We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but not 5 star!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the sea view suites are spacious with stunning views. the food is fairly repetitive and certainly not what you would expect from a luxury hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and although the pool terrace is extremely small (sunbeds were dirty) the lovely beach next to the hotel was like your own private beach. There is not a lot to do in Arrecife as it is a working town, however Puerto del Carmen is only a 15 miinute bus ride away where there are plenty of shops and bars. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet with stunning views, ask for a sea view suite - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

I really would like to thank you for your comments and wish to welcome you very soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for seven nights early Sept 2012. Hotel itself is lovely - staff are all very friendly and speak good English, rooms and facilities were fantastic. We were given a beautiful suite on 13th floor with great views over the sea and city. Room was very clean and tidy with daily maid service.
Location was the only thing that let this hotel down for us. Whilst its a short 5 minute drive from the airport, it is situated in the capital city of Lanzarote which is not really intended for tourists. There are a couple of bars and restaurants outside and the staff there do speak English, but the customers are locals and you kind of feel a bit isolated (although everyone really friendly, don't get me wrong). The beach again is filled with locals and so there are no sun loungers or parasols etc, and just one ice cream kiosk on the promenade.
Every day we got the bus to Puerto del Carmen for €1.65 each way (20 mins on bus) where the main tourist town is. Here the beach had all the usual water sports etc and the Main Street is lined with restaurants and shops etc as you would expect.
Overall we had a lovely holiday, but it was a bit of a pain getting the bus to and from Carmen everyday!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karisbarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

We are very pleased to read that you liked our hotel and felt very well attended by our staff. Hopefully, we soon wil get the permission to have sun loungers and parasols on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel could be amazing but the staff ,management and cleanliness lets it down massively which is a shame, our first experance at this hotel over a year ago was brillent but things this year are not quiet the same i have tried to contact both the manger and company and have recieve no responce atall i even ask to speak with the manger during my visit but he does not work weekends shocking,

Room Tip: Sea view is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happygirl33-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to write the comment. Punctually, our manager can be on a business trip or similar, but there is always a qualified person at the reception who is willing to listen to all our guests suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went in the beginning of September, and I cannot deny, the hotel is clean and relatively modern, the staff are friendly and helpful, the pool is clean and nice (however not sunbathe - able until after midday) and technically located right on top of the beach and town. However, the complete lack of other people, the quietness of Arrecife, and the small cove or "beach" being located right on the main road from the airport did distract us from how nice the hotel probably was.

Arrecife does completely lack a variety of restaurants. We ended up going to the same Pizzeria three dinners out of seven, and although it was cheap and cheerful, we were quite shocked that this was genuinely the only busy restaurant we managed to find in the town. Expect a lot of pizza's, and I would personally recommend taking no notice of the list of best restaurants in Arrecife, we felt it was deceiving and wish we had known that a bit more money spent going to a more touristey area would have resulted in a better holiday.

In all honesty, we felt a bit desolate and by the end of the week were excited to arrive at the airport to see other people and confirm that Lanzarote wasn't actually deserted.

Room Tip: Almost everyone we knew of got a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tammy45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director Comercial at Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

I am really pleased you liked the hotel, even if you found it a little quite around, which is true once the shops close. The same happens with the beach: it is not full of people and towels, but calm and perfect to relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My partner and I booked a last minute escape to the Arrecife Gran hotel lanzarote, I have to say we were very impressed by the location,,, right on the beach and in the town centre, apon arrival we were up-graded to a suite with fabulous views, lovely marble bathroom with his and her sinks, huge bed,, it was wonderful, the rooms were also cleaned everyday I felt they did a great job, everything was very neat and super clean, the food is also great, uncomplicated, well cooked and has many main course options,, I did feel there should have been more deserts however the standard is high, great pool and bar area with pool table and posh balcony. The staff I have found to be smiley and helpful, car hire was also easy and inexpensive at 25 euros per day for the smallest air con car, my only negative was that you had to pay 15 euros per person to use the sauna, steam room and jet pool, the hotel in September was blissfully quiet,, so this extra charge was disappointing,, but other than that.... GREAT hotel..

Room Tip: Corner suites are light are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Autumnjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director Comercial at Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your eulogy. I will pass it to all our staff. Comments like yours makes us want to get better day by day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Booked it in the morning and arrived at 12pm let straight into our suite which was on the 15th floor with absolutely breathtaking views. Went upto the bar first and had a bellini each and took in the views. Put the drinks on our room tab then changed and went to the swimming pool on the second floor, swam, sunbathed for an hour and then went into the spa. Sauna, jacuzzi, unfortunately couldnt get a massage as they were fully booked. Ate in the town that evening as my partner didnt have any long trousers, but had bar service delivered to the room and a club sandwich and more drinks brought up to the room at midnight. Absolutely Delicious food, wonderful service. We had a great day. Breakfast the next morning had a massive choice. Traditional English, pastries, yoghurts, fresh breads, fresh fruits, cold meats, cheeses, fresh butter, jams, croissants, fruit juices, hot chocolate, fresh coffee and pots of tea.
Only a few little nags, firstly one of the windows was absolutely filthy, looked like something had been cleaned above and the dirty water had run in rivulets, to be fair we didnt report it which we would have done if we had stayed longer. Secondly for a 5 star hotel the tv was not good, set too small for the size of the room and was not flat screen but an older tv. Only a few english channels, bbc sport and sky news and a channel which had a rock concert on it all night. Lots of spanish and german channels which wernt much use to us. No pay per view, so couldnt order a film either. Wasnt a massive downer as we only there for a night but would have detracted from our stay if we had been there for a few weeks.

Room Tip: The views are better higher up and facing the sea which we had. Also they have free wifi so take you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jules p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrecifeGranHotel, Director Comercial at Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

I really would like to thank you for your comments and to let you know that all our staff is very pleased that you had an unforgettable birthday at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It's very rare to find a 5* hotel on Lanzarote that really is 5*! I booked this as a surprise for my Other Half. We were not disappointed.... we had a beautiful suite on the 15th floor, with incredible views of the beach, city & mountains. From the minute we arrived the staff were great... really polite & very attentive. They even delivered a bottle of cava to the room without charge. The pool on the upper floor was fantastic (although it was a little like a greenhouse... very hot!! Can't imagine why they decided to put a roof on it) We had breakfast in our room which was fabulous. A really lovely short get-away and well worth every penny. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the 15th floor. Worth it for the stunning views & floor to ceiling win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LanzaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
9.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,240 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,985 reviews
17.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
17 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA

Address: Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range: $116 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa situated in the centre of the island with its magnificent El Reducto Beach at its feet, combines luxury with comfort and good service. Its excellent location next to the historical town and the gastronomic and commercial zone of Arrecife, only 5 minutes away from the airport and the port, makes this hotel one of the best of Lanzarote. The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa has also got an exclusive Spa, ideal for relaxing in the water circuit or for enjoying one of the fantastic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing