We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unimaginative and very average: have a drink at the bar, skip the rest”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Lagomar

Restaurant Lagomar
Reserve with
Restaurant Lagomar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 1,440 Restaurants in Lanzarote
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Basel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unimaginative and very average: have a drink at the bar, skip the rest”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location is really pretty amazing, Manrique inspired of course, bar in a lava cave - nice. But the food: utterly without anything special, very expensive, thoughtless, totally middle of the road dishes poshed up with some fancy sauces.... you are better off at a local canarian place:) Waiters pretending to be in Cannes or Paris. Skip this one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gleonhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacuevadelagomar, Gerente at Restaurant Lagomar, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buenas noches.
Sentimos que no saliera satisfecho y los precios no se adaptaran a su economía. Pero la materia prima con la que trabajamos es de primera calidad y fresca.
Gracias por su comentario, trabajaremos para intentar solucionar estos puntos.
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    128
    46
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic meal for two”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent setting well worth a visit
Food was lovely and service from staff 1st class This was our 3rd vist and will definately be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honeythief1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery - very a' la carte food”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We visited Lagomar for a meal after a local had told us how beautiful it was and yes it certainly was that! The grounds are amazing and the way they've built a bar and peaceful areas into the caves around are fantastic - there's stepping stones over water to get around and swirling steps taking you to each beautiful part - I must admit it had such a magical feel to it and I am really pleased we got to see it as ive never seen anything like it in my life. We went on a night time so couldn't see the views of the volcanoes from a height near by but apparently in the day time you get some lovely views from there and best of all you can just visit the grounds - not the actual restaurant if you just wanted to have a look!
Now for the food... don't get me wrong it was presented amazing and it was very nice - but I felt common eating there :-/ everything was so posh - for starters we had chorizo and banana (yes together) croquettes - they were unusual!
Main meals consisted of pork, duck and ox - not your normal menu
I had duck confit with apple puree (which I wasn't struck on), tomato jam and some sort of shredded potato pieces that I think were deep fried - it was really nice and brilliantly presented but like I say and this is just personal preference - it's not my sort of place to eat - I went hope to a bag of crisps as I was still hungry :-/
My boyfriend ordered pork and it was gorgeous - melt in your mouth!
Puddings were ok.
I wouldn't eat here again as it was very pricey and posh but a lot of people may like this sort of cuisine and I would recommend it if you do like eating somewhere like this - if your like me (pub grub, curries ect. lol) then probably not for you.
I would definitely recommend anyone to go and view the grounds though, it does have a very romantic feel to it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel_h105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An interesting home and a great location for lunch too!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I have just had lunch at the Lagomar restaurant - what treat!
Lagomar has to be the most interesting home ever built in Lanzarote being built right into the cliffs and formally owned (very briefly) by Omar Sherif. The views are just stunning.
Now a museum, Lagomar is well worth the 5 Euro entrance fee if only to see what a great architect can do with his skills if given a chance (the entrance is free if you dine at the restaurant).
The fare is expensive. But the food, prepared in a french style, was very good and worth the price (if you are ready for the sticker shock compared to many other places in the area).
Combined with the interesting home this a a very worth while venue to explore!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SYTimeless W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Somewhere special”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wonderful location with food to match. Fabulous different dishes that I have not experienced before. Husband had an amazing fish salad, (one of the specials that evening) and the pineapple ravioli was simple yet delicious and one of the best desserts I've had in a long time. Having read some of the reviews I expected it to be more expensive than it was - would certainly recommend for that something special whilst on holiday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosiebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lagomar also viewed

 
Arrecife, Lanzarote
 

Been to Restaurant Lagomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing