We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Amazing Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrecife Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arrecife Gran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Amazing Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week beginning of October and very much enjoyed our stay. Its obviously not a tourist resort but being the capital it has lots of lovely shops and bars and the harbour is very picturesque. We had a beautiful suite on the 15th floor with floor to ceiling windows with wonderful views of the sea and town looking onto the small boats. We could also watch the cruise ships coming in from our room which was amazing to see them lit up at night. Our room was kept very clean as was the whole hotel, apart from probably the windows but that wasn't a problem. You step straight onto a beautiful clean beach when you come out of the hotel.

The breakfast was lovely with plenty of fruit, pastries etc. and omlettes freshely made. We were half board and the dinner was nice, the salmon was especially tasty. My only gripe would be that the food was not always as hot as it should be, especially the chips, once again, not really a problem.

Everyone on reception was extremely helpful and spoke good english. The local buses run regularly and we visited Playa Blanca, Puerto Del Carmen and Teguise, all lovely places with lots to see and do. We also visited the Teguise market on Sunday, there is a bus which goes especially to the market but be aware, there is only one and it leaves to come back at 1.30 pm. Its the biggest market I have ever seen and very much well worth a visit. There are also dancers in their national dress which give a dancing show and 2 donkeys and 2 goats which you can see when you get off the bus, and they like a clap.

We had a lovely italian pizza and homemade chips just down from the hotel on the right hand side, highly recommended, sitting looking onto the beach, what a setting, its gorgeous.

My husband and I both had a spa treatment, highly recommended, the best we have ever had.

I would highly recommend staying at the hotel and would be very happy to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a room looking onto the sea, breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Financial50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your eulogies which I am very pleased to pass to all our staff. It is our aim to make our guests have a wonderful time and when we get feedback like yours, we are more than satisfied. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again very soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    563
    196
    65
    40
See reviews for
204
1,003
82
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

September 2012, visited with my husband for a week located in arrecife next to a lovely beach with nobody on it. This hotel doesn't have any balconys but does have a lovely sun terrace overlooking the sea with sun beds on which you could get easily. We requested a sea view but didn't get one we could have upgraded but would have cost us a extra 20 euros a night. Our room was spacious on the 13 th floor with a large bed . Plenty of lifts, bath robes available on request at no extra cost. We stayed half board the breakfast was lovely with lovely views from all the tables. The eve meal had a good choice, beautifully cooked with puddings to die for. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The resort has lots of lovely Spanish bars not a Brit pub in sight easy to get to other resorts on the island as it has a good cheap regular bus service.. Had some really nice shops and a harbour.I used the gym a couple of morning the equipment was a little outdated but the views made up for it. The swimming pool is under cover with a seating area under cover. It was clean and a nice pool to swim in. The hotel has a restaurant and bar on the 17th floor ,we had a drink one eve the views were spectacular , we could have had a meal in the restaurant at 50% off but we didn't as the food in the main restaurant was so nice. This hotel is not a standard holiday hotel with entertainment but if your wanting a chill out holiday for couples ideal, we would go again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 186408Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I am very pleased that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Comments like yours, make us want to become better day by day. Thank you very much for having taken your time to write about us and I hope you will visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the sea view suites are spacious with stunning views. the food is fairly repetitive and certainly not what you would expect from a luxury hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and although the pool terrace is extremely small (sunbeds were dirty) the lovely beach next to the hotel was like your own private beach. There is not a lot to do in Arrecife as it is a working town, however Puerto del Carmen is only a 15 miinute bus ride away where there are plenty of shops and bars. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet with stunning views, ask for a sea view suite - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I really would like to thank you for your comments and wish to welcome you very soon again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for seven nights early Sept 2012. Hotel itself is lovely - staff are all very friendly and speak good English, rooms and facilities were fantastic. We were given a beautiful suite on 13th floor with great views over the sea and city. Room was very clean and tidy with daily maid service.
Location was the only thing that let this hotel down for us. Whilst its a short 5 minute drive from the airport, it is situated in the capital city of Lanzarote which is not really intended for tourists. There are a couple of bars and restaurants outside and the staff there do speak English, but the customers are locals and you kind of feel a bit isolated (although everyone really friendly, don't get me wrong). The beach again is filled with locals and so there are no sun loungers or parasols etc, and just one ice cream kiosk on the promenade.
Every day we got the bus to Puerto del Carmen for €1.65 each way (20 mins on bus) where the main tourist town is. Here the beach had all the usual water sports etc and the Main Street is lined with restaurants and shops etc as you would expect.
Overall we had a lovely holiday, but it was a bit of a pain getting the bus to and from Carmen everyday!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karisbarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very pleased to read that you liked our hotel and felt very well attended by our staff. Hopefully, we soon wil get the permission to have sun loungers and parasols on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel could be amazing but the staff ,management and cleanliness lets it down massively which is a shame, our first experance at this hotel over a year ago was brillent but things this year are not quiet the same i have tried to contact both the manger and company and have recieve no responce atall i even ask to speak with the manger during my visit but he does not work weekends shocking,

Room Tip: Sea view is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygirl33-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write the comment. Punctually, our manager can be on a business trip or similar, but there is always a qualified person at the reception who is willing to listen to all our guests suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went in the beginning of September, and I cannot deny, the hotel is clean and relatively modern, the staff are friendly and helpful, the pool is clean and nice (however not sunbathe - able until after midday) and technically located right on top of the beach and town. However, the complete lack of other people, the quietness of Arrecife, and the small cove or "beach" being located right on the main road from the airport did distract us from how nice the hotel probably was.

Arrecife does completely lack a variety of restaurants. We ended up going to the same Pizzeria three dinners out of seven, and although it was cheap and cheerful, we were quite shocked that this was genuinely the only busy restaurant we managed to find in the town. Expect a lot of pizza's, and I would personally recommend taking no notice of the list of best restaurants in Arrecife, we felt it was deceiving and wish we had known that a bit more money spent going to a more touristey area would have resulted in a better holiday.

In all honesty, we felt a bit desolate and by the end of the week were excited to arrive at the airport to see other people and confirm that Lanzarote wasn't actually deserted.

Room Tip: Almost everyone we knew of got a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tammy45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director Comercial at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am really pleased you liked the hotel, even if you found it a little quite around, which is true once the shops close. The same happens with the beach: it is not full of people and towels, but calm and perfect to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My partner and I booked a last minute escape to the Arrecife Gran hotel lanzarote, I have to say we were very impressed by the location,,, right on the beach and in the town centre, apon arrival we were up-graded to a suite with fabulous views, lovely marble bathroom with his and her sinks, huge bed,, it was wonderful, the rooms were also cleaned everyday I felt they did a great job, everything was very neat and super clean, the food is also great, uncomplicated, well cooked and has many main course options,, I did feel there should have been more deserts however the standard is high, great pool and bar area with pool table and posh balcony. The staff I have found to be smiley and helpful, car hire was also easy and inexpensive at 25 euros per day for the smallest air con car, my only negative was that you had to pay 15 euros per person to use the sauna, steam room and jet pool, the hotel in September was blissfully quiet,, so this extra charge was disappointing,, but other than that.... GREAT hotel..

Room Tip: Corner suites are light are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Autumnjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director Comercial at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your eulogy. I will pass it to all our staff. Comments like yours makes us want to get better day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
9.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,372 reviews
5.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
17.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
17.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lancelot Hotel
Lancelot Hotel
#2 of 9 in Arrecife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrecife Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrecife Gran Hotel

Property: Arrecife Gran Hotel
Address: Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrecife Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa is the only 5 star hotel which is situated next to one of the biggest white beaches of Lanzarote.Ideal to spend an unforgettable vacation full of relaxation and tranquillity. It offers in its 17th floors 26 standard rooms, 26 rooms with sea view, 104 suites with sea view an 4 Imperial Suites on the 16th floor with extensive sea views. Fantastic and spacious rooms with excellent views over the sea and the beach, El Reducto beach.All rooms are equipped with the following: •Internet connection/ WIFI•Satellite television•Bureau •Mini bar•Safe deposit box•Air conditioning •Telephone in sleeping room and bathroom Attention to detail is present throughout. They combine exclusive decoration, sophisticated amenities and an excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arrecife Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrecife Gran Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing