We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A suite with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arrecife Gran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This city hotel was the starting point for trips all over the island in our rental car. The parking garage under the hotel was great and at 6.4 euro a day quite cheap. Staying in Arrecife means that you can eat and shop with the locals. The great beach in front of the hotel allows you even to sunbathe and swim at 50 metres from the hotel. So great location for us !
We didn't use the spa, but we did pay a daily visit to the inside swimming pool. There were seats and sun loungers inside, but also on the balcony outside.And a pool bar.
The room turned out to be a suite, one of the biggest twin hotel rooms we have ever slept in.
Please ask for a room as high up as possible. We were at the 13th floor and had stunning views over the sea, beach and the city. Amazing.
The breakfast was as good as one expects at a 5 star hotel.
Excellent value ! This hotel was cheaper than most 4 star hotels in the nearby holiday resorts.
If you want to avoid the tourist crowds, but like staying in a city, just book a suite at the Gran Hotel.
In Arrecife there are many dining options at all price ranges, so we didn't eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco1188671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and would also like to thank you for recommending our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
There are newer reviews for Arrecife Gran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were unfortunate in that our first taste of Lanzarote was of a violent thunder storm and so it was in this downpour that we made our way from the airport to Arrecife and the Gran Hotel. This took all of about ten minutes and after parking up and checking in we found ourselves in a warm and comfortable suite with a magnificent view out over the ocean. The bed was enormous and enormously comfortable and the bathroom was well lit and well appointed. What was surprising and unusual was that the windows actually opened. This would have been a wonderful luxury had it not been storm force outside. The location of this hotel is marvellous, only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping street and within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants. Although we didn't dine in either hotel restaurant we did enjoy two fabulous breakfasts which were as bounteous as they were tasty. Great hotel, friendly staff and fab location.

Room Tip: Definitely worth asking for a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iseult R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you very much for writing about your experience with us. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would be pleased to welcome you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice 10 day holiday at a resort hotel near Playa Blanca ,we planned a 2 night stopover in Arrecife to finish off the trip closer to the airport as we had an early return flight
home.The two days we stayed at the Gran Hotel were just incredible we had a lovely sea view room on the 10th floor with amazing views of the sea and a sandy beach adjacent to the hotel
the quality and style of our room was full top class 5 star ,so were the staff. The hotel is 17 stories
high and the 17th floor almost entirely devoted to a five star formal restaurant which is excellent
the food,the service, the presentation and the Matre d was talented ! If we return to Lanzarote
our first choice for the entire stay will be this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views particularly the high sea view rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No1Gateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and would like to thank you for making it public. It would be a real pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

myself and my mother stayed here in november 2012,we had booked a week half board a twin room with a sea view.when we checked in at reception the staff informed us the hotel had upgraded us free to a suite! this included panoramic views of the sea and the town,we spent many happy hours relaxing just watching people swimming and the odd boat or ship.the room had a large bathroom with twin sinks,bath,shower,toilet and bidet.a large lounge with sofa,chairs and tv,there were large wardrobes with a free electronic safe,which was a nice touch as you would usually pay for a safe.the bedroom had two large single beds also this room had the great views and the whole suite had excellent air con.nice pictures hung on the walls,the only two slight negatives were the old televisions and the dirty windows,although there was a window cleaner in a winch cleaning them one day and youve got to admit it must be difficult to keep these windows clear when wind with sea water are lashing against them! the food,breakfast was very impressive lots of choice with fresh bread,cereals,cooked eggs,meat,there was even chilled wine free too much food to mention!excellent breakfast.the evening meals were less impressive.the staff werent very friendly at first but once you got to know them they were nicer.the hotel has 17 floors and is the tallest building on the island,good views from the bar at the top.i think the hotel would be too busy in summer but in winter its ideal.we would love to stay here again,i wouldnt advise to stay half board,bed and breakfast is ideal.many thanks to the hotel for giving us a suite!oh and the pool and pool area are very nice too.photos to follow. roger clarke harrogate uk march 2013

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank big_rog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We really would like to thank you for your nice comments and are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really great hotel. As previous travellers have said, ask for an up-grade. We did and had a lovely suite overlooking the sea with 6` bed which was extremely comfortable. The food was excellent. They have a buffet room and a separate formal restaurant. We went to the buffet meal every evening (10 nights) as it was so good with a great amount of variety. Lovely indoor swimming pool which was kept nice and warm. Small area for sitting in the sun on loungers though. Plenty of sitting areas within the hotel. There is a nice walk and cycle track around the bay. Not very much going on near hotel so really need to hire a car. Worth going across to the little island of La Graciosa and Fuerteventura. Also take a trip up the volcano where a bus takes you beyond where you are not allowed to take your car. Very interesting.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which was very quiet. Do ask for an upgrade. We had a corner suite overlo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We really would like to thank you for your comments and are happy to read that you had a wonderful time at our hotel. It would be real pleasure to welcome you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A week in arrecife started when we flew in at four pm and caught the bus from the airport to arrecife cost two euros and took ten minutes, no need for transfers.
Hotel was good with great views and good food, well worth a visit

Room Tip: Suite on a corner 1101 was fab
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnhms2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to welcome you very soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a week in Jan 2013 and would go back: the hotel is the tallest in Lanzarote and can be seen from the airport - the views from the bar and restaurant are very good, particularly at night. I'd recommend a taxi from the airport, as it's cheaper than paying £20 each way as part of a package deal. The hotel is modern and clean, in a good location in the centre of Arrecife close to bars, restaurants and the beach. Drinks and food were reasonable priced; we had half-board and the food included was fine: what you'd expect, though my only criticism would be the high level of salt and oil in some of the dishes. The pool is indoors, with a large bar area and narrow deck outside that catches the afternoon sun perfectly. When we stayed in Jan the hotel was quite quiet, but the pool sunbed area was busy each day and it was hard to get a space later on in the day - so I'd recommend getting there early, particularly if you go in the busy season.

The spa is a highlight: for 15 euros you can hire it for an hour - and have the whole spa area to yourself! I have no idea why the hotel take this approach, as the spa is massive and could fit a hundred people in it, but it is amazing to have the run of the place, with steam room, sauna, turkish bath, jacuzzi, hot/cold body showers and plunge pools. Well worth it.

I'd recommend hiring bikes for a day - there is a hire shop up the road opposite the hotel - and prices are about 20 euros for a day hire. There are cycle paths all the way up the coast for several miles, and it's a good trip up past the airport and through the next towns to the southwest. The sheltered bay next to the hotel is good for swimming - the water is very shallow out for some distance (although rocky) and in January the temperature was not too cold for a long swim!

There are some negative aspects: our bathroom drain tended to flood when we emptied the bath, and some of the area outside the hotel (it is on a promontory sticking out into the bay) has been graffitied/vandalised (people seem to have nicked the wooden decking planks that run along the little park in the area that the hotel is in), but on the whole we very much enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with suites have a better sea view, as they look out from the corners of the hotel...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedJimNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you very much for giving your opinion about our hotel. We are very pleased that you specially liked the Spa, which we always try to organise in a way, that there are never more then 8 persons at the same time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
9.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,925 reviews
17.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.1 mi away
Lancelot Hotel
Lancelot Hotel
#2 of 9 in Arrecife
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
17.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,822 reviews
3.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrecife Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrecife Gran Hotel

Address: Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range: $108 - $887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrecife Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa is the only 5 star hotel which is situated next to one of the biggest white beaches of Lanzarote.Ideal to spend an unforgettable vacation full of relaxation and tranquillity. It offers in its 17th floors 26 standard rooms, 26 rooms with sea view, 104 suites with sea view an 4 Imperial Suites on the 16th floor with extensive sea views. Fantastic and spacious rooms with excellent views over the sea and the beach, El Reducto beach.All rooms are equipped with the following: •Internet connection/ WIFI•Satellite television•Bureau •Mini bar•Safe deposit box•Air conditioning •Telephone in sleeping room and bathroom Attention to detail is present throughout. They combine exclusive decoration, sophisticated amenities and an excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrecife Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrecife Gran Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing