We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa El Mocanal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Valverde
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We found this simple hotel clean, welcoming, friendly and efficient.
They do not have a restaurant but the excellent small restaurant directly opposite,over the road provide an great menu and cook on wood burning fires to give a different taste to good food. We were on half board and enjoyed the great service in the tiny restaurant.
The hotel bathrooms were large enough and the shower/bath was very efficient and always hot enough no matter ho much water was used. The rooms all had excellent views down to the coast over an almost empty landscape. One warning Mocanal is quite high and can be cool for the Canries in winter so bring a warm sweater.
Reception always friendly and helpful but of the three receptionists who worked shifts from 7.00am to 11.00 pm on a regular rota onlt two spoke English. One perfectly. It was always very easy to make oneself understood to the one who was an El Hierro ledy born and bred,
The bar was limited in stock but had ample stocks of coffee and various wines and spirits as well as beer. No problems.
We really enjoyed our week at this hotel but it is an hours walk from the coast and there are no night clubs or discos etc. If you travgel to El Hierro you will find a friendly quiet place with warm friendly, helpful residents. They even have hitch hikers on the island on occasion. We were there for the walking and found it great. The old goats tracks are very, very well waymarked and offer tracks over much of the island. There are several longer walks that enter the village op Mocanal. The hotel offers free maps of the paths on the island

Room Tip: Ask for one with a long balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 39 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Santos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank YanesSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Matias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viajes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kurt-Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valverde
7.2 mi away
Parador de El Hierro
Parador de El Hierro
#1 of 4 in Valverde
359 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Ida Ines
Hotel Ida Ines
#1 of 1 in Frontera
130 reviews
11 mi away
Balneario Pozo de la Salud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Casa Rural La Asomada
Casa Rural La Asomada
#1 of 1 in Guarazoca
4 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Brujita
La Brujita
#2 of 2 in Tigaday
26 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Rural Aborigen Bimbache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa El Mocanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa El Mocanal

Address: Calle Barlovento 18 | El Mocanal, 38916, Valverde, El Hierro, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > El Hierro > Valverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Valverde
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa El Mocanal 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa El Mocanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa El Mocanal El Hierro/Valverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing