We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character hotel in Old Town of Santa Cruz de la Palma”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Telmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Telmo
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Character hotel in Old Town of Santa Cruz de la Palma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

A very clean well maintained hotel in the old town of Santa Cruz de la Palma, a few minutes (hilly) walk from the harbourside and town centre.

En suite bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water.

Ideal for single / couples and the breakfast was very good value. The owners are very helpful.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Nice rooms overlooking a pretty courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    17
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Owner Richard was very helpful, friendly and the place was very well run, Comfortable rooms with lovely character, clean, up together little boutique hotel, highly recommended in the centre of town, Great location for waliking into town for a meal or a drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boneapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Great little hotel well placed to explore Santa Cruz and the rest of the island. Very comfortable and clean and the optional €7 breakfast is great value for money. Richard the owner is very attentive and helpful. You won't go far wrong staying here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This small well located hotel was just the ticket. Expertly run - professional yet with the personal touch. The owner speaks good English and was very helpful. Breakfasts good. Our room (with sea view) was a good size and the shower worked perfectly. Great for exploring the town with shops about 5 minutes away. I think it has just been refurbished. Overall great value - and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinshasa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The small hotel is cozy and very well managed by the owner, Richard, who is always helpful and attentive to all details.The rooms are extremely clean and confortable. The hotel is located in the best part of the old city and in a quiet street.
Breakfast is fresh and healthy and served in a bright room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karinkinshasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel and I loved it. It is a beautiful place with the walls painted in bright colours. The room was superclean and comfortable. The very friendly and organized owner Marita had a cable for the internet and it worked perfectly. At night I fell asleep to the soothing sound of the waves. There is a small fountain in the patio, but it is turned off at night so its sound won't bother the guests. In the morning I could enjoy the sun on my cute balcony. I absolutely adored this place and I will definitely stay here again if I come back. Marita thinks of everything and is very nice and lovely. A true gem!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Koekje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Hotel San Telmo is a quite little hotel (only 8 rooms) in the heart of the old quarter of santa Cruz de la Palma, a five minutes walk away from the lively Plaza de Espana, the main place of Santa Cruz.
The owner is Marita, a very kind lady of German origin, who talks fluent English, French, German and Spanish. She makes you a very strong coffee in the morning, suggests great restaurants (La Placeta) and helps you fin a rental car (although there is an excellent public bus service).
You can't have breakfast in teh hotel, but you can bring your own breakfast (the market is only ten minutes away with fresh goat cheese and the best avocados you have ever tasted) and eat it there. The hotel is painted in bright colours, the rooms are spotless and spatious and so is the bathroom. It is also very quite and you have a charming little patio with a fountain to look at.

If your looking for the charm and the personal contact of a B & B, than this is the place were you have to stay in Santa Cruz de la Palma.
Mind you, there are some bad reviews of a hotel with the same name in Tenerife and/or Spain. This review is about San Telmo Hotel in Santa Cruz de la Palma.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank borisGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de la Palma
10.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
14.0 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 7 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Telmo

Property: Hotel San Telmo
Address: Calle San Telmo 5, 38700 Santa Cruz de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Santa Cruz de la Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Cruz de la Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Telmo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Those looking for a special place to feel good in La Palma will feel at home in the City Hotel San Telmo. The old house was built 350 years ago and was completely renovated as the hotel building was finished in 2008, complementing each other with style. Fully equipped with the best quality, attention to detail and an unusual location in the old town of Santa Cruz, the hotel offers both individual and business travellers many possibilities. At the Hotel San Telmo, the owners personally take care of you and make sure that you are having a nice stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Telmo La Palma/Santa Cruz De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing