We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Stop in Lanzarote” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sol

El Sol
Ranked #780 of 1,429 Restaurants in Lanzarote
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Stop in Lanzarote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Every year once landing, we head down to Famara, perhaps the most majestic setting for a restaurant. Once there, we tend to stick to the starters as they, along with the copious bread and mojo sauce, will fill you up for lunch. Go for gambas al ajillo of course, plus their puntillas. But in truth, most things are amazing. Oh, padron peppers. You know, the usual. Incredible. And what a view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“check your bill before you pay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice setting, friendly service. Rather busy in comparison to other restaurants in the village. Decent food. Although we were surprised with the bill, which included dessert we had not ordered. We paid total of 100 euro for a family with 2 children, eating mostly French fries and pasta.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best seafood we have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fantastic setting, right on the beach in Famara. The fish is amazing. On this last visit we had Deep fired eel, whitebait and the fish platter. All of it was so fresh and cooked brillaintly. Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyMichael58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Very nice restaurant, overlooking the sea and the cliffs of the Famarra bay. Friendly and fast service. Food was excellent, well presented. Very close to another restaurant listed in tourist guide and with long waiting queues and cold welcome. So, do not hesitate to choose El Sol, it was a delicious surprise for a nice lunch after a walk on the beach !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eliccou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sol also viewed

Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
 
Arrieta, Lanzarote
Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Playa Quemada, Lanzarote
 

Been to El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing