We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lanzarote
Save
Review Highlights
Average experience

Me and my mum took a tour to the North of the island with low cost tours but actually booked the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
947beckyj
,
Bratton Fleming, United Kingdom
via mobile
Timanfaya short South coast tour

Great tour. Long drive from Costa teguise to pick up others. So 40 minute journey took nearly 2... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
BorisBoBo
via mobile
Read all 269 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Lanzarote
from $29.80
More Info
from $54.07
More Info
from $43.04
More Info
from $24.28
More Info
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
117
54
23
30
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
117
54
23
30
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south tour timanfaya national park camel ride vip tour goat farm pick ups visit fuerteventura sand dunes amazing tour guide local prices la geria main village honey rum spoke languages comfortable bus costa teguise sweet wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner bought tickets for the short South tour with Low Cost Tours. Our voucher said the pick up would be between 8:45 am and 9 am, however our confirmation email said we would be picked up at 9:45 am-communication was poor from the start. The bus finally turned up at 10am and we then had to wait for 10 minutes in a lay by somewhere near Yaiza to wait for the tour group from Playa Blanca. We didn’t learn much about Lanzarote but we heard a lot about what colour the bus was and what languages we were speaking on the bus. The drive through Timanfaya was interesting and the coach driver did a good job of driving safely but I’d say this was the only part of the tour that was worthwhile. We got told off for trying to use the toilet at the camel ride as we were running late at 12:45 pm even though the tour guide said we were not leaving till 1pm. Wine tasting was a tiny thimble of wine and 20 minutes in the gift shop selling the same crap you can get on the strip in Puerto del Carmen but for double the price.

I would rather have spent my 50 euros in the pub and would probably have had a better time.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 413beccaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Timanfayna day trip
My father is disabled and all the seats on the coach were not kept for disabled people and anyone can sit on them nightmare from start to finish. Free glass of wine is a thimble full also joke

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank whatyaseeiswhatyaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Did highlights tour. First two hours was picking up other guests but at least we saw other resorts. Guide good but spoke at spanish speed so had to listen carefully. All sites visited were busy especially the national park. We just jumped all the queues. So glad we did not hire car and do diy trip. Long day but felt we had seen all the highlights of the island, and there is not many ! Tour companies do similar tours at higher cost and think they would have the same pick up issue.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank pauljuliekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We booked the south tour, and duly met the coach at the specified time, but the first hour or so we just drove around picking other passengers up from various resorts. The "wine tasting" is beyond a joke, it's actually a visit to the toilet and a gift shop, with a thimble of wine (singular) thrown in, no information regarding wine production whatsoever.
A short breakfast stop is made at the hotelico el campo in the small town of Yazia, where coffee and baguettes can be bought for extortionate prices.
After another four hours on the coach taking in the green lagoon etc, it's back to Yazia and the hotelito el campo euros for lunch, we were informed on the coach that the restaurant do a buffet lunch for 8 euros, but decided against that, so we got off, sat in the restaurant and were ignored for twenty minutes before a sour faced waitress informed us that it was the buffet or nothing, no apologies, pay the 8 euros or get nought. After having seen the state of the breakfast food, we decided nothing would be preferable. These tours are tourist traps, designed to part mug tourists from their hard earned money, there are much cheaper ways to see the sights i have since found out, so any kind of "excursion" will be off limits from now on.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019

Our tour guide was a very talented lady who spoke 3 languages (English, German and Spanish) unfortunately, during the 8am til 7pm full day trip from Lanzarote around Feurteventura, she didn’t stop talking rapid fire all day. It was impossible to listen attentively to her and I often had no idea what was going on because her speech was so fast and by the time I’d realised she was speaking English she finished and progressed extensively in the other 2 languages.

This tour was not good value for money, being rushed in parts that should have been more leisurely and then dumped aimlessly towards the end to eat up time (who needs 40 minutes to look at a sand dune?).

We both feel drained and harangued after being stuck on a bus with a never ending barrage of noise.

The tour guide, for the bits I could follow, was aiming the tour at people who wanted to live in the Canaries, even going in to the intricacies of how Feurtaventura disposes of it’s rubbish (who cares?!). I don’t recommend this tour to anyone under 60 as you’ll be bored ****less.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Briony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews