. Having travelled around the island during the week I have to say it was a cut above. The room itself was tastefully decorated, nice shiny wooden flooring and double bathroom very well stocked, soap, shampoo, moisturiser, toothbrush and paste etc. The pool area is beautiful, lovely cocktails and sun terrace, very chilled out. Music is chilled, a lovely place to relax and look out over the beautiful beach on the doorstep. I would recommend a visit to the rooftop bar, especially at sun down, the sun sets over the mountains in the distance, its absolutely beautiful, and the food and drink is reasonably priced. The breakfast included in the price is lovely, a full range from continental to full english, cereals, fruit even champagne. Arrecife itself is lovely, especially along the water front, not very touristy, most bars couldnt speak english but its easy to get by, most have menus in english. Overall, very satisfied, would recommend to anyone looking for a nice break away with their partner.

Room Tip: Definitely try your luck with an upgrade to a sea view room or suite. Beautiful panoramic views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

On checking in the reception staff were brilliant all done quickly. I was in room 401 and thought the room itself was lovely especially the comfy bed. Our problem came when the ac broke down and then the wifi packed in. As we have a toddler ac was a must but Linda & Tony on reception really went out if there way to help. We swapped rooms and had dinner on the hotel for inconvenience. The hotel pool is beautiful with stunning views.
The food in the 17th floor restaurant was gorgeous I rev comment the fillet steak it was so good.
If you are in Arrecife treat yourself and stay at this hotel and you won't go wrong. Any problems Linda on reception will fix it. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Whilst staying elsewhere in Lanzarote my husband booked the suite on the 16th floor of this hotel at great expense, whereas the views where good nothing else came upto scratch!! We were shown to the room with our luggage and dumped at the door, inside all the curtains were closed, it rather had the feeling of no one having been in the room for months which, at the price we were charged they probley hadnt!!! My husband had been promised special attention/treatment!! alas nothing! A cheap bottle of cava and a small fruit bowl arrived in the room at 6 o,clock, an obvious afterthought! The food was at the pool bar was the worst we have ever eaten , the gazpacho had to be returned as it was inedible!!!! the meal in the top floor restaurant did redeem itself however and wasnt bad!!! most of the staff, with the exception of one very nice man from Andalucia who was very embarrased, were appalling, no knowledge of food or wine or indeed decent service!!! when we left the following morning we were greeted with a bill for 6 euros for some milk which i had asked to be brought up to have with a cup of tea ( 2 tea bags in the room), we paid and left!! Anyone considering a visit, do reconsider, there are lots of good hotels in Lanzarote, this isnt one of them!oh and also, i would have liked a massage or facial just to be informed there were no appointments available for 4 days!!!!

Room Tip: ask for the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 422suzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I came here for ten days with my boyfriend, and the only positive thing we can say is that the room was very big, with great sea views, and quite comfortable but that was the only good thing... the rest was terrible, two days we found our room without cleaning when we went back from the beach to the hotel in the afternoon, most of the staff of the hotel was unkind, unfriendly and rude with us and most of them didn´t speak English.

One of our mornings having breakfast my boyfriend needed a little spoon for his coffee and we asked to one of the waiters of the dining room with dark hair, a weird hairstyle with a "superman curl" and glasses; if he could give him it and the answer of the waiter in a rude way was that he could use the same spoon that he had used before to eat his cereals (a soup big spoon) who have a coffee with a big soup spoon? and how this kind of things happen on a 5 stars hotel? we really couldn't believe it!!! we have to give him a long explanation about why we want a little coffee spoon!! it was unbelievable!!!...

The windows of the room were totally dirty, and we had to clean them to enjoy the views, three times having our dinner we found hairs on the food, a ginger hair, a black hair and a white hair... it was so disgusting and several days we found dirty cutlery too... these kind of things shouldn´t happen on a hotel of this category... And two or three times there was a horrible, annoying, noisy and loud live Mexican music band on the dinner time... The food of the breakfast and dinner was cheap with bad quality and not too much variety... For example the scrambled eggs of the breakfast time were very cold and watery everyday...

Most of the receptionists were useless and nasty with us, the spa is not worth it, we went there one day and it´s very small, and the price is 15€/person-one hour and a half so we don´t recommend it...

And the question is... will we return there?.....Never!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SUSANA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
9.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,187 reviews
5.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
4.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Lancelot Hotel
Lancelot Hotel
#2 of 9 in Arrecife
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA

Address: Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range: $116 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa situated in the centre of the island with its magnificent El Reducto Beach at its feet, combines luxury with comfort and good service. Its excellent location next to the historical town and the gastronomic and commercial zone of Arrecife, only 5 minutes away from the airport and the port, makes this hotel one of the best of Lanzarote. The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa has also got an exclusive Spa, ideal for relaxing in the water circuit or for enjoying one of the fantastic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing